Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 12 Jun 2014 (Thursday) 20:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

From laptop HD to an external.

 
xarik
Goldmember
Avatar
1,758 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
     
Jun 12, 2014 20:38 |  #1

Hey all,

I've been editing and storing everything on my laptop for months now and I realllllllly need to go ahead and move it because I've just reached 222gb of photos (edited and not edited) just sitting on my laptop and it's bogging it down. I have a 2TB external 3.5inch drive. I'm wondering if I can just drag and drop my entire photography folder and have it be said and done? (I plan on keeping the files doubled onto my laptop for a couple months until I can trust the HD). Is this a good option to just import and edit them all on the external?


Bodies: Canon 5D3 - Canon 1D4
Lenses: Sigma 120-300mm F2.8 DG OS HSM SPORTS - Canon 100mm F2.8 L - Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L - - Canon 85mm F1.2 L V2 - Canon 40mm F2.8 Pancake
Extras: 2 Neewer TT520 Speedlites - Manfrotto 3021BPRO and ballhead

Check out my Flickr (external link)!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Jun 12, 2014 23:50 |  #2

Yeah, that works. Drag and drop with the right mouse button (Assuming windows) and you'll get the option to move or copy, and I'd choose copy.

You really want two copies all the time. You can't ever trust a single hard drive with your data. So I'd buy 2 external drives if your laptop can't hold a copy of your photos internally.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,001 posts
Likes: 485
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jun 13, 2014 07:19 |  #3

Assuming the external drive is USB, anticipate that this may take some time to accomplish the copy operation.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peter_n
Goldmember
Avatar
2,389 posts
Likes: 52
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Boston, MA
     
Jun 13, 2014 08:31 |  #4

^ Unless it's USB 3, when it'll be fairly quick. +1 on the backups, you need more than one.


~Peter

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mjolnir
Member
Avatar
175 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
     
Jun 13, 2014 12:22 |  #5

If its a USB3, it should be do-able to edit on the external too.

But get more then one external HD. Storage is cheap compared to a lost archive...


www.toeterphotography.​blogspot.com (external link)
Flickr. (external link)
365 project. (external link)
Eos 7D, 300mm F/2.8 L IS, 100-400L, 24-105L, 70-200L II IS USM, Sigma 150mm OS, Sigma 10-20mm, Canon 60mm Macro, Canon 50mm F/1.8.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Jun 13, 2014 13:16 |  #6

Mjolnir wrote in post #16969545 (external link)
But get more then one external HD. Storage is cheap compared to a lost archive...

I think it is crazy how many people spend a few thousand on photo gear and then complain about a couple hundred for backup drives. If you care about photos enough to spend lots taking them, spend a little making sure they don't get lost.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nordlysBW
Senior Member
Avatar
351 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 21
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jun 13, 2014 16:18 as a reply to  @ tkbslc's post |  #7

I'd copy them in chunks of 30 to 50 Gb as the 200+ Gb could take some time to get on the external disk, depending on the hardware you are using.

When finished, I'd check with some file synchronisation software (Free File Sync does it well and for free as the name says) if the contents of the photo folders are indeed strictly identical on both disks.

From this point on I would, as a routine, synchronise the two parts of the harddisks containing the photos on a very regular basis. As recommended before I would make sure that I get an extra copy on yet another disk. Living with one backup only sounds like asking for trouble!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Furinox
Member
233 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Apr 2011
     
Jun 13, 2014 16:59 |  #8

Mjolnir wrote in post #16969545 (external link)
If its a USB3, it should be do-able to edit on the external too.

But get more then one external HD. Storage is cheap compared to a lost archive...

USB3 speed and the actual read/write speed of the hard drive are two separate things. You can have a 5400RPM external hard drive that would be terrible to edit on even though it has a USB3 connector. I wouldn't edit on anything other than a solid state. I actually have a LaCie 500GB solid state external that has both USB3 and Thunderbolt connectors that works quite well to edit from.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xarik
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,758 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
     
Jun 13, 2014 19:51 |  #9

I have another 1tb external that I'll dump on as a third backup and I'll wipe out the laptops every couple months/years. My laptop only has a 7200RPM hybrid drive in it but SATA is like 6gbs so I guess it's faster. I might just edit it on the laptop and back up every now and then rather than just editing on the external. Thanks everyone :). I need to check out free file sync.


Bodies: Canon 5D3 - Canon 1D4
Lenses: Sigma 120-300mm F2.8 DG OS HSM SPORTS - Canon 100mm F2.8 L - Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L - - Canon 85mm F1.2 L V2 - Canon 40mm F2.8 Pancake
Extras: 2 Neewer TT520 Speedlites - Manfrotto 3021BPRO and ballhead

Check out my Flickr (external link)!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Jun 13, 2014 23:09 |  #10

Furinox wrote in post #16969999 (external link)
USB3 speed and the actual read/write speed of the hard drive are two separate things. You can have a 5400RPM external hard drive that would be terrible to edit on even though it has a USB3 connector. I wouldn't edit on anything other than a solid state. I actually have a LaCie 500GB solid state external that has both USB3 and Thunderbolt connectors that works quite well to edit from.

You edit from RAM anyway. Even a crappy 5400 laptop drive on USB 2.0 can transfer a RAW into RAM at 30MB/s, so that's 1-1.5 seconds for even the biggest file. Then it's all RAM.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Jun 13, 2014 23:10 |  #11

xarik wrote in post #16970305 (external link)
I have another 1tb external that I'll dump on as a third backup and I'll wipe out the laptops every couple months/years. My laptop only has a 7200RPM hybrid drive in it but SATA is like 6gbs so I guess it's faster. I might just edit it on the laptop and back up every now and then rather than just editing on the external. Thanks everyone :). I need to check out free file sync.

If you have room, keep a copy on the internal drive. It's much easier.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xarik
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,758 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
     
Jun 14, 2014 17:13 |  #12

Running 16gb of 1333MHz RAM in my laptop with a 7200RPM hybrid drive with 8gb of SSD cache along with my i7 3610QM. I'm stuck transferring images through USB from my 5D because I don't have a fast card reader, and even if I did, it wouldn't be any faster.I'll go ahead and keep a backup on my laptop for a while and then keep one copy on my external and maybe another one on another external because I also have a 1tb external on top of the 2tb external and the 750gb internal.


Bodies: Canon 5D3 - Canon 1D4
Lenses: Sigma 120-300mm F2.8 DG OS HSM SPORTS - Canon 100mm F2.8 L - Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L - - Canon 85mm F1.2 L V2 - Canon 40mm F2.8 Pancake
Extras: 2 Neewer TT520 Speedlites - Manfrotto 3021BPRO and ballhead

Check out my Flickr (external link)!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
40,239 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2037
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Jun 16, 2014 11:59 |  #13

xarik wrote in post #16968381 (external link)
Hey all,

I've been editing and storing everything on my laptop for months now and I realllllllly need to go ahead and move it because I've just reached 222gb of photos (edited and not edited) just sitting on my laptop and it's bogging it down. I have a 2TB external 3.5inch drive. I'm wondering if I can just drag and drop my entire photography folder and have it be said and done? (I plan on keeping the files doubled onto my laptop for a couple months until I can trust the HD). Is this a good option to just import and edit them all on the external?

One consideration not mentioned by others, that you need to consider...your application program for editing photos just MIGHT have a 'database' in which it tracks the location of photos which it manages. So simply MOVING FILES using the standard Operating System's file management just MIGHT cause your photo editing application to LOSE TRACK of any photos managed within its database.
So the technique to 'move' photos from a folder on the laptop internal harddrive to the external harddrive MUST consider what your application program needs for its own purposes!


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xarik
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,758 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
     
Jun 17, 2014 19:41 |  #14

Wilt wrote in post #16974937 (external link)
One consideration not mentioned by others, that you need to consider...your application program for editing photos just MIGHT have a 'database' in which it tracks the location of photos which it manages. So simply MOVING FILES using the standard Operating System's file management just MIGHT cause your photo editing application to LOSE TRACK of any photos managed within its database.
So the technique to 'move' photos from a folder on the laptop internal harddrive to the external harddrive MUST consider what your application program needs for its own purposes!

Very very very true. I Know for Adobe Premier, it hates it when one file is moved. But for LR4.3, I'm pretty sure it lets you move them as you wish, but if you had them in a project, you would probably have to relocate the files. I would reorganize them in the same manor and hopefully that would help. I'll do some testing


Bodies: Canon 5D3 - Canon 1D4
Lenses: Sigma 120-300mm F2.8 DG OS HSM SPORTS - Canon 100mm F2.8 L - Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L - - Canon 85mm F1.2 L V2 - Canon 40mm F2.8 Pancake
Extras: 2 Neewer TT520 Speedlites - Manfrotto 3021BPRO and ballhead

Check out my Flickr (external link)!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
40,239 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2037
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Jun 17, 2014 19:50 |  #15

xarik wrote in post #16978196 (external link)
Very very very true. I Know for Adobe Premier, it hates it when one file is moved. But for LR4.3, I'm pretty sure it lets you move them as you wish, but if you had them in a project, you would probably have to relocate the files. I would reorganize them in the same manor and hopefully that would help. I'll do some testing

BAD assum(e)ption!

LR has a mini-SQL based database, and you MUST MOVE files 'from within LR' or else it loses track of where the RAW file is actually located...its LRCAT file has the list of modifications to perform on the RAW file, but it cannot do the edits to the file simply because YOU have used the Operating System utilities (Windows 7 or whatever) to move the file, and SQL knows not where the file went!


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,608 views & 0 likes for this thread
From laptop HD to an external.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Paulzar
400 guests, 282 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.