Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 17 Jun 2014 (Tuesday) 02:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What kind of Computer do you use?

 
BioSci
Senior Member
Avatar
406 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 39
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Boston MetroWest Burbs
     
Jun 17, 2014 14:38 as a reply to  @ post 16977281 |  #16

I use a heavily modified Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 gHz machine. It has 24GB RAM, 8 TB of internal HD storage including a 640GB SSD boot disk, and two fast graphics cards driving 3 large monitors. Scores just over 16,000 in the GeekBench benchmark suite. I use it for surfing the web and writing email. :p

I also run Adobe CC Photoshop and Premiere on it when I'm doing real work.


Gripped 7D | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L II | 100-400L | 17-55 f/2.8 | lots of misc stuff

Tyo Photographyexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Logicus
Senior Member
Avatar
787 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Independence, KY
     
Jun 17, 2014 14:49 |  #17

Processor isn't 100% where it's at... I have a lightning fast setup that pops out HDR's in less than 10 seconds (using three large 5288p wide images from my 5dMkII) and can do 20+ of the same images into a photomerge in PS; noise reduction software is quick as well.

The biggest thing I've found that will increase performance (assuming you have at least an i3, and 4-8GB ram) is a solid state drive, bar none. Put Photoshop and it's scratch disk on there and it's BLAZING fast. With the GTX 670 card I put in it, I built my machine for under $1k easy - mostly from tiger direct. (should say I have a 25GB SSD for windows and programs and Photoshop's scratch disk. I put together an older Pentium dual core system using a 32GB ssd for windows and just photoshop - old system is still fast with Photoshop..)


My Gear List
My flickr (external link)
My flickr photos organized by Lens Used (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
airfrogusmc
I'm a chimper. There I said it...
36,019 posts
Gallery: 145 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 5013
Joined May 2007
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
     
Jun 17, 2014 14:54 |  #18

Mac Pro...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
whiteflyer
Goldmember
Avatar
1,682 posts
Gallery: 201 photos
Likes: 582
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Lancashire, England
     
Jun 17, 2014 15:37 |  #19

iMac 27-inch, Late 2009
Processor 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 12 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 4850 512 MB


Aperture 3.5.1
Pixelmator Version 3.2 Sandstone


Whiteflyer Photography (external link) | Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,661 posts
Gallery: 160 photos
Likes: 6293
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 21, 2014 11:47 |  #20

After years of building my own monster systems, this time I took the easy and cheap way out. I got a nearly discontinued old Win 7 H.P. from Staples for about $350.00
AMD Quad core, onboard graphics, ( :lol: ) put in more memory (16GB) and stuffed in some extra hard drives in RAID 1 mirror for the photos. Plugged in all my internal drives, did some tweeking to Windows 7 and uninstalled a bunch of bloatware.

It's remarkably capable! I'm amazed. It's in it's third year now I think (maybe almost?)

My previous system was an absolute fire breathing monster in it's day, but technology did what it did, and this little tyke is faster in some ways (not in all!)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 26, 2014 00:15 |  #21

Win 8.1
32GB RAM (I only noticed an improvement up to 16GB)
i7-4770K slightly oc'd
AMD Radeon HD7700 series video card (although the i7-4770K onboard video would have been fine)
120GB SSD for OS, programs and LR catalog (an 80GB SSD is a bit too small IMO)
1.5TB data drive
2 x 2TB drives in RAID 1 that I'm currently using for backing up my sytem
NEC PA241W monitor with NEC SpectraView calibration system (rebranded xRite i1 Display Pro puck)
LR5 and PS CS6

Only advice I have is:

  • I wouldn't bother with less that the i7-4770K or 4790K if you don't plan on upgrading again for a few years.
  • RAM isn't that expensive so get at least 16GB
  • Get a decent SSD for the boot drive. It doesn't need to be huge, especially if you move your Outlook pst file(s), Documents, Downloads, Music, etc to your data drive.
  • Video cards don't matter a lot for image editing unless you move up to an expensive workstation card to take advantage of 10 bit per channel ability for certain monitors. With an i7-4770K you can save money by not even buying a video card
  • Use an IPS monitor (even an economy version) for editing
  • LR5 will probably be good enough for >99% of your editing needs (images from digital cameras)
  • If the images you have are prints or negatives that you want to digitize and edit then Photoshop CS6 or CC are better products to use (Photoshop CS6's or CC's content aware healing brush and the ability to use layers are very powerful tools for restoring old prints or negatives). I'd pick only what you really care about and use a quality scanning service to scan the stuff instead of wasting a good part of your life trying to do it yourself though. I wish I could get back the >4 months it took me to do high res scans of my collection. :)

Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Arbogast
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,269 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 7879
Joined Aug 2010
Location: West Point, Georgia
     
Jun 26, 2014 10:22 |  #22

I recently purchased a Falcon Northwest PC:

32GB Ram
Two 1GB Crucial solid state drives
Two GTX Titan Black GPUs

It's in their "Fragbox" container, which I love. My PC is powerful (designed around my work in Autodesk 3ds Max and Vray), but I am dissatisfied with the crucial drives. They're slow. Photoshop files don't seem to save any faster than a fast hard drive. What I probably should have done was specify a much faster/smaller main drive. But, I'm not unhappy with my setup. It is insanely fast for my 3d modeling, which is what I really needed.


David | Flickr (external link)
Sony α7R II | CV 12mm, FE 12-24mm, Loxia 21mm, Loxia 35mm, CV 40mm, FE 50mm ZA, Loxia 85mm, Batis 85mm, Batis 135mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
1Tanker
Goldmember
Avatar
4,470 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Swaying to the Symphony of Destruction
     
Jun 26, 2014 12:32 |  #23

David Arbogast wrote in post #16995669 (external link)
I recently purchased a Falcon Northwest PC:

32GB Ram
Two 1GB Crucial solid state drives
Two GTX Titan Black GPUs

It's in their "Fragbox" container, which I love. My PC is powerful (designed around my work in Autodesk 3ds Max and Vray), but I am dissatisfied with the crucial drives. They're slow. Photoshop files don't seem to save any faster than a fast hard drive. What I probably should have done was specify a much faster/smaller main drive. But, I'm not unhappy with my setup. It is insanely fast for my 3d modeling, which is what I really needed.

Specs please!! FNW are expensive machines, and unless you really messed up on spec'ing it out.. should rip. :confused:


Kel
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrick023
Senior Member
Avatar
525 posts
Likes: 76
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
     
Jun 26, 2014 14:02 |  #24

Weird, my Crucial SSDs have always been pretty fast. Are they in a RAID configuration on your computer? Maybe there's something wrong with the RAID controller...


1Ds3 | 5Dmk3 | 6D | 7D | 20D | EF 17-40 f/4 L | 50 f/2.5 Compact Macro | EF 85 f/1.8 | EF 135 f/2L | EF 24-70 f/2.8L vII | EF 24-105 f/4 L | EF 70-200 f/2.8 L vII | EF 70-200 f/4 L | Sigma 170-500 | A ton of speedlights and Einsteins
My work: www.p3photo.com (external link) | My facebook: https://www.facebook.c​om/P3PhotoKC (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Arbogast
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,269 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 7879
Joined Aug 2010
Location: West Point, Georgia
     
Jun 26, 2014 14:56 |  #25

1Tanker wrote in post #16995879 (external link)
Specs please!! FNW are expensive machines, and unless you really messed up on spec'ing it out.. should rip. :confused:

Here are the specs:

Chassis
FragBox - Standard Black
Chassis Logo Insert
Silver Metal
Power Supply
SilverStone® 1200 Watt Modular
Motherboard
Asus® Rampage IV GENE
Processor
Intel® Core™ i7 4960X 3.6GHz
Processor Overclock
Processor Overlock - FragBox
Processor Cooler
Asetek® Liquid Cooling - FragBox
Memory
1866MHz 4x8GB (32GB Kit)
Video Card
(2) NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX TITAN Black
Sound Card
On-Board Audio
Networking
On-Board Ethernet
Hard Drive
Crucial® M550 SSD 1TB
Hard Drive 2
Crucial® M550 SSD 1TB
Optical Drive
Slot-Load DVD Writer
64-Bit Operating System
Microsoft® Windows 8.1


patrick023 wrote in post #16996029 (external link)
Weird, my Crucial SSDs have always been pretty fast. Are they in a RAID configuration on your computer? Maybe there's something wrong with the RAID controller...

I don't think they're in a RAID config - just separate C and D drives. I am not unhappy with the drives; just hoped they'd have faster read/write speeds based similar to the one in my Lenovo laptop.


David | Flickr (external link)
Sony α7R II | CV 12mm, FE 12-24mm, Loxia 21mm, Loxia 35mm, CV 40mm, FE 50mm ZA, Loxia 85mm, Batis 85mm, Batis 135mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,727 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 216
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Jun 27, 2014 08:10 |  #26

Mac mini (just upgraded from an old 13" macbook). Lightroom (used to use aperture but switched over after the new mini came) andNik suite.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hen3Ry
Goldmember
Avatar
1,059 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Aptos, CA, USA
     
Jun 27, 2014 09:33 |  #27

Mac Pro 8 way 3.3GHz


***************
Je n'avais pas besoin de cette hypothèse-là.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jakesaunders27
Member
Avatar
170 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2013
Location: United Kingdom
     
Jul 07, 2014 07:19 |  #28

Mac Pro, Lightroom 5


5D III | 16-35L | 24-105L
Website (external link) Twitter (external link)Facebook (external link)Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 07, 2014 07:33 |  #29

What do you use? Custom built
Mac, or Microsoft? Microsoft
Laptop or Desktop? Desktop
What do you use for photo file management? Lightroom
Mac app, Microsoft app, Canon Digital Photography Pro ? Other? No
Do you do post processing? PhotoShop? Some other software? Lightroom + Photoshop


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Colorblinded
Goldmember
Avatar
2,646 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 403
Joined Jul 2007
     
Jul 07, 2014 07:40 |  #30

Custom built running 8.1 Pro
i7-3770K, still running stock speeds
32GB DDR3 1866
AsRock Extreme 4
2x256GB SSDs (one for main boot/programs, another for overflow, lightroom cats, photoshop stuff)
2TB general junk drive
2TB WD Black main photo drive
2TB WD Green nightly incremental backup drive
another empty 2TB drive that was the junk drive until I thought it was dead but then was fine after I relocated and reconnected it (a second time because I did that while troubleshooting too)
EVGA GTX 270 FTW (I game sometimes)
Fractal Design Define R4

feeding an HP LP2475w and a Dell 2007wfp (currently looking for another 24" to replace the old Dell but I haven't decided what yet).


http://www.colorblinde​dphoto.com (external link)
http://www.thecolorbli​ndphotographer.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

14,279 views & 0 likes for this thread
What kind of Computer do you use?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is BGI
1028 guests, 257 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.