Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 24 Jun 2014 (Tuesday) 15:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Best way to external storage?

 
Francisco ­ Durand
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 24, 2014 15:41 |  #1

Hello, I've been trying to get a good storage for my photos, Right now I have 2 x 2tb hard drives that are filling up.

I've been searching the web and found NAS/DAS like Synology, Pegasus, Drobo.

I'm not going with Drobo though because of all the problems they have.
I would like to control the drives by myself and do the backup.
It could have thunderbolt or USB3

And I don't quite understand how a NAS works. Can you help me choose some storage solution that fits my needs?


Canon 5D Mark II - Canon 16-35L II - Canon 100L IS II - 500px (external link) - And bunch of accessories! :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Francisco ­ Durand
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 24, 2014 16:14 |  #2

So, If anyone could recommend an enclosure that is

1) JBOD, not RAID
2) 4 bay or more
3) Thunderbolt or USB3


Canon 5D Mark II - Canon 16-35L II - Canon 100L IS II - 500px (external link) - And bunch of accessories! :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BTNorris
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Jun 24, 2014 19:38 as a reply to  @ Francisco Durand's post |  #3

Do you already have an offline (or better, off-site) backup in place?


7D, 17-55, 50 1.4, 70-200, 10-22, Kenko Tubes, OPTIX xr, Einstein

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Diamond-Lord
Junior Member
29 posts
Joined May 2014
     
Jun 24, 2014 19:54 |  #4

Francisco Durand wrote in post #16992117 (external link)
And I don't quite understand how a NAS works.

Why is it so hard to understand?

Just attach a hard drive to a network via Ethernet cable and voila --- instant internal cloud storage available any network device.

Not that hard a concept  :p




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Francisco ­ Durand
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 24, 2014 20:44 |  #5

Diamond-Lord wrote in post #16992537 (external link)
Why is it so hard to understand?

Just attach a hard drive to a network via Ethernet cable and voila --- instant internal cloud storage available any network device.

Not that hard a concept  :p

Can you connect it directly to the Mac with an ethernet cable? What are the speeds?

BTNorris wrote in post #16992515 (external link)
Do you already have an offline (or better, off-site) backup in place?

I have only one full backup with old files. I'm currently living on the edge without backup/storage.


Canon 5D Mark II - Canon 16-35L II - Canon 100L IS II - 500px (external link) - And bunch of accessories! :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BTNorris
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Jun 24, 2014 21:25 |  #6

Francisco Durand wrote in post #16992612 (external link)
I have only one full backup with old files. I'm currently living on the edge without backup/storage.

So are you thinking of something you can rotate-out a drive for backup, or are you just looking for primary storage at this point?


7D, 17-55, 50 1.4, 70-200, 10-22, Kenko Tubes, OPTIX xr, Einstein

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Francisco ­ Durand
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 24, 2014 21:41 |  #7

BTNorris wrote in post #16992695 (external link)
So are you thinking of something you can rotate-out a drive for backup, or are you just looking for primary storage at this point?

I would have 2x 2tb and 2x 4tb HDs, one for backup each one using CCC.


Canon 5D Mark II - Canon 16-35L II - Canon 100L IS II - 500px (external link) - And bunch of accessories! :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BTNorris
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Jun 24, 2014 22:36 as a reply to  @ Francisco Durand's post |  #8

CCC = Carbon Copy Cloner?

I know a few people who have had a virus/malware kill their primary data. Their backup was killed too, because the drive was active at the same time.

Maybe not an issue for a Mac with this software. There's always fire or theft risk, though.

Okay, sorry to get on the off-site soapbox, I'll step off now. :)

Do you need to access with more than 1 computer? If not, I would imagine a USB solution would be cheapest and do what you needed. I would think they all would do JBOD, but I don't have a specific recommendation.


7D, 17-55, 50 1.4, 70-200, 10-22, Kenko Tubes, OPTIX xr, Einstein

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BTNorris
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Jun 25, 2014 14:36 as a reply to  @ BTNorris's post |  #9

You may want to look at this (from imaging-resource):

http://www.imaging-resource.com …os-for-less-than-six-cent (external link)


7D, 17-55, 50 1.4, 70-200, 10-22, Kenko Tubes, OPTIX xr, Einstein

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drumsfield
Goldmember
Avatar
1,601 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Bethesda Md
     
Jun 25, 2014 14:57 |  #10

I use a USB HD Dock and a collection of Internal Hard Drives. I archive everything once a year on Bluray DVD and have Zenfolio as a last resort.

http://www.newegg.com …aspx?Item=N82E1​6817182237 (external link)


Canon 5D MkIII | Olympus OM-D | Olympus E-P2 | 16-35L MKII | 24-70L MKII | 70-200L MKII | 85L MKII | EF 50mm 1.4 | EF 100mm 2.8 | 100-400mm L MKII | 20mm 1.7
Feedback and Full gear list
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shocolite
Member
Avatar
245 posts
Gallery: 55 photos
Likes: 186
Joined Mar 2014
Location: Ireland (when I do get home!)
     
Jun 27, 2014 05:54 |  #11

Hello, I use a Synology 2 bay (212+). Love it. works across windows, MAC and my samsung note (whatever OS it uses?). I transfer pictures from my camera and they transfer to my laptop and desktop PCs automatically. I never had an issue with the sync function. I am now in Saudi with full remote access of my Synology (based in Ireland) available to me. Works just like dropbox. I rarely have an issue with remote access and just sycned a load of photos that my wife has taken.

Synology have a big range of stuff, I chose the 212 model (i think now it is the 213 version) as the better models have more processing power and larger RAM. I have mine set on Raid setup (2 x 3TB drives). A few times a year I have a couple of older hard-drives that I use to do a full back-up and store these at an external location (in case of fire/flood etc).

The great thing about the Synology is that it is very customisable and great for so many differnt devices - even for streaming music /video around the house. Best of all, I waste barely no time as I dont have to sit at my PC manually having to copy files here and there. For extra piece of mind, the sync function works by coping files I add (as example) from my camera to my desktop PC via the Synology to my other devices such as my laptop. Hence I have here 3 seperate locations of my files (PC, synology, laptop) excluding my old hard-disks that I have stored at an external location.

I did consider other devices such as from Western Digital etc, but online reviews put me off - too many issues. Synology always seemed to get better reviews.


Canon 80D, 700D & G7 X; EF-S 10-18/18-135 STM, EF-S 18-135 IS USM, 50 F1.4, 100 F2.8L Macro, 16-35 F4L, 70-200 F4L IS; 100-400 L II, Speedlite 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hogloff
Cream of the Crop
7,606 posts
Likes: 415
Joined Apr 2003
Location: British Columbia
     
Jun 27, 2014 08:29 |  #12
bannedPermanent ban

I have a Drobo system and it's totally painless with zero problems. Don't know what problems you are talking about.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cfhenrichs
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined Jul 2014
Location: Aggieland! College Station TX
     
Jul 11, 2014 15:30 |  #13

I also have a Drobo system and am very happy with the performance and ease of use. It was a snap to setup and configure. I am wondering what problems you are concerned with.


Canon EOS 6D, Canon 24-105mm, Canon 50mm, 40mm, 100mm Macro
Portfolios (external link) | Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gnome ­ chompski
Goldmember
1,252 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2013
Location: oakland, ca
     
Jul 11, 2014 15:38 |  #14

The only issue I have heard about with Drobo is that if the enclosure goes, you have to get another in order to get your data. I know Scott Kelby has a write up about this experience happening multiple times, but that is really one of the two sources I have read about where this issue occurred. Im not sure how unbiased Scott's experience is/was however.


Tumblr (external link)
Flickr (external link)
Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
44,318 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3477
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Jul 12, 2014 21:58 |  #15

I have data on an NAS (Ethernet-connected to main desktop PC and to Wi-Fi connected laptops) by LaCie. I also periodically plug a USB-dock harddrive directly to the LaCie's own USB port in order to copy a second copy of data to an external harddrive...simply use Windows Explorer to copy folders from the Lacie to the docked HD. If I really want data insurance, I can even swap out the HD in the USB dock and make another copy of data.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,558 views & 0 likes for this thread
Best way to external storage?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Big_coelho
913 guests, 265 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.