Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 09 May 2014 (Friday) 14:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

No Card In Camera

 
teekay
Goldmember
Avatar
3,037 posts
Likes: 799
Joined Apr 2001
Location: British Columbia, Canada
     
Jun 10, 2014 10:18 as a reply to  @ post 16962691 |  #16

By mistake I recently let the battery on my 60D run right down due to disuse and the first time I turned it on after recharging I got the error message "No Card" even though the same card had been in the camera all the time without removing.

I removed the card and reinserted it and to my relief that solved the problem.

My point is that your problem may have nothing to do with the card but perhaps is due to the camera's programming getting screwed up by a battery problem or some other reason, so maybe recharging and/or resetting to factory defaults may be the solution. Just an idea.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Dan ­ Kearley
Senior Member
421 posts
Likes: 31
Joined Aug 2012
     
Jun 10, 2014 19:25 |  #17

I left my card read door open for a couple days and I got this error afterwards.

Some Atari-style blowing and in/out a few times seemed to fix it. I imagine it was dirt/dust.
I haven't seen the error since.


www.emotionalresponse.​ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aquaforester
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
886 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 329
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 11, 2014 07:24 |  #18

John from PA wrote in post #16962691 (external link)
Do you have paperwork indicating what was done or parts used? Might be nice to know for the future.

I haven't approved the work yet, but looks like I will for the $175 at this point. If I do get detailed paperwork I'll pass it on. Unfortunately no add'l warranty under the credit card, but thanks mentioning it.


Flickr (external link)

Current Gear
Canon 60D, 10-18, 24 Pancake, 60 macro, 70-200 F4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aquaforester
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
886 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 329
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 11, 2014 07:25 |  #19

teekay wrote in post #16963093 (external link)
By mistake I recently let the battery on my 60D run right down due to disuse and the first time I turned it on after recharging I got the error message "No Card" even though the same card had been in the camera all the time without removing.

I removed the card and reinserted it and to my relief that solved the problem.

My point is that your problem may have nothing to do with the card but perhaps is due to the camera's programming getting screwed up by a battery problem or some other reason, so maybe recharging and/or resetting to factory defaults may be the solution. Just an idea.

Tried the reset and removing the battery, recharging, etc. but same error message, thanks though


Flickr (external link)

Current Gear
Canon 60D, 10-18, 24 Pancake, 60 macro, 70-200 F4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aquaforester
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
886 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 329
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 11, 2014 07:26 |  #20

Dan Kearley wrote in post #16964119 (external link)
I left my card read door open for a couple days and I got this error afterwards.

Some Atari-style blowing and in/out a few times seemed to fix it. I imagine it was dirt/dust.
I haven't seen the error since.

Tried the blowing thing too, but error message persists, thanks.


Flickr (external link)

Current Gear
Canon 60D, 10-18, 24 Pancake, 60 macro, 70-200 F4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aquaforester
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
886 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 329
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 25, 2014 11:22 |  #21

John from PA wrote in post #16962691 (external link)
Do you have paperwork indicating what was done or parts used? Might be nice to know for the future.

O.K. my camera is fixed. Took about one week for Canon to fix and ship back to me. They had to replace the part.(PCB ASS'Y,SD) Part# CG2-2819-010 for anyone is interested.


Flickr (external link)

Current Gear
Canon 60D, 10-18, 24 Pancake, 60 macro, 70-200 F4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Kearley
Senior Member
421 posts
Likes: 31
Joined Aug 2012
     
Jun 25, 2014 12:04 |  #22

Interesting. Good to hear.


www.emotionalresponse.​ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,393 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1724
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Jun 25, 2014 12:48 as a reply to  @ Dan Kearley's post |  #23

Glad that you got it sorted.:)


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,169 posts
Likes: 1097
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jun 25, 2014 12:50 |  #24

aquaforester wrote in post #16993702 (external link)
O.K. my camera is fixed. Took about one week for Canon to fix and ship back to me. They had to replace the part.(PCB ASS'Y,SD) Part# CG2-2819-010 for anyone is interested.

As one would expect, that is the circuit board that includes the SD card slot and it sells for about $50 depending on the source. It looks as if there are a fair number of components on that board and rarely if ever does anyone do board level repairs. Some people supposedly have had issues with a small switch on the board that detects the card. I haven't looked into the card bay of my 60D to see if such a switch is present.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
blanex1
Senior Member
Avatar
790 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jun 25, 2014 13:00 |  #25

#1 card reader,# 2 bent pins in your 60d,please let us no how it works out if you send it to canon usa.


canon 7d bg-e7 5d-mk3 1d-mk3 24-105-L 17-40 L 35/1.4 85/1.8 yougnuo 565 ex 580 ex and lots of other canon stuff.canon 70-200 2.8 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,393 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1724
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Jun 25, 2014 21:46 |  #26

aquaforester wrote in post #16993702 (external link)
O.K. my camera is fixed. Took about one week for Canon to fix and ship back to me. They had to replace the part.(PCB ASS'Y,SD) Part# CG2-2819-010 for anyone is interested.

blanex1@netzero.com wrote in post #16993898 (external link)
#1 card reader,# 2 bent pins in your 60d,please let us no how it works out if you send it to canon usa.

The camera has already been fixed.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
Avatar
10,620 posts
Gallery: 169 photos
Likes: 3094
Joined Jan 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
Jun 26, 2014 04:49 |  #27

The camera has already been fixed...


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II (broken), and an M5, along with a M6 destined for 720nm
TF posting: here :-)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,169 posts
Likes: 1097
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jun 26, 2014 06:24 |  #28

Kim Johnson Images wrote in post #16994849 (external link)
Make sure a pin isnt bent. Had that happen

No pins on an SD card and issue has been resolved!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jun 26, 2014 07:24 |  #29

aquaforester wrote in post #16993702 (external link)
O.K. my camera is fixed. Took about one week for Canon to fix and ship back to me. They had to replace the part.(PCB ASS'Y,SD) Part# CG2-2819-010 for anyone is interested.

Same deal and issue with my 6d. Guys, make sure you keep your files to a minimum or else it'll seize up.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aquaforester
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
886 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 329
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jun 26, 2014 20:50 |  #30

wisdom2thewise wrote in post #16995318 (external link)
Same deal and issue with my 6d. Guys, make sure you keep your files to a minimum or else it'll seize up.

What exactly are you referring to?


Flickr (external link)

Current Gear
Canon 60D, 10-18, 24 Pancake, 60 macro, 70-200 F4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,082 views & 0 likes for this thread
No Card In Camera
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is leeloming
823 guests, 234 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.