Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 12 Jul 2014 (Saturday) 12:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you customize logo placement in Lightroom?

 
mannetti21
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 12, 2014 12:43 |  #1

Using Lightroom 5.5, is there a way to custom place a logo/watermark? I'm not referring to the preset placements and the vertical/horizontal sliders. Sometimes those controls just don't cut it for strategic placement.


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
DunnoWhen
Goldmember
Avatar
1,748 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2006
Location: South Wales
     
Jul 12, 2014 12:46 |  #2

Do a search for a plugin called LR2/Mogrify. This should allow you to do as you wish.


My wisdom is learned from the experience of others.
...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mannetti21
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 12, 2014 13:17 |  #3

Thanks for the suggestion. I just installed the plug-in and while it does remove the limitations of horizontal and vertical offsets allowed by Lightroom, it really isn't practical to have to manually enter the offset in terms of pixels without being able to visualize the result in real time. I could see myself spending 5-10mins per photo trying to precisely place a logo via this trial and error method.

I'm really looking for something that would either allow me to drag/drop the logo, or at the very least be able to use sliders to change the position with a real time visual representation.


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DunnoWhen
Goldmember
Avatar
1,748 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2006
Location: South Wales
     
Jul 12, 2014 13:30 as a reply to  @ mannetti21's post |  #4

Do you have photoshop?

If you do, you could set up an action which would allow you to place your logo where you want it.

Make this into a droplet and then call the droplet as part of your LR post processing export routine.


My wisdom is learned from the experience of others.
...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mannetti21
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 12, 2014 15:01 |  #5

DunnoWhen wrote in post #17027153 (external link)
Do you have photoshop?

If you do, you could set up an action which would allow you to place your logo where you want it.

Make this into a droplet and then call the droplet as part of your LR post processing export routine.

I don't think I explained well enough what I'm wanting to do. I'm trying to solve 2 problems; not being able to place the watermark in a desired position, and not being able to easily change the position when exporting individual images.


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DunnoWhen
Goldmember
Avatar
1,748 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2006
Location: South Wales
     
Jul 12, 2014 15:17 as a reply to  @ mannetti21's post |  #6

Which is why I was asking whether you have PS.


My wisdom is learned from the experience of others.
...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mannetti21
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 12, 2014 15:34 |  #7

DunnoWhen wrote in post #17027324 (external link)
Which is why I was asking whether you have PS.

mannetti21 wrote in post #17027073 (external link)
Using Lightroom 5.5, is there a way to custom place a logo/watermark?

:-|

Regardless, even with the method you suggested, would this allow me to change the exact positioning of the watermark on a per-image basis?


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Jul 12, 2014 16:11 |  #8

((sigh))


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
battletone
Senior Member
Avatar
503 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 75
Joined Sep 2009
     
Jul 13, 2014 17:19 |  #9

mannetti21 wrote in post #17027351 (external link)
:-|

Regardless, even with the method you suggested, would this allow me to change the exact positioning of the watermark on a per-image basis?

Per image basis? Why not just copy and paste in the logo as a layer at that point?


Cameras: 5D Mark IV, EOS 3, Elan 7
Lenses:15mm 2.8 fisheye, 16-35mm 2.8L II, 24-70mm 2.8L II, 85mm 1.8, 100mm 2.8L, 70-200L II IS
Tripod: Gitzo GT2531, Arca-Swiss Z1, RRS PC-LR
Lights: Photogenic PL1250 x2, 1500SL x1, Canon 580ex, YN 568ex II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 13, 2014 19:47 |  #10

To the OP, you have Photoshop CC, the best suggestion from my view is to adopt one of the tried-and-true Photoshop Actions to do this (check out "Russel Brown" actions) rather than trying something with Lightroom, but that's just my suggestion!!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
karobinson
Goldmember
Avatar
1,236 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 36
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Alaska
     
Jul 13, 2014 19:58 |  #11

http://www.photoshop.c​om …cripts-panels-and-actions (external link)


Ann Robinson:)
My Gear: bunch of stuff;....some I love ... some I hate ... some I can't live without..loving my 5d3...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mannetti21
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 13, 2014 20:25 |  #12

I apologize that this question seems to have irritated a select individual. :rolleyes:

Seeing that everyone keeps suggesting a a method that involves adding Photoshop into the workflow, I assume the answer to my question is no.


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Jul 13, 2014 22:02 |  #13

Presumably I'm that "select individual."

To be able to preview or modify the placement of a watermark or any other graphic you need an application that supports layers; obviously that's not possible in Lightroom. That why you cannot see the final result until the file is rendered/exported.

Adobe Watermark Panel (external link) by Dr. Russell Brown allows previewing watermarks and anything else required but obviously only works in Photoshop.

mannetti21 wrote in post #17029946 (external link)
I apologize that this question seems to have irritated a select individual. :rolleyes:

Seeing that everyone keeps suggesting a a method that involves adding Photoshop into the workflow, I assume the answer to my question is no.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mannetti21
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,231 posts
Gallery: 136 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 516
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
     
Jul 13, 2014 23:04 |  #14

PixelMagic wrote in post #17030094 (external link)
Presumably I'm that "select individual."

:D

PixelMagic wrote in post #17030094 (external link)
To be able to preview or modify the placement of a watermark or any other graphic you need an application that supports layers; obviously that's not possible in Lightroom.

That why you cannot see the final result until the file is rendered/exported.

I beg to differ.
Export > Watermarking > Edit Watermark, which allows you to preview the image with watermark overlay, move the watermark around (albeit with constraints), change the size, and change the opacity...all before exporting the image. Obviously these changes can be either saved as a new preset for subsequent exports, or used to update the current preset.

So again, my issue is not the ability to customize the logo, but rather the limited extent to which it can be done. More specifically, the limited translation on the X and Y axis.


---------------
5D4, 5D3, Sony ZV-1, Panasonic Lumix FX7, Nikon L35AF, Minolta SRT-102
35Art, 50 f1.8 STM, EF 85 f1.8, EF 16-35L f4, EF 100-400L II
My Buyer/Seller Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Jul 13, 2014 23:54 |  #15

Since you know so much about Lightroom's architecture why not learn Lua (external link) and write a better watermarking plug-in?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,655 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you customize logo placement in Lightroom?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mannyromano123
667 guests, 212 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.