Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Jul 2014 (Thursday) 21:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

dirty sensor????

 
genesimmons
Goldmember
Avatar
1,984 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1176
Joined Aug 2013
Location: bc canada
     
Jul 24, 2014 21:35 |  #1

hi all,first of i have to say I'm pretty darn careful with my equipment,its never out in any elements and i change lens very carefully,i noticed while processing some photos some dark spots here and there,then i noticed they were in every photo,i immediately blamed the lens and cleaned it pronto,i changed lens and took some shots,same spots,ill post a pic with the spots in it so u can help me in my next step,i don't understand,I'm very careful,only thing i can think of is few times i brought cam in from being cold outside,maybe condensation on the sensor?theres lots of spots of different sizes,all over the photos,i just don't get it,


OLYMPUS EM1 M2. 12-100 F4 PRO.75mm f1.8,fisheye f1.8 pro. SONY A7 various manual lenses. FUJI X100
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/100085318@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 24, 2014 21:50 |  #2

Little bits of dust and "stuff" show up in photos as dark spots when you shoot with an aperture that is a bit narrow (such as f/8 or narrower) and especially with a light background.

You can clean your sensor in various ways, just do it reasonably carefully and with proper "stuff"!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genesimmons
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,984 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1176
Joined Aug 2013
Location: bc canada
     
Jul 24, 2014 22:01 |  #3

thanx for the quick reply,it seems these spots came out of the blue,the last photos i processed were clean and now they all have these,i cropped this photo and boosted contrast lots to emhpaze the spots,any suggestions,?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


OLYMPUS EM1 M2. 12-100 F4 PRO.75mm f1.8,fisheye f1.8 pro. SONY A7 various manual lenses. FUJI X100
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/100085318@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
Avatar
1,464 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
     
Jul 24, 2014 22:01 |  #4

No matter how careful you are you will get Dust in your camera , just clean it your self or have it Professionally cleaned and be happy .

David


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ThreeHounds
Senior Member
Avatar
841 posts
Gallery: 77 photos
Likes: 494
Joined Mar 2014
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
     
Jul 24, 2014 22:16 |  #5

Did a shoot in the Valley of Fire and Red Rock Canyon outside of Las Vegas. Did my changing in the trunk of the car with a curtain draped over the lid. Got sensor specks anyway. That was some real fine powdery dust. Rocket blaster cleared it out pretty quickly.


5D MkIII | 7D | Bronica ETRS
EF 24-105 f/4 L | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 17-40 f/4 L | EF 70-300 f/4 L | 105 f/3.5 Zenzanon | Tamron SP90 f/2.8 Di Macro VC USM
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
venom3300
Senior Member
610 posts
Likes: 145
Joined Jan 2014
     
Jul 24, 2014 22:17 |  #6

try a rocket blower first. I have also found the soft end of a lens pen then rocket blowing does the job.


Bodies: Nikon D800,Canon Rebel GII, Pentax K1000
Lenses: Nikon 20mm 1.8, Nikon 24 2.8 MF, Tamron SP 35mm 1.8, Tamron 90 2.8 Macro, Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR I, Nikon AI-P 500mm F4, Nikon TC-16A, SMC Pentax-A 50/1.7, SMC Pentax-M 100/4 Macro

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mathmans
Senior Member
307 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 143
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jul 25, 2014 00:53 |  #7

First of all; don't panic and get used to it. The dust will always find the way into the camera chamber. Cameras are not really hermetically sealed, not to mention what happens when you change lenses. Some zoom lenses also pump air (and some dust) into the chamber. My 35-70 f2.8 is doing that.
So; the dust gets in the chamber and sits on something inside of it - mirror, focusing screen, shutter curtains, side walls of the chamber, etc.
When shooting the mirror is slapping and the shutter curtains are doing what they suppose to do and this makes some wind inside the chamber. This wind moves the dust and some of it can get to the sensor.
I clean my sensor at least once per month. (Eyelead blower , Eyelead gel stick , Pec Pads and Eclipse).


My photos:
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/149610703@N05/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
5,925 posts
Gallery: 120 photos
Likes: 4028
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jul 25, 2014 01:38 as a reply to  @ Mathmans's post |  #8

Even if you only change lenses in a clean room you'll still get a dirty sensor.
Cameras are machines with moving parts. Moving parts need lubrication.
Lubricant does not necessarily stay where it is applied.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,065 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 302
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jul 25, 2014 02:46 |  #9

genesimmons wrote in post #17054439 (external link)
thanx,any suggestions,?

Clean it. All sensors are dirty.
Another suggestion at least I, who aren't a native English speaker, have is that you please capitalize the first letter in the sentences, capitalize "I", create sentences at all and finally put a space after commas and periods (once you make them). I have a hard time understanding your questions.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mathmans
Senior Member
307 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 143
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jul 25, 2014 03:19 |  #10

aperrson850;
I guess the panic made him forgot about rules of writting, grammar and punctation. :)


My photos:
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/149610703@N05/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
5,925 posts
Gallery: 120 photos
Likes: 4028
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jul 25, 2014 05:06 |  #11

apersson850 wrote in post #17054780 (external link)
Clean it. All sensors are dirty.
Another suggestion at least I, who aren't a native English speaker, have is that you please capitalize the first letter in the sentences, capitalize "I", create sentences at all and finally put a space after commas and periods (once you make them). I have a hard time understanding your questions.

It's really worth making it easy for Anders to understand questions.
He provides many helpful answers ;)


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oahumike
Senior Member
478 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 7
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Honolulu
     
Jul 25, 2014 05:10 as a reply to  @ Choderboy's post |  #12

I use the in camera sensor cleaning and that helped


Had a 6D....
Then had a daughter....
Now have an SL2 and Mavic Pro.... Man life changes.
I would encourage you... To just go for it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genesimmons
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,984 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1176
Joined Aug 2013
Location: bc canada
     
Jul 25, 2014 06:17 |  #13

thanx all,i have a blower and a lens pen here so ill carefully give that a try,just seems weird it came on so fast,i never noticed it before,thanx again for the replies.


OLYMPUS EM1 M2. 12-100 F4 PRO.75mm f1.8,fisheye f1.8 pro. SONY A7 various manual lenses. FUJI X100
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/100085318@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,124 posts
Likes: 796
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jul 25, 2014 06:19 |  #14

apersson850 wrote in post #17054780 (external link)
Clean it. All sensors are dirty.
Another suggestion at least I, who aren't a native English speaker, have is that you please capitalize the first letter in the sentences, capitalize "I", create sentences at all and finally put a space after commas and periods (once you make them). I have a hard time understanding your questions.

All too common these days with FB and tweets but the young crowd needs to know the ramifications. I'm retired now, but I was working, I would get an occasional resume where the 1st word in a sentence would be all lower case. These resumes were thrown away without further review. I was hiring for engineering positions that required extreme attention to detail. Spelling errors also resulted in a discard.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genesimmons
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,984 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1176
Joined Aug 2013
Location: bc canada
     
Jul 25, 2014 06:45 |  #15

Ya grammar and photograph go hand in hand. Jeez hope this doesn't turn into a grammar lesson. I asked for some tips and help and I got it. Jeez who cares if there's not capitals or commas. My god this is photography not English lessons. If u don't like the grammar don't freeeekin reply then. Keep your judgement to your self.


OLYMPUS EM1 M2. 12-100 F4 PRO.75mm f1.8,fisheye f1.8 pro. SONY A7 various manual lenses. FUJI X100
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/100085318@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,545 views & 0 likes for this thread
dirty sensor????
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is PhotoEngineering
928 guests, 331 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.