Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 28 Jul 2014 (Monday) 11:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

DPP Decoding Fails reading output from LR

 
Roxie2401
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jul 28, 2014 11:19 |  #1

When I export an image from LR in jpeg format and then try to view it in DPP, I get a "Decoding Failed" message. However, if I view the jpeg in Canon's Zoom Browser, it views just fine - no error message.

Also, DPP has no problem opening the CR2 file and doing its own "Convert and Save" to jpeg and then viewing the resulting jpeg image.

But what is going on with not being able to view an LR exported jpeg?

LR version 5.5
DPP version 3.14.15.0


Note: I can view the LR export in Firefox, Windows Paint, Windows Media, etc. Just not the DPP Viewer Module




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jul 28, 2014 12:36 |  #2

Well, I think its a bug in LR 5.5.

I installed LR 5.4 and exported from a CR2 file to jpeg. Canon DPP can open/view that image with no problem.

I export the same CR2 file using LR 5.5 and Canon DPP gives the "Decoding Failed" error.

Now, to get someone's attention at Adobe...............an​y thoughts?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 28, 2014 13:23 |  #3

I've heard about this problem but don't have details...

You can check in with Adobe via the Lightroom forum:

https://forums.adobe.c​om/community/lightroom (external link)


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
5,525 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1956
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Jul 28, 2014 13:26 |  #4

It is a known LR bug which I believe has been fixed in the latest CC build of ACR and therefore should be fixed in the next LR update.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jul 28, 2014 13:30 as a reply to  @ Dan Marchant's post |  #5

Thanks - had me going for a while.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 28, 2014 13:47 |  #6

Ah, yeah, now I remember! The fix should be out soon!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jason ­ C
Goldmember
4,794 posts
Gallery: 139 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 1454
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Calabasas, CA
     
Jul 28, 2014 22:07 |  #7

Same issue with exporting to DXO Optics Pro 9.5


Jason


Equipment & Feedback
"I am not interested in shooting new things-I am interested to see things new"--Ernst Haas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 28, 2014 22:17 |  #8

So, a question, with the "buggy" LR5.5, how do jpegs show up if uploaded to the Web?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,483 posts
Likes: 201
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Jul 29, 2014 03:46 |  #9

I am not sure it is technically a bug. They changed the position of some headers. The jpg standard allows for some variation and the arrangement they are using now is within the jpg specifications but not the one most widely used. Most programs have no problem with this, some do. I see them ok using Firefox on my laptop and Safari on my iPad. It is possible that the sites are making new jpgs from them for display, but if so the sites' softwares are reading them without problem. Here are two photos, one uploaded to POTN and the other hot-linked from imageevent.com. How do you see them?

IMAGE: http://photos.imageevent.com/elied/familyphotos/roniday/_MG_3475.jpg


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 29, 2014 05:43 |  #10

They look good to me, so I guess it's a mix-up with DPP?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
355 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Western PA
     
Jul 30, 2014 11:56 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #11

And apparently "Same issue with exporting to DXO Optics Pro 9.5" according to Jason C.'s post.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,514 views & 0 likes for this thread
DPP Decoding Fails reading output from LR
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Guashumerda
786 guests, 194 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.