Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 20 Aug 2014 (Wednesday) 17:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What softbox or mount will fit my Flashpoint 3oow?

 
digitalduck
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
     
Aug 20, 2014 17:43 |  #1

Hi guys,

So when it comes to strobies I only have a Flashpoint 300w moonlight and while I will eventually be upgrading to a couple AB800’s I wanted to know what my options I have for basic soft boxes when it comes to mounts? I know there are Bowens mounts and specific mounts for Alien Bees’ but should I be looking for. I have a 24x24 basic reflector where the (then Speedlight) would just go inside and shoot out against the shiny surface reflecting out through the diffuser. Do I have any options for a soft box where I can mount the strobe on the outside/back shooting forward through diffusion?

What mount or style do I need ot be looking for?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Alveric
Goldmember
Avatar
4,598 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 1053
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Canada
     
Aug 20, 2014 18:17 |  #2
bannedPermanent ban

It's not the softbox that is the problem, but the speed rings. What I'm trying to say here is, you can buy any softbox ('real' softbox –the kind that has a hole at the back for the light; what you have right now seems to be similar to the Westcott Apollo, based on your description) and mount it onto (almost) any monolight, as long as you have the right speed ring.

You'll only run into problems if the light has a proprietary design. It seems the Alien Bee's use the Balcar mount, but I'd check with the company or other users before considering them, even if the purchase will happen in the future.


'The success of the second-rate is deplorable in itself; but it is more deplorable in that it very often obscures the genuine masterpiece. If the crowd runs after the false, it must neglect the true.' —Arthur Machen
Why 'The Histogram' Sux (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digitalduck
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
     
Aug 20, 2014 18:28 |  #3

Alveric,

Thanks for the info! and yes it's just like the westcot where it just slides on the umbrella shaft. However if I did want a traditional shoot from the the hole in the back that seems to be the question as to what speeding style I will need?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Alveric
Goldmember
Avatar
4,598 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 1053
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Canada
     
Aug 20, 2014 18:36 |  #4
bannedPermanent ban

What mount does your current light have? Bowens S-type?


'The success of the second-rate is deplorable in itself; but it is more deplorable in that it very often obscures the genuine masterpiece. If the crowd runs after the false, it must neglect the true.' —Arthur Machen
Why 'The Histogram' Sux (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digitalduck
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
     
Aug 20, 2014 18:41 |  #5

Lol I think that's part of my problem. My speedlights are obviously they're own issue but my FP300w just has a built in light stand/umbrella shaft that folds in so I can mount it on a light stand and use umbrella or westcot style softbox. Aside from thet I honestly don't know. I'll have to do some more research :$




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Alveric
Goldmember
Avatar
4,598 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 1053
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Canada
     
Aug 20, 2014 19:01 |  #6
bannedPermanent ban

From what I gather, Flashpoint is Adorama's own brand. Is your unit one of these (external link)?

They seem to use the Bowens mount (albeit there's at least one that says 'Universal' under ''Mount' in the tech specs :confused: :confused: ). If so, you might find this accessory from Cowboy Studio beneficial: T-bracket with Bowens mount (external link). I have one and have used it with my speedlites. I like it because it points the light right into the centre of the brolly, providing a more even coverage. You can use the detachable Bowens mount to, er, mount a softbox or any other modifier that uses it. I have a Bowens speedring for my softboxes and have tried it: it works fine.

That being said, I don't use the Bowens attachment much, because at ~60J the speedlites just don't have the power for a softbox.


'The success of the second-rate is deplorable in itself; but it is more deplorable in that it very often obscures the genuine masterpiece. If the crowd runs after the false, it must neglect the true.' —Arthur Machen
Why 'The Histogram' Sux (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digitalduck
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
     
Aug 20, 2014 19:13 |  #7

Alvric, I'm reading you response but it's the 6th one down budget 300w. I'll look at your link!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HelenOster
That's me!
Avatar
4,500 posts
Likes: 568
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New York
     
Aug 21, 2014 11:28 |  #8

Alveric wrote in post #17108330 (external link)
From what I gather, Flashpoint is Adorama's own brand. ........

Yes, it is - and it cannot be interchanged with or adapted to any other brand of mount



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Alveric
Goldmember
Avatar
4,598 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 1053
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Canada
     
Aug 21, 2014 13:24 |  #9
bannedPermanent ban

HelenOster wrote in post #17109576 (external link)
Yes, it is - and it cannot be interchanged with or adapted to any other brand of mount

A-ha! So they're proprietary. Bummer.

Thanks for clearing that out, Helen.


'The success of the second-rate is deplorable in itself; but it is more deplorable in that it very often obscures the genuine masterpiece. If the crowd runs after the false, it must neglect the true.' —Arthur Machen
Why 'The Histogram' Sux (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
     
Aug 21, 2014 13:57 |  #10

HelenOster wrote in post #17109576 (external link)
Yes, it is - and it cannot be interchanged with or adapted to any other brand of mount

Does it at least have a clamp for an umbrella shaft? A light that won't accept modifiers has pretty limited usefulness.


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HelenOster
That's me!
Avatar
4,500 posts
Likes: 568
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New York
     
Aug 21, 2014 14:19 |  #11

draderusa wrote in post #17109833 (external link)
Does it at least have a clamp for an umbrella shaft? A light that won't accept modifiers has pretty limited usefulness.

This?
http://www.adorama.com​/FPLS6.html (external link)



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digitalduck
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
595 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
     
Aug 21, 2014 14:35 |  #12

Thanks everyone,
I spoke to adorama this morning and it looks like their Glow line of softboxes will take the budget monolight (but wouldn't any other softbox also) but they are out of stock on the specific speedring for the FL budget. monolight. So now I wait :) It's part number. Fpsrbf




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Phil ­ V
Goldmember
1,977 posts
Likes: 75
Joined Jan 2005
Location: S Yorks UK
     
Aug 21, 2014 15:39 |  #13

You'll find stockists of similar lights on ebay that'll also sell softboxes for them.

But my advice would be, beyond your Westcott type I wouldn't waste any more money on proprietary softboxes for that light (they'll be poor quality and they won't fit any future better lights). Save that money for your next light, and make sure it has a proper mount, so you can start building a system with proper modifiers.


Gear List
website: South Yorkshire Wedding photographer in Doncaster (external link)
Twitter (external link)Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
datamon
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
     
Aug 21, 2014 16:22 as a reply to  @ Phil V's post |  #14

I had read that Fotodiox made a compatible speedring and posed the following question to them:

Do any of your softboxes attach to the Adorama Flashpoint 320M series of monolights?

Response:
All of our soft boxes can be used with those strobes as long as they come with this type of insert, Multiblitz Varilux:
http://www.amazon.com …s=fotodiox+vari​lux+insert (external link)


The one review at amazon said it didn't work :rolleyes:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
Avatar
3,585 posts
Gallery: 124 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 787
Joined Dec 2009
Location: 604
     
Aug 21, 2014 17:03 |  #15

I've got 2 of these lights and they're pretty good. I have Visico modifiers from this source on eBay.

OEC (external link)


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,757 views & 0 likes for this thread
What softbox or mount will fit my Flashpoint 3oow?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is CoolGuy5Million
1135 guests, 247 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.