Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 30 Sep 2014 (Tuesday) 15:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Reliable wireless shutter release for 6D?

 
philodelphi
Goldmember
Avatar
1,192 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 575
Joined May 2008
Location: King of Prussia PA USA
     
Sep 30, 2014 15:18 |  #1

I bought the Vello Freewave Plus from bhphoto
Link: http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ols/ci/17772/N/​4205057817 (external link)

It doesn't work with my 6D but works great with my 5DII. Has anyone else had a similar experience? Can anyone recommend a reliable one that works with the 6D?

Thanks...


Sony DSC-RX100M2 α7R III / ILCE-7RM3 Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 IV | Voigtlander 65mm F2 Macro APO-Lanthar | Venus Optics Laowa 15mm f/4 Macro | Sony FE 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA FE 24mm f/1.4 GM | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo EF 135mm f/2L USM EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Tokina Firin 20mm f/2 FE MF | Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 Di III RXD

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,445 posts
Likes: 894
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Sep 30, 2014 15:34 |  #2

Give this a look...http://www.amazon.com …-Compatible/dp/B00ANWQM​WK (external link).

I use a Satechi Wireless remote release with my 60D and it works great!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
philodelphi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,192 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 575
Joined May 2008
Location: King of Prussia PA USA
     
Sep 30, 2014 15:43 |  #3

That's pretty cool, didn't know something like this exists. I'm looking for more conventional remote control because a) the range is longer, and b) I can have the remote in my hand and press it without people even noticing, great for group shots.

This item is interesting: http://www.adorama.com​/CZDR3I1C3.html (external link)


Sony DSC-RX100M2 α7R III / ILCE-7RM3 Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 IV | Voigtlander 65mm F2 Macro APO-Lanthar | Venus Optics Laowa 15mm f/4 Macro | Sony FE 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA FE 24mm f/1.4 GM | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo EF 135mm f/2L USM EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Tokina Firin 20mm f/2 FE MF | Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 Di III RXD

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gossamer88
"something else"
Avatar
1,332 posts
Gallery: 78 photos
Likes: 1624
Joined Aug 2014
Location: NYC
     
Sep 30, 2014 15:45 |  #4

If you have a smartphone, there's an app for that.


5D Mark IV | 7D Mark II | 100-400mm IS II | Sigma 150-600mm C | 100mm 2.8 Macro
85mm 1.8 | 50mm 1.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | 20mm 2.8 | 10-22mm USM | iPhone X

flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,445 posts
Likes: 894
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Sep 30, 2014 16:27 |  #5

This model, is for the 6D and works by spec to 300 feet...http://www.satechi.net …y-compatible-with-rs-80n3 (external link). $23 from Satechi and I suspect Amazon.

This will work supposedly to 50 feet and incorporates intervalometer functions...http://www.satechi.net …y-compatible-with-rs-80n3 (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdmicha
Member
Avatar
72 posts
Joined May 2012
     
Sep 30, 2014 17:13 |  #6

I use a pair of YN-603ii transceivers as a remote. You'll have to get the right cable to attach to the shutter release, but both half and full shutter press works with them. As a bonus, you can still use them to wirelessly trigger your flashes.


Chris
6D/70D/E-M5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kiapolo
Senior Member
Avatar
870 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 92
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Honolulu, Hawai`i
     
Sep 30, 2014 20:06 |  #7

cdmicha wrote in post #17186665 (external link)
I use a pair of YN-603ii transceivers as a remote. You'll have to get the right cable to attach to the shutter release, but both half and full shutter press works with them. As a bonus, you can still use them to wirelessly trigger your flashes.

Same here. Works perfectly with my 6D.


| kiapolo.com (external link) (blog) | Gear List | Flickr (external link) | YouTube (external link) | 2012 Project 366 (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RileyNZL
Senior Member
Avatar
612 posts
Gallery: 121 photos
Likes: 167
Joined Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand - Dunedin
     
Sep 30, 2014 23:37 |  #8

Any android Phone :P More seriously, other than not the best battery life I found these good: http://www.hahnel.ie …dslrremotecontr​ols&pId=80 (external link)


Canon 1Dx |Canon 6D|Canon 24-70 F2.8 L MkII|Canon 16-35 F4 L|Sigma 70-200 F2.8 EX OS|Canon 400mm f5.6 L|Sigma 50mm F1.4|Canon 600EX's|Gitzo Explorer Tripod|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bcaps
I was a little buzzed when I took this
Avatar
882 posts
Gallery: 82 photos
Best ofs: 16
Likes: 2205
Joined Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 01, 2014 20:54 |  #9

philodelphi wrote in post #17186499 (external link)
I bought the Vello Freewave Plus from bhphoto
Link: http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ols/ci/17772/N/​4205057817 (external link)

It doesn't work with my 6D but works great with my 5DII. Has anyone else had a similar experience? Can anyone recommend a reliable one that works with the 6D?

Thanks...

The specs for that unit says it works with the 6D and the 5D2:

Compatible Cameras
Canon EOS: Elan series, Digital Rebel (300D), XT (350D), XTi (400D), XSi (450D), T1i (500D), T2i (550D), T3 (1100D), T3i (600D), T4i (650D), T5i (700D), SL1 (100D) and XS (1000D), 60D & 70D
10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 5D, 5D Mark II, 5D Mark III, 6D, 7D, 1D, 1D Mark II, 1D Mark II N, 1D Mark III, 1D Mark IV, 1Ds, 1Ds Mark II, 1Ds Mark III, 1D X and 1D C
PowerShot G10, G11, G12, G15, G16, G1 X & G1 X Mark II, SX50 HS


- Dave | flickr (external link)
Nikon D810
14-24mm f/2.8 | 16-35mm F/4 | 24-70mm f/2.8 | 70-200mm f/4 | Sigma 150-600mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
philodelphi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,192 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 575
Joined May 2008
Location: King of Prussia PA USA
     
Oct 01, 2014 21:38 |  #10

I know... I'm actually worried that something is wrong with my 6D, although it is perfect otherwise. The Yongnuo triggers mentioned on this thread also do not work.


Sony DSC-RX100M2 α7R III / ILCE-7RM3 Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 IV | Voigtlander 65mm F2 Macro APO-Lanthar | Venus Optics Laowa 15mm f/4 Macro | Sony FE 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA FE 24mm f/1.4 GM | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo EF 135mm f/2L USM EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Tokina Firin 20mm f/2 FE MF | Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 Di III RXD

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
16,139 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 6241
Joined Sep 2007
     
Oct 02, 2014 19:13 |  #11

sounds like your connectors have issue. I know my ancient 5Dc had a similar issue, I would have to connect very hard to make sure the connection was good.


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - SY 24/2.8 - FE 28/2 - FE 35/2.8 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 17-28/2.8 - 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ABTsolut
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Mexico
     
Oct 02, 2014 21:30 as a reply to  @ Charlie's post |  #12

RileyNZL wrote in post #17187297 (external link)
Any android Phone :P More seriously, other than not the best battery life I found these good: http://www.hahnel.ie …dslrremotecontr​ols&pId=80 (external link)

I have this one and doesnt work on my 6D wirelessly, but does wired.

Used it on my T3i and had no issues :(


EOS 6D * 17-40 F/4L * 70-200 F/4L * 50mm F/1.8II * Vintage Mirage 70-210 Macro

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
philodelphi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,192 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 575
Joined May 2008
Location: King of Prussia PA USA
     
Oct 05, 2014 07:27 |  #13

I ordered this: Satechi WTR-A Wireless Timer Remote Control Shutter
And it works great with my 6D, I don't understand why other remotes don't like the vello freewave and the yongnuo triggers.


Sony DSC-RX100M2 α7R III / ILCE-7RM3 Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 IV | Voigtlander 65mm F2 Macro APO-Lanthar | Venus Optics Laowa 15mm f/4 Macro | Sony FE 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA FE 24mm f/1.4 GM | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo EF 135mm f/2L USM EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Tokina Firin 20mm f/2 FE MF | Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 Di III RXD

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
C ­ Scott ­ IV
Goldmember
Avatar
2,705 posts
Gallery: 485 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 4207
Joined Feb 2011
Location: East Texas
     
Oct 05, 2014 10:13 |  #14

I had similar issues with remotes for my 7D. The contacts in the connectors did not go in deep enough to touch the pins on the camera. I tested the 7D by shorting the pins on the camera and that worked. The YongNuo MC-36R did work on the 7D.


Charles
www.CScott4.com (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Gear | Image Editing OK and critique welcome
"Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships." Ansel Adams

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
Avatar
3,585 posts
Gallery: 124 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 787
Joined Dec 2009
Location: 604
     
Oct 05, 2014 10:32 as a reply to  @ C Scott IV's post |  #15

I just ordered the Satechi for my 6D but they shipped the wrong one. Correct box but wrong connecter inside. Booo.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,512 views & 0 likes for this thread
Reliable wireless shutter release for 6D?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Cosmo19
858 guests, 220 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.