Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 03 Nov 2014 (Monday) 07:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Advice on used 1D mark III

 
Photo123abc
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 03, 2014 07:12 |  #1

Hi, Ive been searching for second body for some time now. I found 1DIII for sale at a reasonable price range (650 euros and 90k shutter clicks).

They question is, is it worth it and how can I make sure that its not one of the "built in AF problem" bodies? Is there a date on camera or serial number or something?


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
nellyle
Goldmember
Avatar
1,228 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
     
Nov 03, 2014 07:19 |  #2

Here you go
http://usa.canon.com …il&docId=0901e0​248004cd3d (external link)

Mine is in the affected range though and it's absolutely fine!


5D3, 7D2, 1D3, 40D, 14 f2.8 Samyang, 17-40 L, 28-80 L, 70-200 2.8ii L, 200 2.8ii L, 200-400 L, 1.4 ii,
http://chris-stamp.smugmug.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maxdave
Goldmember
Avatar
1,162 posts
Gallery: 49 photos
Likes: 101
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 03, 2014 07:40 as a reply to  @ nellyle's post |  #3

I bought mine about 2 years ago (February 2013) and it is in the affected range according to Canon.

The person I bought it from had papers from Canon CPS to prove it had been checked and serviced for the focusing issue. A new shutter had been installed in 2011 also, so the number of actuations was very low; it looks pristine.

Mine has exhibited zero focusing problems (no problems at all, in fact), and I love it. It is a perfect complement and backup to my 5D3. I use it when I anticipate bad weather, fast moving subjects or distant targets (the 1.3X crop factor is quite useful).

I think for the money, the 1D3 is the best bargain in the "used Canon bin", so to speak (the 50D may be another).

The only problem I will have, I figure, is convincing a possible buyer (if i resell it) that it is OK. But since the only way I would resell it is if I got a 1D4 or 1D X, I figure I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I paid $1300 shipped but that included an extra battery, 32 GB CF and SD cards, and a RRS L Bracket.

Maxdave


5D3,1D4,S90,6S&Moment Lenses,Hero4Silver,GPS​-E2,2x580EX,430EX,90EX,​EF16-35L f/4 IS,Samy SYTS24-C 24TS,EF24-105L IS,EF50 f/1.4,EF70-200 f/4L IS,EF300 f/4L IS,EF100-400L I IS,Kenko DGX 1.4X,Canon 2X TC Mk II, RRS&Pro-Media L-Brackets,Manfrotto MHXPRO-3WG & Roller 50,Sirui 306&K-20,Giottos MT-7371&MH-3300,Velbon ElCarmagne 530,CamRanger,Phottix&​Canon Remotes,Lowepro Backpack,ThinkTank Retro 20&Modular System,OpTech straps,Lexar/San Disk Cards

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
05Xrunner
Goldmember, Flipflopper.
Avatar
5,750 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 495
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh PA
     
Nov 03, 2014 07:50 |  #4

I have owned 3 all used and 2 were in the effected range and I never had one issue with the focus problem. My first one I owned before the fix was done and it never had an issue I sent it in for the fix just to have it updated but I never had an issue with one yet.


My gear
Fuji X-T2, Fuji 18-55 2.8-4 OIS, Fuji 35 f2, Fuji 50 f2, Fuji 90 f2, Fuji 55-200 3.5-4.8 OIS
Sony RX100 II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cristphoto
Senior Member
962 posts
Likes: 54
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
     
Nov 03, 2014 11:14 |  #5

If the serial number is above 546561 the AF system is fine. If not, the last I heard Canon was fixing the issue for free. I have one of the newer 1D3's and the focus system is fine. They are built like tanks and will give a good long life. Mine has banged off of doorways and church pews, and been soaked from waves while shooting sailboat races. Still works fine.


5D MKIV x2, 24L II, 35L II, 50L, 85LIS, 100LIS Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35LIS, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
blanex1
Senior Member
Avatar
790 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Nov 2012
     
Nov 03, 2014 11:53 |  #6

Maxdave wrote in post #17249264 (external link)
I bought mine about 2 years ago (February 2013) and it is in the affected range according to Canon.

The person I bought it from had papers from Canon CPS to prove it had been checked and serviced for the focusing issue. A new shutter had been installed in 2011 also, so the number of actuations was very low; it looks pristine.

Mine has exhibited zero focusing problems (no problems at all, in fact), and I love it. It is a perfect complement and backup to my 5D3. I use it when I anticipate bad weather, fast moving subjects or distant targets (the 1.3X crop factor is quite useful).

I think for the money, the 1D3 is the best bargain in the "used Canon bin", so to speak (the 50D may be another).

The only problem I will have, I figure, is convincing a possible buyer (if i resell it) that it is OK. But since the only way I would resell it is if I got a 1D4 or 1D X, I figure I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I paid $1300 shipped but that included an extra battery, 32 GB CF and SD cards, and a RRS L Bracket.

Maxdave

i got mine use'd and the 1st. owner had the auto focus problem fixed though CPS and had the paper's to prove it,but as i understand it not all 1d mk3's had this problem,check your SN # before buying .


canon 7d bg-e7 5d-mk3 1d-mk3 24-105-L 17-40 L 35/1.4 85/1.8 yougnuo 565 ex 580 ex and lots of other canon stuff.canon 70-200 2.8 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 03, 2014 12:02 as a reply to  @ cristphoto's post |  #7

Seller send me some photos of the camera, and its not affected based on serial number. Would this camera be good backup for my 6D? I know its not gonna beat it on hing ISO but based on tests Ive readed and sample images Ive seen I think 3200 is good to go wich is fine for me. After all I can always use my 6D when I run out of juice.

Maxdave, you have 5DIII wich is very similar to my 6D when it comes to noise. If I think 12 800 is the limit I want to use on 6D. What ISO would match that amount of noise on 1DIII?


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maxdave
Goldmember
Avatar
1,162 posts
Gallery: 49 photos
Likes: 101
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 03, 2014 17:01 |  #8

Photo123abc wrote in post #17249654 (external link)
Seller send me some photos of the camera, and its not affected based on serial number. Would this camera be good backup for my 6D? I know its not gonna beat it on hing ISO but based on tests Ive readed and sample images Ive seen I think 3200 is good to go wich is fine for me. After all I can always use my 6D when I run out of juice.

Maxdave, you have 5DIII wich is very similar to my 6D when it comes to noise. If I think 12 800 is the limit I want to use on 6D. What ISO would match that amount of noise on 1DIII?

I would say 3200 for sure ... the 5D3 is really amazing in that regard; one stop better than the 1D3, at least.

I shoot my 1D3 at ISO 3200 without worrying at all about noise (of course, I'd rather shoot it at 1600). I don't use it often higher than that; with the 5D3, I'd say 6400 is my standard highest ISO with higher ISOs only if really necessary.

My main problem with the 1D3 is the LCD screen. You know how you can be fooled by the screen that your image is sharp when it's not on many dSLRs? Well, on a 1D3 the reverse is true; the images turn out sharper on the computer than on the back screen. Takes some getting used to, and some trust, because it difficult to tell an image is sharp in the field without magnifying it, which takes extra time on any body.

A couple of other things; you don't want to have to crop heavily, so you need the long lenses if you want to reach out; and there's a lot of features, especially pertaining to focus and exposure to learn, so its not just figured out in a day!

The 1D3 is the most responsive camera I have ever used, which is to be expected as it is the only series 1 I have owned. The 5D3 is the best all around camera I have used, all things considered. But the 1D3 is no slouch, I'll tell you ...

Unless the replacement was a 1D4 or a 1D X, I wouldn't let it go ...

Maxdave


5D3,1D4,S90,6S&Moment Lenses,Hero4Silver,GPS​-E2,2x580EX,430EX,90EX,​EF16-35L f/4 IS,Samy SYTS24-C 24TS,EF24-105L IS,EF50 f/1.4,EF70-200 f/4L IS,EF300 f/4L IS,EF100-400L I IS,Kenko DGX 1.4X,Canon 2X TC Mk II, RRS&Pro-Media L-Brackets,Manfrotto MHXPRO-3WG & Roller 50,Sirui 306&K-20,Giottos MT-7371&MH-3300,Velbon ElCarmagne 530,CamRanger,Phottix&​Canon Remotes,Lowepro Backpack,ThinkTank Retro 20&Modular System,OpTech straps,Lexar/San Disk Cards

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maxdave
Goldmember
Avatar
1,162 posts
Gallery: 49 photos
Likes: 101
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 03, 2014 17:16 |  #9

cristphoto wrote in post #17249563 (external link)
If the serial number is above 546561 the AF system is fine. If not, the last I heard Canon was fixing the issue for free. I have one of the newer 1D3's and the focus system is fine. They are built like tanks and will give a good long life. Mine has banged off of doorways and church pews, and been soaked from waves while shooting sailboat races. Still works fine.

Regarding the possible focus issue: This was confirmed on this forum this past summer; guy picked up a 1D3 used and had it serviced for the focus issue, there was no charge.

Maxdave


5D3,1D4,S90,6S&Moment Lenses,Hero4Silver,GPS​-E2,2x580EX,430EX,90EX,​EF16-35L f/4 IS,Samy SYTS24-C 24TS,EF24-105L IS,EF50 f/1.4,EF70-200 f/4L IS,EF300 f/4L IS,EF100-400L I IS,Kenko DGX 1.4X,Canon 2X TC Mk II, RRS&Pro-Media L-Brackets,Manfrotto MHXPRO-3WG & Roller 50,Sirui 306&K-20,Giottos MT-7371&MH-3300,Velbon ElCarmagne 530,CamRanger,Phottix&​Canon Remotes,Lowepro Backpack,ThinkTank Retro 20&Modular System,OpTech straps,Lexar/San Disk Cards

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 04, 2014 01:39 as a reply to  @ Maxdave's post |  #10

Thanks Maxdave. I made a deal on it today for 600 euros, and cant wait to get it shipped! Only issue with the body is that CF card reader is toast because someone tried to putcard in there backwards. However it has SDHC slot aswell, and I only have SDHC's so not a problem for me. :)


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
Avatar
10,143 posts
Gallery: 144 photos
Likes: 2323
Joined Jan 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
Nov 04, 2014 01:53 |  #11

good stuff - the CF card assembly (CG2-1912-000) isn't all that expensive if you want to get it sorted, the labour is probably an hour to do...


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR, and now an M5
TF posting: here :-)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
7,495 posts
Gallery: 126 photos
Likes: 1282
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 04, 2014 02:00 |  #12

Canon is aware of the issues they have with the mirror assembly. My 1dmk3 was incredibly bad and when I sent it in they claimed they tweaked the body and fixed the issue. 2nd trip to Canon they finally replaced the known issue and the problem was solved.


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 85 mkII L | | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji - gone
Sony 2 x A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | GM16-35 f/2.8 | Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 | GM70-200 f/2.8 |Sigma Art 24 f/1.4 | Sigma ART 35 f/1.2 | FE85 f/1.8 | Sigma ART 105 f/1.4 | Godox V860iiS & V1S

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 04, 2014 02:34 |  #13

AlanU wrote in post #17251046 (external link)
Canon is aware of the issues they have with the mirror assembly. My 1dmk3 was incredibly bad and when I sent it in they claimed they tweaked the body and fixed the issue. 2nd trip to Canon they finally replaced the known issue and the problem was solved.

Yeah but serial number on the one I bought was 566 something, and the affected ones end in 54k range. CF slot is easy fix thankfully. Might do that when I need to replace shutter aswell, wich is still 200 000 clicks away if I am lucky. ;)


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Paulstw
Senior Member
827 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2012
     
Nov 04, 2014 03:06 |  #14

I had a 1D3 and moved to a 5D3 so here's what I found to be different and what to watch for.

1D3
Screen is awful. You'll read the same from many and wont believe it, but it's god awful
The buffer fills up pretty quick and takes a few seconds to clear.
UDMA7 cards are pointless is you get one speed and it was fast in 2007
1D3 is faster than a 5D3 at grabbing a shot, without a doubt.

5D3
Screen is gorgeous
It's slower than anything I've used and I just managed to get by in sports.
SD card slot is slow and writing RAW+JPG and jpg's going to the sd card is a pain.
Higher ISO capabilities sell this camera, ISO8000 the other night and it was great. (see below)

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR
Dumbarton vs Rangers (external link) by campsiephoto (external link), on Flickr

I'd love a 1D3 as a second body, but wouldn't replace my 5D3 for one.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 04, 2014 04:15 as a reply to  @ Paulstw's post |  #15

Totally agree that 5D3 is better when it comes to hing ISO. I have 6D wich has slightly better ISO performance and thats good enough for me. However what I do miss is the pro quality feel and better weather sealing. I shoot for local newspapers as a freelancer so I dont need hing mp at all. I need a camera that can take rough handling and poor conditions. 1Dx and 1DIV are out of my reach because I cant justify the price so thats why I bought 1D3.

Now just have to wait until the seller sends me it. Its gonna be 2 weeks anyways because I am out of town at the moment. :confused:


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,922 views & 0 likes for this thread
Advice on used 1D mark III
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gardenchefs
1247 guests, 346 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.