Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Sep 2014 (Monday) 11:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!

 
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,573 posts
Likes: 7766
Joined Oct 2009
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:17 |  #1126

Me too. Did this over a year ago and they are great when you have a lens hood on.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
exerda
Member
Avatar
245 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:31 as a reply to  @ digital paradise's post |  #1127

Happy dance for me! Mine came today from Amazon (finally!), along with the grip from Adorama. The AF performance is insane! The conditions weren't great in the yard, but I tried it out with the 500f4+2x, and it seemed to focus at least as fast as, if not faster than, the 500f4 + 1.4x on my 7D. Less hunting, too, it seemed.

Can't wait to take it out to SoCal this weekend for some serious birding.

Now I only need for Kirk to come out with a L bracket that fits the body + grip (for the times I'm not using it with the 500mm)...


Canon 6D; 7D mkII; EF 500mm f4L II; EF 24-105mm f4L; EF 300mm f4L IS; EF 16-35 f2.8L II; EF 24-70 f2.8L II; EF-S 10-22mm f3.5-4.5;1.4x TC III; 2x TC III Speedlite 580 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ksbal
Goldmember
Avatar
2,745 posts
Gallery: 374 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 2385
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.E. Kansas
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:40 |  #1128

Here is something other than a BIF:

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif'


Canon 7D mark II - 100mm L
1/200
f5.0
iso160

DPP 3.14 strait to tiff, then LR5

Godox/Flashpoint r2 system, plus some canon stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:41 |  #1129

Just think about this...if you had the 1200 you could put a 1.4 on it + the crop FOV factor....that would be like a 2688mm lens with AF.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,573 posts
Likes: 7766
Joined Oct 2009
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:47 |  #1130

ksbal wrote in post #17254175 (external link)
Here is something other than a BIF:

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif'


Canon 7D mark II - 100mm L
1/200
f5.0
iso160

DPP 3.14 strait to tiff, then LR5

No image attached


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,630 posts
Gallery: 1653 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 4545
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:48 |  #1131

Keyan wrote in post #17254179 (external link)
Just think about this...if you had the 1200 you could put a 1.4 on it + the crop FOV factor....that would be like a 2688mm lens with AF.

Well.. here's another food for thought...


Since the 7D has dual-pixel AF via live-view, you technically shouldn't worry about f/8. You could get the significantly more affordable (compared to the 1200/5.6) and slap a 2x and use Live View to AF and get 2560mm ;)

I guess the same argument would hold true, using a 1200 w/ a 2x and getting 3840mm o.O :lol:


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,868 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5761
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:49 |  #1132

Kickflipkid687 wrote in post #17253821 (external link)
How to reduce color noise in Photoshop/luminance noise.

https://www.youtube.co​m/watch?v=HFsJSL8ddSg (external link)

Way too much work... Once you have a single action that can be run on a file, you can bulk process hundreds of photos from a game or wedding reception, walk away, and come back, then pay special attention to just a handful oddball photos.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,868 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5761
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:55 |  #1133

airbutchie wrote in post #17253729 (external link)
Schweet GIF, TeamSpeed!!! Love the before and after comparison... I, too, did the same on DDP with moving all the sliders/editations to 0... Converted/Transferred TIFF format to ACR and did the editations there... Finalized the edit through CS6... No masking or layering done with my shot, either... Resized and smart sharpened to what I posted...

I'm glad you were able to do your analysis with my ISO 16k image... I think I have a few more at that level if you want to play around with it... Let me know, good sir...

:D

Certainly let me know if you have new raws added to the dropbox folder. Here is your version next to mine, mine is more noisy, but I have found that what I leave behind is a good mix that seems to disappear in a print, but leaves all the detail behind. If you would like, go look at noiseware community, it is a free version and gives you just enough to play with for a different way to remove noise. I use it in different doses on each color channel with my action. The 7D2 only requires running it twice, once on the green channel, and then once on the rgb channel after cleaning up other artifacts on the red, green, and blue channels using other PS actions.

It seems that the 7D2 is pretty close to the 7D at lower ISOs, but I am very familiar with ISO 12800 and higher on the 7D, it would seem to me that the 7D2 holds the noise together better at 12800+. This is very encouraging for me, as so far, I have been underwhelmed by just the ISO differences between the 7D2 and 7D to this point. 5 years later, I was hoping for something a bit better. However if 12800 and above can clean up better, that is good for me. 12800 required a very aggressive CG Denoiser action on the 7D, and took a while. I am not running the same level of aggressive steps here.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,364 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 510
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 05, 2014 14:57 |  #1134

Anyone know what speed of CF card is required? I just called a local shop and they claim 800x is fast enough. I'm wondering if 1066x is overkill.


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,483 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1521
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:01 |  #1135

Aressem wrote in post #17254221 (external link)
Anyone know what speed of CF card is required? I just called a local shop and they claim 800x is fast enough. I'm wondering if 1066x is overkill.

800x is probably fine; I'm running a 1000x, UDMA 7, in mine. In RAW that gives me a huge buffer range before it fills up and slows down (35-45 RAW) and, effectively unlimited jpeg burst shooting.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:05 |  #1136

Make sure it is UDMA7 - feed your Ferrari with premium fuel. I really don't like the XXXXx speed rating, give me the real MB/sec speed like SanDisk does.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Lover
Goldmember
Avatar
2,695 posts
Likes: 102
Joined Jan 2011
Location: WA
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:27 |  #1137

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17254218 (external link)
Certainly let me know if you have new raws added to the dropbox folder. Here is your version next to mine, mine is more noisy, but I have found that what I leave behind is a good mix that seems to disappear in a print, but leaves all the detail behind. If you would like, go look at noiseware community, it is a free version and gives you just enough to play with for a different way to remove noise. I use it in different doses on each color channel with my action. The 7D2 only requires running it twice, once on the green channel, and then once on the rgb channel after cleaning up other artifacts on the red, green, and blue channels using other PS actions.

It seems that the 7D2 is pretty close to the 7D at lower ISOs, but I am very familiar with ISO 12800 and higher on the 7D, it would seem to me that the 7D2 holds the noise together better at 12800+. This is very encouraging for me, as so far, I have been underwhelmed by just the ISO differences between the 7D2 and 7D to this point. 5 years later, I was hoping for something a bit better. However if 12800 and above can clean up better, that is good for me. 12800 required a very aggressive CG Denoiser action on the 7D, and took a while. I am not running the same level of aggressive steps here.

That looks pretty good! I agree about noise, it usually looks better than giving people helmet heads by nuking noise too much. The gal on the left looks like she has Lego hair. :lol:

Edited: for gender correction. ;)


My 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
airbutchie
Not too crunchy
Avatar
12,930 posts
Gallery: 302 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 5527
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Monrovia, CA
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:31 |  #1138

^ It's a girl photographer, actually, Canon_Lover... Hehehehe...

;)


Hi. My name is Butch...
Complete Gear List | Flickr Vault (external link) | Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,364 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 510
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:43 |  #1139

Keyan wrote in post #17254240 (external link)
Make sure it is UDMA7 - feed your Ferrari with premium fuel. I really don't like the XXXXx speed rating, give me the real MB/sec speed like SanDisk does.

Just got off the phone with Canon Canada. They claim I need a "class 10" card. :confused:
Is that faster or slower than UDMA 7? She basically said 600x should be enough, speaking in those terms... I wish Canon would just say flat out, exactly what's needed on the website.


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
someone0
Senior Member
436 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2014
     
Nov 05, 2014 15:48 |  #1140

Keyan wrote in post #17254240 (external link)
Make sure it is UDMA7 - feed your Ferrari with premium fuel. I really don't like the XXXXx speed rating, give me the real MB/sec speed like SanDisk does.

One more thing, do some research, if you see the deal, don't just take listed speed at face value. Most of the time speed shown is just a read speed. Take the product I'd and do a search at manufacturer site or other retailer. They may be specified what the write speed is for that product. Especially consumer vs pro grade. pro grade will usually let you know the write speed as well and generally more reliable.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,225,219 views & 95,133 likes for this thread
-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is TopoChico
873 guests, 285 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.