Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Nov 2014 (Thursday) 18:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Trouble with new 7d mark ii

 
Texas95
Member
Avatar
106 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
     
Nov 06, 2014 18:41 |  #1

Well got my new 7d markii in today and right out of the box it won't work. Trying to do a hard re-set, can't for the life of me figure out where the memory battery is, does anyone know?


Texas95
In the Bag: 5D MarkIV Gripped; Canon 1DX; 24-70 F4; 70-200 F2.8L IS II; 85 F1.2L; Sigma Art 50 F1.4; 35 F1.4L II; 16-35 2.8L II; Sigma 120-300 2.8; 40 2.8 pancake; 24 1.4L,

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Tom_D
Goldmember
Avatar
1,425 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 15
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Napa ~ on the edge of retirement.
     
Nov 06, 2014 18:59 |  #2

The 7D2 does not have a user serviceable battery, it is built into the camera.

Sorry to hear about the problems with the camera. Yours is the only issue I have heard of. I hope you get it resolved quickly.


Gallery (external link)
7DMkII, 40D, 17-55, 70-200 f/2.8 IS and more...
More Wag, Less Bark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2n10
Cream of the Crop
17,072 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 1173
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada, USA
     
Nov 06, 2014 19:03 |  #3

Sorry to hear of your problem. I would contact Canon or return it to the vendor you purchased it from.


John
Equipment
My Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,633 posts
Gallery: 1654 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 4567
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Nov 06, 2014 19:54 |  #4

Call up the vendor and get an exchange.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,494 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1530
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 06, 2014 20:02 |  #5

"Right out of the box", but after you've let the battery charge overnight?


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Texas95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
106 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
     
Nov 06, 2014 20:11 as a reply to  @ Snydremark's post |  #6

I have a 5d MArkIII so I have plenty of batteries to test it with.... The shutter doesn't work. It just says busy... I was hoping a hard re-set would work but I have done that and if there isn't a memory battery I guess there isn't anything else I can try.. :-( Pretty bummed, I have a football game tomorrow and really wanted to try it out! It will for sure be headed back to where it came from!


Texas95
In the Bag: 5D MarkIV Gripped; Canon 1DX; 24-70 F4; 70-200 F2.8L IS II; 85 F1.2L; Sigma Art 50 F1.4; 35 F1.4L II; 16-35 2.8L II; Sigma 120-300 2.8; 40 2.8 pancake; 24 1.4L,

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 06, 2014 20:35 |  #7

Did you try it with no memory card?


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marklori43
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Winfield, IL
     
Nov 07, 2014 07:19 as a reply to  @ Keyan's post |  #8

Built in system battery? That sucks, another way for you to have to send something in to get repaired. Everyone looking for a way to generate more revenue.

Don't get me wrong I do love my Canon gear.


Nature Sniper
Canon 7D, Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 100-400mm 4.5-5.6 L IS USM, Canon EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro, Canon EF-S 18-55mm, Canon EF 28mm 1.8 USM, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Kenko DG Extension Tubes, Manfrotto 055XPROB with 498RC2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 07, 2014 07:34 as a reply to  @ marklori43's post |  #9

What do you mean by not working? You did put fully charged battery to it and turned the power on, and nothing happens?
Is the red light blinking when you start it up? If so press info to turn lcd on.

However I assume youre doing it right, if it doesnt work return it and get a new one.


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,349 posts
Likes: 2358
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Nov 07, 2014 07:38 |  #10

A new camera does not need a fully charged battery to work. Clearly it can't be completely empty, but Canon ships theirs about 1/2 charged.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 07, 2014 07:46 |  #11

marklori43 wrote in post #17257385 (external link)
Built in system battery? That sucks, another way for you to have to send something in to get repaired. Everyone looking for a way to generate more revenue.

Don't get me wrong I do love my Canon gear.

I think it's more like a slow discharge capacitor that sips a little charge from the main battery when you put one in that just maintains the system clock - the settings I believe are all stored on non-volatile memory so they don't need power to be maintained.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joedlh
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 457
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Long Island, NY, N. America, Sol III, Orion Spur, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Cluster, Laniakea.
     
Nov 07, 2014 07:59 as a reply to  @ Keyan's post |  #12

How does it keep track of the time without power?


Joe
Gear: Kodak Instamatic, Polaroid Swinger. Oh you meant gear now. :rolleyes:
http://photo.joedlh.ne​t (external link)
Editing ok

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,326 posts
Likes: 862
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Nov 07, 2014 09:04 |  #13

joedlh wrote in post #17257448 (external link)
How does it keep track of the time without power?

It doesn't if you remove the main battery and wait long enough. But I've had the battery out of my 60D for a month and the time was still good. There is a small circuit that derives power from the main battery but stores power as well.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tmalone893
Goldmember
Avatar
2,018 posts
Gallery: 54 photos
Likes: 716
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
     
Nov 07, 2014 09:06 |  #14

Texas95 wrote in post #17256713 (external link)
I have a 5d MArkIII so I have plenty of batteries to test it with.... The shutter doesn't work. It just says busy... I was hoping a hard re-set would work but I have done that and if there isn't a memory battery I guess there isn't anything else I can try.. :-( Pretty bummed, I have a football game tomorrow and really wanted to try it out! It will for sure be headed back to where it came from!

I know you can use the 7DII battery in the 5DIII but I didn't think it could work the other way? Your not trying to use a 5DIII battery are you.


Name: Theron
MaxPreps Profile (external link)
My Gear

flickr (external link)
https://www.instagram.​com/theronmalone/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 07, 2014 09:14 |  #15

tmalone893 wrote in post #17257578 (external link)
I know you can use the 7DII battery in the 5DIII but I didn't think it could work the other way? Your not trying to use a 5DIII battery are you.

It works both ways. The batteries are identical except for a higher capacity on the "N" version. I've used the battery pack from my 70D with no problems in the 7D2.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,940 views & 0 likes for this thread
Trouble with new 7d mark ii
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Parashooter
950 guests, 335 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.