Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 05 Jun 2010 (Saturday) 04:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

STICKY: 5D2 video - why choppy editor preview

 
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
14,736 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 128
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Jun 05, 2010 20:56 |  #16

bpaulette wrote in post #10309582 (external link)
We REAAAALLLLY need to make a sticky post in this forum that very clearly tells people not to expect smooth playback of native files on their computer (I know this is touched on in one of them, but this needs to be in the thread title, so they'll read it). This is the most common thread topic that appears on this forum

The sum up: Everybody has totally crappy playback of native files, they're a nightmare to work with in anything but CS5, yada yada yada.

I convert with Neoscene before attempting any editing. Will attest to its goodness.

Don't mean to sound snarky, just so many threads on the same... thing... over... and over.



Write it up, add some links, format it nicely, post it as a new thread, then report it asking for it be made a sticky :)

A mod will see it, and, its it up to standard sticky it for you :cool::cool:


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
17,565 posts
Gallery: 35 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1332
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Jun 06, 2010 06:07 |  #17

Meanwhile, I stickied this thread and changed the subject line.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KevinA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
124 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 12
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Surrey
     
Jun 08, 2010 16:07 as a reply to  @ Pekka's post |  #18

...and all I did was ask a question!

Thanks guys this is all really useful.


5D Mk3 | Canon 85mm 1.2 ll L | Canon 100mm 2.8 L Macro IS | Canon 135mm 2.0 L | 4 X EX600 RT Speedlites | ST E3 RT Transmitter PLUS... Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-Pro 2, 10-24mm 14mm, 23mm 35mm, 56mm 90mm, 50-140mm & 100-400mm lens... and a selection of Pocketwizard flash triggers
www.ahronson.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosByT
Member
222 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Jun 25, 2010 23:09 |  #19

Oh darn.. good to know I'm not the only one with this problem.. I guess I can now justify upgrading my puter! ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KevinA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
124 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 12
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Surrey
     
Jun 27, 2010 06:09 as a reply to  @ PhotosByT's post |  #20

Problem completely solved

I have upgraded to CS5. Everything runs like a dream.

Woohoo!


5D Mk3 | Canon 85mm 1.2 ll L | Canon 100mm 2.8 L Macro IS | Canon 135mm 2.0 L | 4 X EX600 RT Speedlites | ST E3 RT Transmitter PLUS... Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-Pro 2, 10-24mm 14mm, 23mm 35mm, 56mm 90mm, 50-140mm & 100-400mm lens... and a selection of Pocketwizard flash triggers
www.ahronson.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bjmin
Member
95 posts
Joined Apr 2010
     
Jul 18, 2010 03:07 as a reply to  @ KevinA's post |  #21

Is it necessary to run in x64?
Might have to upgrade the computer again. I believe there is also a Moore's law associated with upgrades fro video processing




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pfpeter
Member
Avatar
134 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Denmark
     
Jul 18, 2010 15:30 |  #22

bjmin wrote in post #10556869 (external link)
Is it necessary to run in x64?
Might have to upgrade the computer again. I believe there is also a Moore's law associated with upgrades fro video processing

Adobes Premiere Pro is a 64-bit only application.


Kind regards
Peter
Pictures on Flickrexternal link. | Gear List - "Noobs worry about Megapixels, Hobby-users worry about gear, Pro's worry about light"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EyeNorth
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Aug 04, 2010 14:50 as a reply to  @ post 10309582 |  #23

Like said above, H.264 is a delivery codec and has a highly compressed colour space. By using the Cineform codec and transcoding via Neoscene, it interpolates to a better color space for color grading and post-work. It costs money though.

The Avid DNxHD codec mentioned above is free and ok, but degrades more than cineform over multiple renders (though I won't dare to think about the degradation over multiple renders with H.264). Another visually lossless codec that visually keeps up with cineform is Lagarith (external link). It is however slower in encoding and playback, so don't expect 30 fps in 1080p with fx applied.

Another free possibility is the grand old Huffyyuv codec, though count on big files in that case.

Cineform might be worth the money though - really fast and retains quality over multiple renders well. Some years ago I used to be able to edit several streams of HDV (1440x1080) video using cineform on the timeline with an old single core 2.1 Ghz box with a crappy graphics card. Playback was smooth. But, just loading one of the mpeg2 encoded hdv streams from the camera onto the timeline, would choke everything completely up. H.264 is much harder on the CPU than mpeg2.


EyeNorth.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Terjay
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Ylöjärvi, Finland
     
Aug 04, 2010 16:44 |  #24

Cineform Neoscene completely messed up anything I tried to put through it. The AVI files were full of sound and video glitches and the MOV variant wanted to render a 30 second clip for four hours.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EyeNorth
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Aug 13, 2010 06:13 as a reply to  @ post 10309582 |  #25

Cineform Neoscene is a good option for transcoding with fast render times, smooth playback and high quality retention over multiple renders - costs $99 though. Another option that is free and nearly as fast is the Matrox I-frame HD codec (external link). It only goes on a PC-platform though. The Avid codec is also good and free, but slower than both above.

One other option is the Lagarith (external link) codec. This one is no porsche in playback or rendering, but it outperforms the others in quality retention over multiple renders and the file size compression is quite good, so you save some space. From my experience it's also less buggy in NLE environments than cineform and Matrox.


EyeNorth.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mäger
Member
Avatar
173 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
Aug 17, 2010 14:48 |  #26

pfpeter wrote in post #10559238 (external link)
Adobes Premiere Pro is a 64-bit only application.

and it only works on the god damn idiotic windows 7. does not work on xp x64 :s

what do you do with the video after exporting it with lagarith codec though?


-.-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jeffmurray
Senior Member
Avatar
392 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 5
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
     
May 25, 2011 06:56 |  #27

Anyone using Avid Media composer. I recently upgraded to version 5.5 on Windows 7 64 bit. I let the PC upgrade to Service Pack One (Note: not supported for MC5) and let it update to the latest driver for the NVidia Quadro series (also not supported).

My playback of linked AMA native 5D files is really good now. Still can't use the full resolution so setting quality to low - but I can edit the selections with playback at real time, which really speeds the workflow.

Thought - I would share my experiences based on one project edited this way. I did get some errors - mainly ones I have had since going to later versions ie: from 5.01 to 5.03 and higher to the later point versions. After 5.01 I have always had an error with rendering some dissolves - a reboot fixes these.

I am sure there might be other errors - but I have a back up of my system prior to SP1 and can roll. My 2c worth on playing native files.


With kind regards
Jeff
www.jeffmurrayimaging.​com (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om …ayimaging/31731​2484981413 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wasabean
Senior Member
388 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Southern California - Los Angeles
     
Dec 06, 2011 15:21 |  #28

you probably need to render the clip before trying to preview it. you'll see either a red, yellow, or green line in the timeline. green means its rendered and it'll preview smoothly, yellow means it might need to be rendered and might/might not preview smoothly, red means it needs to be rendered in order for preview to be smooth. you can initiate a render simply by hitting the "enter" key on the keyboard.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jul 15, 2014 20:31 as a reply to  @ wasabean's post |  #29

Try converting from H.264 codec to XVID.


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
turnerdaniel
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2014
     
Nov 08, 2014 04:50 as a reply to  @ post 10309582 |  #30

nice reviews. thanks for sharing




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

42,957 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D2 video - why choppy editor preview
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is macui
478 guests, 371 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.