Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Nov 2014 (Saturday) 13:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Manual exposure adjustment?

 
iowajim
Senior Member
Avatar
518 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2011
Location: North Central Iowa
     
Nov 08, 2014 13:46 |  #1

Might seem like an oxymoron, but is it possible to force a lighter exposure on the auto iso when shooting in manual mode?

So I'm shooting in a darker room with my new 70-200. I know I can slow the shutter speed beyond what the camera automatically selects in Av mode because of the VC/IS.

In Tv mode the camera is choosing an aperture of 3.2 rather than 2.8. That is better than Av mode, where the camera is choosing 1/160 or so.

In manual mode I can choose 2.8 and 1/60, but I can't seem to force the auto iso to ETTR. I could manually select the iso setting, but I don't have time for that, and it changes a lot depending on where I'm facing.

I ended up selecting Tv with 1/60 and ate the 1/3 stop loss in aperture, rather than the 2+ stop loss in Av mode, and I was able to ETTR.

Is there a way to get this done in manual mode?


Jim, in Iowa
80D / T2i / Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 / Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 / Canon 24-105 f4 / Tamron SP VC 70-200mm f2.8 / Sigma 150-600mm C

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,115 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Nov 08, 2014 13:49 |  #2

Only with the 1DX and 7D Mark II so far.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,242 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1569
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Nov 08, 2014 13:51 |  #3

Not with your cameras. Only the 1DX and the new 7D2 have that capability. Sorry.:(


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
Nov 08, 2014 13:59 |  #4

No. Only 7DII can do that and I think 1Dx aswell? I am not sure about 1Dx.

Anyways, Ive used a workaround to put camera on AV mode and set min. shutterspeed to desired and then use auto ISO. You have EC and camera keeps the shutterspeed hing enough to freeze the motion. This obviously doesnt work for all kinds of photographers for all kinds of scenarios but its better than nothing.


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iowajim
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
518 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2011
Location: North Central Iowa
     
Nov 08, 2014 18:04 |  #5

Looks like that's as good as it gets until my next upgrade, LOL.


Jim, in Iowa
80D / T2i / Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 / Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 / Canon 24-105 f4 / Tamron SP VC 70-200mm f2.8 / Sigma 150-600mm C

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
maverick75
Cream of the Crop
5,707 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 614
Joined May 2012
Location: Riverside,California
     
Nov 08, 2014 18:35 |  #6

if you have magic lantern you can use ETTR in any mode.


- Alex Corona Sony A7, Canon 7DM2/EOS M, Mamiya 645/67
Flickr (external link) - 500px (external link) - Website (external link)- Feedback -Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iowajim
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
518 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2011
Location: North Central Iowa
     
Nov 09, 2014 07:38 |  #7

Might have to look into that. :cool:


Jim, in Iowa
80D / T2i / Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 / Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 / Canon 24-105 f4 / Tamron SP VC 70-200mm f2.8 / Sigma 150-600mm C

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Nov 09, 2014 08:57 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

I work around that by selecting shutter speed and aperture, then see what auto ISO gives me. Then I lock in that ISO value and work from there. Not a real good idea in highly variable light, though.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,908 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2616
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 09, 2014 09:40 |  #9

Such is the flaw of Canon's implementation of 'automatically set ISO', which is inferior to the Pentax method of a third mode TAv ...all of which can still be used with the EC control.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,622 posts
Likes: 352
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Nov 09, 2014 10:13 |  #10

My problem with Auto ISO on the 5D3 in Av mode is that I can't set the shutter speed limit higher than 1/250 s, which is just a bit slow when I shoot children with the 135L.

I mitigate that restriction by setting the Auto ISO' lower limit to 400, so that in good light now at least I get above 1/250 s sooner. For what I shoot, giving up ISO 200 and 100 on the 5D3 is no real sacrifice, while the number of keepers has increased.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonVsNikon
Senior Member
255 posts
Joined Jan 2013
     
Nov 09, 2014 11:03 |  #11
bannedPermanent ban

Doesn't help you but Nikons have had this ability for years.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Nov 09, 2014 11:43 |  #12
bannedPermanent ban

agedbriar wrote in post #17260997 (external link)
My problem with Auto ISO on the 5D3 in Av mode is that I can't set the shutter speed limit higher than 1/250 s, which is just a bit slow when I shoot children with the 135L.

I mitigate that restriction by setting the Auto ISO' lower limit to 400, so that in good light now at least I get above 1/250 s sooner. For what I shoot, giving up ISO 200 and 100 on the 5D3 is no real sacrifice, while the number of keepers has increased.

That is a great idea! Simple, too. Gotta try that one.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iowajim
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
518 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2011
Location: North Central Iowa
     
Nov 09, 2014 12:43 |  #13

No Magic Lantern for the 70D, unless I'm missing something.


Jim, in Iowa
80D / T2i / Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 / Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 / Canon 24-105 f4 / Tamron SP VC 70-200mm f2.8 / Sigma 150-600mm C

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,908 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2616
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 09, 2014 15:46 |  #14

agedbriar wrote in post #17260997 (external link)
My problem with Auto ISO on the 5D3 in Av mode is that I can't set the shutter speed limit higher than 1/250 s, which is just a bit slow when I shoot children with the 135L.

I mitigate that restriction by setting the Auto ISO' lower limit to 400, so that in good light now at least I get above 1/250 s sooner. For what I shoot, giving up ISO 200 and 100 on the 5D3 is no real sacrifice, while the number of keepers has increased.

Is your flash mounted and turned on??? Camera is simply not letting you violate the 1/250 X-sync max speed for shooting with the speedlight!...unless you have HSS active on the flash unit, then the camera lets you go to faster speeds.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,622 posts
Likes: 352
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Nov 09, 2014 16:28 |  #15

Wilt wrote in post #17261535 (external link)
Is your flash mounted and turned on??? Camera is simply not letting you violate the 1/250 X-sync max speed for shooting with the speedlight!...unless you have HSS active on the flash unit, then the camera lets you go to faster speeds.

No, that's without flash.

On the 5D3 the SS values that you can set as the imposed minimum SS when shooting Av with Auto ISO, don't go higher than 1/250 s.

This is what I am talking about:
.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,155 views & 0 likes for this thread
Manual exposure adjustment?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Willday
1034 guests, 323 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.