Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Sep 2014 (Monday) 11:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!

 
oscardog
Senior Member
356 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 25
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Long Beach, Ca
     
Nov 10, 2014 15:09 |  #1486

Thanks for the heads up guys. I kept refreshing my order page and it went from pending to ready and now says packed. I got an email saying it should ship today. Im hoping it comes really soon although im all the way on the west coast.


Gear: 6D, 7d Mark II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8, Canon 16-35 f4 IS, Sigma 24mm 1.8, Canon 70-200 f4 (non IS), Sigma 500 4.5 DG, Kenko 1.4x & 2x converters

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
38,896 posts
Gallery: 115 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7395
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Nov 10, 2014 15:16 |  #1487

So for those hawk shots, I suspect the lack of fine detail using the 7D2 in great lighting, very fast shutter speeds, and good glass is due to the teleconverter on the 500mm? At 100%, I was hoping for a bit more feather detail, beak detail, etc, but then saw that these were at 700mm, thus the TC might be the culprit?

I really like 0i6a1135ssfbaapotn, that is a great bird pose!


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
3,733 posts
Likes: 737
Joined Jan 2010
     
Nov 10, 2014 15:37 |  #1488

Kickflipkid687 wrote in post #17262745 (external link)
Maybe not the BEST way to check. I really should use the setup that clearly shows front/back focusing better.

http://photographylife​.com …dslr-for-autofocus-issues (external link)


I did another test quick this morning, with the Tamron. Same lighting, slightly further away, and a different subject (barcode label). The lens focused perfectly in 10-15 shots, and I actually had to remove the micro adjustment..... So I need to keep checking. I'm positive I was outside of the minimum focusing distance before. By at least 3-4 ft.

" The chart should take about 1/3-1/4 the size of the entire image, as shown below"

This was the case for my 70-200. Not for the Tamron at 600mm though.


But as I said yesterday. Both lenses were randomly missing focus but alot. Or screwing up. Also my 70-200 was twitching back and forth in One Shot.
They both "seem" to work fine now.

The real test will be this weekend probably, if I can get out and do more wildlife shooting.

I suspect that new products tend to have chemical residues or oxidations on electrical contacts that work themselves out over a short period of time. Every problem I've had with my new 7D2 just kind of worked itself out over a couple of days of use. When I first got my 5D2 and 7D, the LP-E6 batteries seemed to have almost no capacity, and it turned out that the battery contacts were simply in need of a little cleaning, and it never happened again as the batteries got older - only new batteries have given me this problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chiefy
Goldmember
Avatar
2,450 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 230
Joined Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 10, 2014 15:46 |  #1489

Picked my 7D2 up today. For those in Canada, Henry's is giving an enhanced trade-in for the 7D until the end of November. I paid $1,800 for the 7D four years ago and today I received $540 as a trade in. I paid less than $1,400 (plus tax). I was on the fence the but trade was too good to pass up.


1DX Mark II/EOS R5- 16-35L f4 IS - 135L - 24-70L f2.8 IS II - 70-200L f2.8 IS II- 100-400 IIL IS - 100 Macro f2.8L IS - 85mm 1.4 IS L - Σ 35 1.4 Art - Σ 50 1.4 Art - Σ 70 Macro - TC 1.4 II - EF 12/25 II - Profoto A1 - Manfrotto 055CXPRO3/Really Right Stuff BH55
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
James ­ P
Goldmember
Avatar
1,909 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 224
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 10, 2014 15:48 |  #1490

Chiefy wrote in post #17263519 (external link)
Picked my 7D2 up today. For those in Canada, Henry's is giving an enhanced trade-in for the 7D until the end of November. I paid $1,800 for the 7D four years ago and today I received $540 as a trade in. I paid less than $1,400 (plus tax). I was on the fence the but trade was too good to pass up.

Thanks for the heads up on this. I'll check it out.


1Dx - 5DIII - 40D - Canon 24-70LII, 100L macro, 135L, 16-35L, 70-200 f4 and 100-400L lenses

- "Very good" is the enemy of "great." Sometimes we confuse the two.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kesterc
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:08 |  #1491

500L + 1.4 TC
...Extra sharpening on the head and bill as they were a bit soft due to the focus point landing towards the wing. I like the fanned tail. :)

IMAGE: https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3950/15140807823_a42222259b_c.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/p4WA​EK  (external link)
Glittering-throated Emerald (Amazilia fimbriata) (external link)


flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abacus022
Goldmember
Avatar
1,465 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:10 |  #1492

OK, I have a stupid question. This is from someone who has never had a camera that could wirelessly operate an external flash, without use of triggers and receivers.

I am trying to set up my 430exii flashes, using the operators manual of the camera, and am doing something wrong as it doesn't seem to connect. I have set up the flash itself fine, it appears, as the red light flashes when its turned on. But I am having problems with the cameras menu.

Any thoughts or suggestions? One thing I notice, is if I don't have the external flash actually mounted on the hotshoe I cannot access the correct parts of the cameras menu.


Canon EOS R, 7D mkII, 6D
Lenses: Tamron 28-300, Tamron 18-270, Sigma 150-500, Canon 50, Sigma 28, Sigma 2X TC
www.photographyByAbacu​s.com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/abacus22 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ruhikant
Senior Member
564 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 735
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:13 |  #1493

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17263477 (external link)
So for those hawk shots, I suspect the lack of fine detail using the 7D2 in great lighting, very fast shutter speeds, and good glass is due to the teleconverter on the 500mm? At 100%, I was hoping for a bit more feather detail, beak detail, etc, but then saw that these were at 700mm, thus the TC might be the culprit?

I really like 0i6a1135ssfbaapotn, that is a great bird pose!

Teamspeed,
It could be due to many reasons such as focus was little off at the head area( or lack of enough DOF) , maybe ISO 800 is not so great, maybe with TC more stopped down will be desirable and handheld image will not be as sharp as tripod mounted shot (even with high shutter speed and we are talking about close to 1000mm effective ). Maybe my long lens tech needs to be improved too.


1Dx, 5DsR, 7D2, Ef 500/4 II IS, Ef70-200/2.8 IS II , 24-70/2.8L, 16-35/2.8L and others ( http://ruhikant.smugmu​g.com/ (external link)).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
19,066 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 3379
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:32 |  #1494

abacus022 wrote in post #17263562 (external link)
... One thing I notice, is if I don't have the external flash actually mounted on the hotshoe I cannot access the correct parts of the cameras menu.

You have to have the Master flash mounted on the camera. What is the setup you're trying to create, precisely?


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abacus022
Goldmember
Avatar
1,465 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:35 |  #1495

My impression, reading the manual, is that the internal flash serves as the master and controls the externals.

Am I incorrect on this?


Canon EOS R, 7D mkII, 6D
Lenses: Tamron 28-300, Tamron 18-270, Sigma 150-500, Canon 50, Sigma 28, Sigma 2X TC
www.photographyByAbacu​s.com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/abacus22 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abacus022
Goldmember
Avatar
1,465 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:39 |  #1496

Pg 272 says

"The cameras built-in flash can works as a master unit for Canon EX-series, external speedlights having a wireless slave feature."


Canon EOS R, 7D mkII, 6D
Lenses: Tamron 28-300, Tamron 18-270, Sigma 150-500, Canon 50, Sigma 28, Sigma 2X TC
www.photographyByAbacu​s.com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/abacus22 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gaarryy
Goldmember
Avatar
1,191 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 21
Joined Sep 2010
Location: The Colony-- texas
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:48 |  #1497

airbutchie wrote in post #17262953 (external link)
Multicolored Miracle...

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/pJ3Q​bt  (external link) Multicolored Miracle... (external link) by airbutchie (external link), on Flickr

Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens here in SoCal... 7D2 + 200 1.8L + 48mm Drop-in CPL... ISO 100, f/1.8 @ 1/2500sec...

;)

Nice.
But I believe I could give you a broken disposable camera and you would still get a great shot. :)


---------------Camera, Lens, Flash stuff.. but still wanting more

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
19,066 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 3379
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:56 |  #1498

abacus022 wrote in post #17263629 (external link)
Pg 272 says

"The cameras built-in flash can works as a master unit for Canon EX-series, external speedlights having a wireless slave feature."

It does; but, then you shouldn't need any, additional menus on the slave units other than setting them to be slaves. That's why I was asking what the overall setup you're trying to create is; you haven't given us enough information to know where to start looking for the issue yet.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charles ­ Roy
Goldmember
Avatar
2,389 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 76
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Ste-Anne des Monts,Qc. Canada
     
Nov 10, 2014 16:59 |  #1499

Gaarryy wrote in post #17263650 (external link)
Nice.
But I believe I could give you a broken disposable camera and you would still get a great shot. :)

Lol! Indeed


https://www.charlesroy​.photos (external link)
D800|D800E|D3s
Nikkor ais 28mm 2.8|Nikkor ais 50mm 2.0|Nikkor ais 135mm 2.8|Nikkor ais 400mm 3.5|Nikkor AF 28-105mm|Nikkor AFS 80-200mm 2.8|Nikkor AF 300mm 4.0|Nikkor AF 300mm 2.8|Sigma 150mm Macro 2.8|2 X Tamron AF pro TC 1.4X

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abacus022
Goldmember
Avatar
1,465 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
     
Nov 10, 2014 17:07 |  #1500

I have set up the speedlights as slave, and on channel 1. Which initiates a red blinking light on the front infrared sensor.

I'm talking abut menus on the camera itself, not the external flashes. What I am trying to do, that I've always had to use 3rd party transmitters on the hotshoe and recievers attached to the flashes for, is to have 2 or 3 external speedlights and softboxes setup, and be able to fire them from my camera without the 3rd party transmitter.

If that makes any sense.


Canon EOS R, 7D mkII, 6D
Lenses: Tamron 28-300, Tamron 18-270, Sigma 150-500, Canon 50, Sigma 28, Sigma 2X TC
www.photographyByAbacu​s.com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/abacus22 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,258,435 views & 101,082 likes for this thread
-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is colinalan
695 guests, 294 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.