Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Sep 2014 (Monday) 11:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!

 
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 77
Joined Mar 2011
     
Nov 11, 2014 14:58 |  #1606

I don't think I have seen a sample with that lens yet. That would be a very interesting lens to try against this AF system.


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Apricane
Senior Member
Avatar
933 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 569
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Canada's Federal Capital
     
Nov 11, 2014 15:49 |  #1607

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17265605 (external link)
The 7D2 AF system is complicated enough that anybody not coming from a 5D3 or 1D series should take some time going through the manual and Canon documentation online. The AF system has many different settings and configurations across what, something like 3 or 4 AF menus? One improper setting somewhere for what you are shooting can cause issues.

Not that there isn't a problem, but this always happens that folks don't completely grasp an AF system such as this, coupled with lens behavior and AFMA, and the first conclusion is that there is a bonafide issue. There are enough professionals that have tried out the 7D2 to have no issues, but they also all have 1D series, or the 5D3.

I don't think that's the issue. I've had problems getting a sharp shot of inanimate objects and of people standing still.

I've managed to get in-focus shots, but they're far outnumbered by OOF ones, even using my 70-300L. I have a lot of trouble getting a sharp shot with my 15-85 as well.

I've only had two days to shoot with the camera (due to bad weather), so that might be it, but I'm already thinking that I may need to send it to Canon.


Apricane Instagram (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link)
6D | 77D | T2i | TT685C & 430EX II & 270EX II
15-85 | ∑24-105A | 55-250 STM | 70-300L
24 STM | 35 f/2 IS | 40 STM | 100L
M2 | 22 | 18-55 | Adapter

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,364 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 509
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 11, 2014 15:50 |  #1608

TMaG82 wrote in post #17265640 (external link)
Any of you 7DM2 owners also happen to also have the Sigma 18-35 1.8? Thinking of getting the M2 and one of the lenses that I'm thinking of is the Sigma since I do a ton of shooting with a 35/50 prime, the 18-35 gives an equivalent in that range. Thanks!

I do. It's wonderful.

...once it's calibrated with the dock.

It was calibrated with my 7D but I had a hell of a time trying to do it with the 7D II so I actually rented the 16-35 II for the MMA shots on the previous couple pages. Otherwise the 18-35 would've been my go to lens without a doubt. I'm sending it off to Gentec along with my 35 Art and 7D II and letting the pros calibrate it for free. I don't have the time nor the patience anymore.

What I will say though, is that when it was setup correctly with my 7D Classic, it blew my mind. Worth every penny, no doubt. Just make sure you're capable of calibrating it or you'll be quite disappointed.


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
alann
Goldmember
2,609 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Nov 2007
Location: South Carolina
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:16 |  #1609

Darn you people! Been looking at this thread for a while and finally gave up the ghost. Ordered a 7DII, 17-55, and pre ordered the new 100-400. Should have the body tomorrow thanks to free next day from Adorama. :)


My FLickrPage (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2n10
Cream of the Crop
17,063 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 1146
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada, USA
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:20 |  #1610

Congrats alann. I am working on saving for the new 100-400. You will enjoy the 7D2 and 17-55.


John
Equipment
My Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KatManDEW
Senior Member
Avatar
659 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 341
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:22 |  #1611

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17265605 (external link)
The 7D2 AF system is complicated enough that anybody not coming from a 5D3 or 1D series should take some time going through the manual and Canon documentation online. The AF system has many different settings and configurations across what, something like 3 or 4 AF menus? One improper setting somewhere for what you are shooting can cause issues.

Not that there isn't a problem, but this always happens that folks don't completely grasp an AF system such as this, coupled with lens behavior and AFMA, and the first conclusion is that there is a bonafide issue. There are enough professionals that have tried out the 7D2 to have no issues, but they also all have 1D series, or the 5D3.

It's not all that much different from a user standpoint than the 5D3. On the other hand, the original 7D was significantly different than the T2i and 60D that I was using before I got my 7D. And the 5D3 is significantly different than the 7D. But I took both my 7D and 5D3 out of the box and came home thrilled with the results the very first day I used them. So I don't think I should have experienced the dismal results that I got from my 7D2 after shooting it from sunrise to sunset for three days.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,413 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 1458
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:28 as a reply to  @ KatManDEW's post |  #1612

TMaG82 wrote in post #17265640 (external link)
Any of you 7DM2 owners also happen to also have the Sigma 18-35 1.8? Thinking of getting the M2 and one of the lenses that I'm thinking of is the Sigma since I do a ton of shooting with a 35/50 prime, the 18-35 gives an equivalent in that range. Thanks!

It works fantastic for me so far. :)


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KatManDEW
Senior Member
Avatar
659 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 341
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:33 |  #1613

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17265594 (external link)
All that outer box is good for is to protect the 7D2 box, not the 7D2 itself. You could ship the 7D2 out in its own box, it is packed well enough inside. The camera is in a bubble wrapper suspended in the box with cardboard inserts. It is almost always the case that products are packaged well enough in their own boxes, that you could ship them as-is, and the only reason to have an outer box with yet more styrofoam and bubble wrap is to protect the product box.

I know exactly how it's packed. I took it out of that packing, and put it back in that packaging to ship it back. But I think the outer packaging should be better. It's not a $5 coffee cup in there.

And as I said originally, I wouldn't have paid any attention if the product performed up to expectations. Also, as I said before, in the end I don't think the packaging was the problem. I think there's a bad batch of 7D2's out there.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
garycoleman
Senior Member
450 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2008
Location: California
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:34 |  #1614

I know the 7D MKII has a vast amount of AF options. But if it can't AF consistently in the basic One Shot Mode using the Center Point only, on basic objects shouldn't that be deemed a problem? My 7d classics had this problem but my XSi and 60d didn't. I just hope the 7D MKII does not behave how my 7d classics did.


Canon 5D MKIII | Canon 60D | 24-70mm f/2.8L II | 17-55mm f/2.8 IS | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
azeryboy
Hatchling
9 posts
Joined Nov 2014
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:36 |  #1615

I received my 7D Mark II yesterday from Adorama. Because of all the AF issue talk on this forum I put on my Sigma 50 f1.4 and MF adjusted using a focus sheet that I printed off the internet. After that the camera had no issues focusing. The AF system seemed quick and very responsive. I was gladly surprised because this lens was not always consistent using T4i before this. I have not had a chance to test the camera any more than that yet and it looks like the weather is not going to cooperate this week :(




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
stsva
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
     
Nov 11, 2014 16:38 |  #1616

ppmax wrote in post #17264177 (external link)
Fyi: if you have Lens aberration->distortion enabled the focus point will not display. Found the solution at dpreview.

PP

Thanks for posting the solution! :)


Some Canon stuff and a little bit of Yongnuo.
http://www.pbase.com/s​tsva/profile (external link)
Member of the GIYF
Club and
HAMSTTR
٩ Breeders Club https://photography-on-the.net …=744235&highlig​ht=hamsttr Join today!
Image Editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kickflipkid687
Senior Member
921 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Jan 2014
     
Nov 11, 2014 17:07 |  #1617

garycoleman wrote in post #17265825 (external link)
I know the 7D MKII has a vast amount of AF options. But if it can't AF consistently in the basic One Shot Mode using the Center Point only, on basic objects shouldn't that be deemed a problem? My 7d classics had this problem but my XSi and 60d didn't. I just hope the 7D MKII does not behave how my 7d classics did.

Yeah, agreed. I know the AF is complex. But as he said, if it can't focus properly/consistently in One Shot with, with center AF on a static target, somethings very wrong. :(

Then again. I've tried 2 different 5D III's, rented and a buddies. Testing with like 5 different lenses. In both cases, I had a very hard time getting any sharp images. Most were outta focus. But those were mostly all action shots, so could definitely have been user error or something else in those cases.

However, ANOTHER guy I know, who uses a Mark III, said the AF is inconsistent and he has issues with it on his 500 F/4 sometimes.


My Flickr page - https://www.flickr.com​/photos/86957042@N07/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,752 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5125
Joined May 2002
Location: Cannelton
     
Nov 11, 2014 17:13 |  #1618

Keyan wrote in post #17265639 (external link)
Yeah, I would also sometimes think that - but there seemed to be some experienced people with 5D3s and the like that were reporting (and showing here) some pretty large variances shot to shot - it shouldn't shift from back to on to front, and the AI servo shouldn't "rock" back and forth against a static target.

There is certainly a learning curve on this one, you could say it is the most complex AF system Canon has ever made, and these dense crop sensors are not very forgiving when it comes to subject motion to keep things sharp.

AI Servo on many of Canon's bodies rock lenses back and forth, it depends on the lens in part as well. Sigma lenses exhibit this behavior much more than Canon USM L lenses, for example, also AI Servo isn't the proper AF mode for static subjects either, it's a predictive mode for no motion. If I put my Sigma 50 on my 5D3 in AI Servo on a static subject, it will indeed rock it. If I put my 70-200 II on it, it locks in and holds it. Remember that Canon has changed their AF algorithms a bit, and older lenses and 3rd party lenses may not be communicating the same info back and forth that the newer lenses might be. Again there are so many factors involved...


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KatManDEW
Senior Member
Avatar
659 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 341
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
     
Nov 11, 2014 17:14 |  #1619

Kickflipkid687 wrote in post #17265891 (external link)
Yeah, agreed. I know the AF is complex. But as he said, if it can't focus properly/consistently in One Shot with, with center AF on a static target, somethings very wrong. :(

Then again. I've tried 2 different 5D III's, rented and a buddies. Testing with like 5 different lenses. In both cases, I had a very hard time getting any sharp images. Most were outta focus. But those were mostly all action shots, so could definitely have been user error or something else in those cases.

However, ANOTHER guy I know, who uses a Mark III, said the AF is inconsistent and he has issues with it on his 500 F/4 sometimes.

That stinks. I've had excellent luck with my 5D3, and I shoot tons of action stuff. It's almost magical on focus, similar to the reports I've heard about the 1DX.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,752 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5125
Joined May 2002
Location: Cannelton
     
Nov 11, 2014 17:17 |  #1620

Apricane wrote in post #17265729 (external link)
I don't think that's the issue. I've had problems getting a sharp shot of inanimate objects and of people standing still.

I've managed to get in-focus shots, but they're far outnumbered by OOF ones, even using my 70-300L. I have a lot of trouble getting a sharp shot with my 15-85 as well.

I've only had two days to shoot with the camera (due to bad weather), so that might be it, but I'm already thinking that I may need to send it to Canon.

Have you ever had a Canon body in the past where the AF points are all packed in there unlike the 9pt systems? Just as on the 7D, the AF point is larger than the boxes on the screen, and you have to find the right mode. Sometimes spot AF is the answer, sometimes its single point with expansion. I don't know your history, but people have had these issues with others, and it only makes sense to state the same points made before, however obvious they might be.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,349,527 views & 93,248 likes for this thread
-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Charis
809 guests, 256 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.