Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 15 Nov 2014 (Saturday) 10:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Monitor & Graphics Card Recommendations for Photoshop CC & Lightroom 5.6

 
thc1979
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Jun 2014
Location: East of England
     
Nov 15, 2014 10:55 |  #1

As the title suggests I'm looking for recommendations for the best monitors and graphics cards for use with Photoshop CC and Lightroom.

The time has come to upgrade my office PC so as well as semi-frequent photo editing it will also be used for day-to-day work. I plan on getting a decent i5 Windows 7 64 bit PC but the choice of graphics cards and monitors is endless and it would be easy to buy something far beyond what i need.

I have recently invested in a Canon Pixma Pro-1 printer which came with a Datacolor Spyder 4 Pro monitor calibrator so good colour is essential and I guess I would be aiming for a 24" monitor.

Any ideas and recommendations would be gratefully received. My budget for the monitor and graphics card would be around £500-£600 inc VAT as the PC is going to cost at least that again as well.

Cheers, Tom




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Jun 2014
Location: East of England
     
Nov 15, 2014 13:35 |  #2

Considering this : Viewsonic 27IN LED VP2772 5MS - VGA DVI HDMI 2560X1440 IPS




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RHChan84
Goldmember
Avatar
2,320 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Mass
     
Nov 16, 2014 00:16 |  #3

Save the money from the video card and put it towards RAM. The i series processors has enough power for LR and PS. You will see more improvement with more RAM.


Canon (60D Gripped | 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS | 40mm f2.8 | 50mm f1.8 | 70-200 F4L IS| 430 EXII)
Tamron (17-50 f2.8 VC)
Feedback
Facebook (external link)

flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,973 posts
Likes: 355
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Nov 16, 2014 00:52 |  #4

Monitor review here (external link). Consider Dell monitors. Video either what's in the CPU or the cheapest model in the latest range of nVidia cards - only reason it's better than built in is it has it's own RAM so reduces shared video ram workload. Probably not noticeable.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Jun 2014
Location: East of England
     
Nov 17, 2014 02:53 |  #5

Thanks for your advice - I have ordered a Dell Ultrasharp U2713H 27" inch Widescreen LED.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
Nov 17, 2014 03:13 |  #6

I second the ram upgrade, I got my best improvement when i put in 16gb of ram, get a ssd for a dedicated scratch disk if you already have enough ram.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Jun 2014
Location: East of England
     
Nov 18, 2014 01:57 |  #7

The PC I've ordered has 32gb of ram so shouldn't need s scratch disk?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
Nov 18, 2014 07:22 |  #8

I think 32GB is overkill unless you 3D rendering or video editing. The video card will share the ram, so my 550 gtx uses 3Gb of my system ram. The scratch disk is activated when PS runs out of ram. Some of my illustrator files are 400mb and that uses 12gb to open especially if it has drop shadows at which point the scratch disk is used. A small cheap dedicated ssd scratch disk will make things so much smoother or you can plug a USB flash drive into the back of your system (so no one unplugs it) and set it as a scratch disk. You have to set it up as by default PS uses the drive it was installed on as the scratch disk which is usually the OS drive which is when the performance drops.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,973 posts
Likes: 355
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Nov 18, 2014 12:31 |  #9

thc1979 wrote in post #17278795 (external link)
The PC I've ordered has 32gb of ram so shouldn't need s scratch disk?

AFAIK you always need a scratch disk set. Whether it's used is another question. Photoshop may proactively swap things in there it isn't likely to need, like history states.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Avatar
12,898 posts
Gallery: 42 photos
Likes: 263
Joined Mar 2003
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
     
Nov 19, 2014 00:01 |  #10

thc1979 wrote in post #17278795 (external link)
The PC I've ordered has 32gb of ram so shouldn't need s scratch disk?

Windows can work without a scratch disk with no issues. Apps on the other hand are a different story any apps that you run (which can include anything like PS to the smallest app you can think of) may require a scratch disk to work. Some apps just don't work without. If it means setting up a 1gb scratch disk then that should do the trick. sometimes Windows/Apps just need one even tho it's not going to be used.


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
Nov 19, 2014 01:46 |  #11

Are you not confusing scratch disks with page files?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Jun 2014
Location: East of England
     
Nov 20, 2014 15:06 |  #12

I've never heard of a scratch disk. 32gb of memory should be fine for a few years at least. I've never seen anything about it in any documentation for Photoshop.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,724 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6389
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Nov 20, 2014 15:47 |  #13

You can force PS to use your RAM as a scratch disk whether PS thinks it should or not.
With enough Ram (like 32GB! Wowee!) you might as well.

Pretty much every version of PS does indeed use what it refers to as a 'scratch disk"

You can adjust the scratch disk settings by going to;
Edit, Preferences, plug-Ins & scratch Disks.

Usually the default first scratch disk is "start up" or the C: drive. Usually the worst choice, (with exceptions) as this tends to be Windows first choice as well.

The cheat requires you to create a RAM DRIVE, use part of your 32GB as a RAM Drive, which reserves it and assigns it a drive letter. The in the settings above tell PS top use that dirve as the primary scratch disk.

Pro, oodles of extra speed in some filters.
Caveat, if you lose power, anything in the scratch disk will be lost
Pro, I can't imagine that happening or mattering much.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,619 views & 0 likes for this thread
Monitor & Graphics Card Recommendations for Photoshop CC & Lightroom 5.6
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Deanerdavis
2147 guests, 327 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.