Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 16 Dec 2014 (Tuesday) 10:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Monitor Help

 
imagesbybarbara
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 10:31 |  #1

I just ordered a new PC and I have been running two monitors as of right now I can only use one, I don't have the right connector for the smaller monitor and for the life of me I have no idea why Dell would put two different connectors on the new pc. Anyway, I am thinking of going for a 28" monitor and do away with the dual.

Does anyone have any idea what monitors are good for photo editing? I am clueless. :)


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Littlejon ­ Dsgn
Goldmember
3,266 posts
Likes: 892
Joined Feb 2012
Location: Sandy, Oregon
     
Dec 16, 2014 10:56 |  #2

imagesbybarbara wrote in post #17335854 (external link)
I just ordered a new PC and I have been running two monitors as of right now I can only use one, I don't have the right connector for the smaller monitor and for the life of me I have no idea why Dell would put two different connectors on the new pc. Anyway, I am thinking of going for a 28" monitor and do away with the dual.

Does anyone have any idea what monitors are good for photo editing? I am clueless. :)

I went to a 27" when I purchased my new laptop, thinking I would love having only one screen. I still find I use the small laptop screen as well to have non photography programs running while I edit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bleufire
Goldmember
Avatar
1,203 posts
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2008
Location: California
     
Dec 16, 2014 10:57 |  #3

You might be referring the the analog connection (VGA) and a digital connection (HDMI/DVI/DisplayPort) which many companies will do. I know that on the HP pcs you can run dual screen with just the integrated graphics card (so nothing else added).

Look at this link (external link). The square one below the (VGA) is the DisplayPort. You might be referring to one of those kinds of setups, right?

IPS monitors are generally the ones you will see get a lot of praise here.
Also, if you find one your curious about, this site will help you make a decision: http://www.tftcentral.​co.uk/ (external link)


5D*Sigma 50/1.4*EF 17-40/4
New to Photography? ----> ENJOY! Canon DSLR! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 11:09 |  #4

Thank you for your help, after two days I realized the one adapter "did" work after I went to Best Buy but he said the other slot is an older slot I think something like a DVI1 or DVI-D I am not sure which connector I have that does work. lol

The other slot three rows of pins and one - on the left of it.

I will check out your monitor suggestion thank you.


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 11:10 |  #5

I guess IPS comes in different brands.


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 11:35 |  #6

A guy at best buy was trying to convince me of this monitor since I use dual monitors but I want more color accuracy for photo editiong.LG 34UM95


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bleufire
Goldmember
Avatar
1,203 posts
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2008
Location: California
Post edited over 5 years ago by Bleufire.
     
Dec 16, 2014 13:36 |  #7

Take what anyone at best buy says with a grain of salt. Their job is to sell you stuff regardless if it fits your needs or not. If you walk in to buy a new hard drive and they are out, they will send you away with the largest SD card because somehow that would be comparable. Their training is a joke.

That being said, IPS is a feature, not a brand. The one you linked

I'll toss one out there that I have heard the name tossed around but have no personal experience with:
Dell u2713HM (external link) or HP ZR2740w (external link) (I looked at the one you mentioned and there really doesn't seem to be many reviews on it but the ones that are there are giving it a good nod)

I personally use a pair of Dell U2412m (24") IPS Monitors. Personally I'd much rather have two smaller singles than one large monitor after using them at work and realizing how much better it is to manage many windows.


5D*Sigma 50/1.4*EF 17-40/4
New to Photography? ----> ENJOY! Canon DSLR! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 15:37 |  #8

Thanks again for your help! I am use to two smalls I still have to plug in my new Dell PC and only one monitor will fit the slot for the life of me I don't know why they put two different slots on the back of the pc now I have to search for a connector for the other one. My friends always thought I was crazy using two monitors but that is how I was trained when I worked in a Pro photo lab.

That being said I am so afraid when I plug this pc in because it has windows 8.1 coming from XP. Also, I don't see any backup software with the pc I will be contacting Dell about that I have always had backup disc included.


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Littlejon ­ Dsgn
Goldmember
3,266 posts
Likes: 892
Joined Feb 2012
Location: Sandy, Oregon
     
Dec 16, 2014 15:43 |  #9

imagesbybarbara wrote in post #17336373 (external link)
Thanks again for your help! I am use to two smalls I still have to plug in my new Dell PC and only one monitor will fit the slot for the life of me I don't know why they put two different slots on the back of the pc now I have to search for a connector for the other one. My friends always thought I was crazy using two monitors but that is how I was trained when I worked in a Pro photo lab.

That being said I am so afraid when I plug this pc in because it has windows 8.1 coming from XP. Also, I don't see any backup software with the pc I will be contacting Dell about that I have always had backup disc included.


I have not had backup disks included in my last 2 computer purchases. I dont believe they just give them out any longer. However I may be worng.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 16, 2014 16:28 as a reply to  @ Littlejon Dsgn's post |  #10

Yes, someone just told me that, it's been nine years since I had a new PC so I was shocked not to see it, just curious if you have a virus what do you do then if you don't have the backup disc?


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekinnyc
Senior Member
Avatar
784 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
     
Dec 16, 2014 16:39 as a reply to  @ imagesbybarbara's post |  #11

usually PCs ship with a separate recovery partition, which can be accessed from a boot menu. this will let you restore to factory state.


6D| 35mm f/2 IS
Buying/Selling Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tandemhearts
Senior Member
583 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 165
Joined Mar 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
     
Dec 16, 2014 16:45 |  #12

imagesbybarbara wrote in post #17336463 (external link)
Yes, someone just told me that, it's been nine years since I had a new PC so I was shocked not to see it, just curious if you have a virus what do you do then if you don't have the backup disc?

Usually there is an option to create a set of recovery disks (Win 8.1 might even have this fully built in). Do it. If you have a full HD failure you will not be able to use that recovery partition mentioned above. Of course since we are living in what we used to call "The Future" you probably would make a recovery USB thumb drive, not a DVD.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BornForThis
Member
Avatar
55 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Oct 2014
     
Dec 17, 2014 01:58 |  #13

What's your budget for a monitor?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 17, 2014 06:09 as a reply to  @ BornForThis's post |  #14

Not sure about budget but I want something that is good and that will last me. Looking at maybe 28" to do away with dual monitors and something that is good for photo editing. Maybe $400


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imagesbybarbara
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,790 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 80
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
     
Dec 17, 2014 06:50 |  #15

Would this be a good monitor?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …76_p2714h_27_le​d_lcd.html (external link)


16-35 2.8L 24-105L 35 1.4L 135L 50 1.4 85 1.8 and 100 macro, 5D, 5D2, 40D, 20D, (3) 550, 2 Sunpak 555, white lighting studio set-up.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,511 views & 0 likes for this thread
Monitor Help
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is voidholder
1028 guests, 335 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.