Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Jan 2015 (Tuesday) 03:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1DX Auto ISO

 
texaskev
Goldmember
Avatar
1,441 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 205
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Austin & Dallas Texas
Post edited over 4 years ago by texaskev.
     
Jan 13, 2015 03:08 |  #1

I've been a full manual guy since my old 20D days. Other than AWB I've liked to have full control of all settings.

Well, using my 1DX in a low light, no strobe, sports setting I tried the Auto ISO mode last weekend on a paid gig. I was shooting an indoor motorcycle jump and the images captured were running around 8K to 10K ISO. I was very impressed at the image quality.

I guess my point of this thread is simply to encourage 'manual shooters' to check this feature out. Due to the latest available high ISO bodies, this is the way to go imho.


Canon 1DX II, 1DX, 11-24 F4 L, 100 F2.8 L, 16-35 F2.8 L II, 17-40 F4 L, 24-70 F2.8 L II, 24-105 F4 L II, 70-200 F2.8 L II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,071 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 305
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 13, 2015 03:14 |  #2

Yes, but it doesn't really have anything to do with the quality of high ISO images in more recent cameras, has it? I mean, if the light isn't there, then you have no choice but to either get the image quality any camera can give you, or get no pictures at all. Thus you accomplish the same when setting the ISO manually at the same levels.

Or are you pointing out some other advantage, which I failed to grasp?


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jan 13, 2015 03:37 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

The 1Dx has a sports setting? Icon modes on a $6,000 camera seems a bit odd. They are pointless on the Rebels.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,283 posts
Gallery: 1696 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10662
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Jan 13, 2015 03:44 |  #4

Hrm,

Auto ISO is fun. I've used Auto ISO on a 650D in the past, birding. I just set it to 1/1000s, F8, and ISO to AUTO and capped it at 6400, with EC +1/3rd. Easy peasy.

I'm sure it's even nicer on the high ISO handling abilities of the 1DX.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,997 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5827
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jan 13, 2015 05:34 as a reply to  @ GeoKras1989's post |  #5

Pretty sure he meant he had it set up for sports shooting, and not some preset camera mode. ;)


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
texaskev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,441 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 205
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Austin & Dallas Texas
     
Jan 13, 2015 16:19 |  #6

GeoKras1989 wrote in post #17380083 (external link)
The 1Dx has a sports setting? Icon modes on a $6,000 camera seems a bit odd. They are pointless on the Rebels.

No sports setting. I didn't word that very well. I just meant that I was shooting a sport.


Canon 1DX II, 1DX, 11-24 F4 L, 100 F2.8 L, 16-35 F2.8 L II, 17-40 F4 L, 24-70 F2.8 L II, 24-105 F4 L II, 70-200 F2.8 L II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
texaskev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,441 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 205
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Austin & Dallas Texas
     
Jan 13, 2015 16:23 |  #7

apersson850 wrote in post #17380072 (external link)
Yes, but it doesn't really have anything to do with the quality of high ISO images in more recent cameras, has it? I mean, if the light isn't there, then you have no choice but to either get the image quality any camera can give you, or get no pictures at all. Thus you accomplish the same when setting the ISO manually at the same levels.

Or are you pointing out some other advantage, which I failed to grasp?

Sure you can change ISO manually like I have to when I'm using my 1D3. But in this case AUTO was great because I was shooting a ramp to ramp motorcycle jump. From the take off ramp to the landing ramp the light changed drastically. So shooting at 12 FPS and panning some of the shots would have to have some pretty heavy exposure adjustments done in post without Auto ISO.

All I'm pointing out is that I'm impressed with this feature.


Canon 1DX II, 1DX, 11-24 F4 L, 100 F2.8 L, 16-35 F2.8 L II, 17-40 F4 L, 24-70 F2.8 L II, 24-105 F4 L II, 70-200 F2.8 L II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lesz42
Member
96 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 59
Joined Dec 2006
Location: wrexham
     
Jan 13, 2015 16:33 |  #8

texaskev wrote in post #17380866 (external link)
Sure you can change ISO manually like I have to when I'm using my 1D3. But in this case AUTO was great because I was shooting a ramp to ramp motorcycle jump. From the take off ramp to the landing ramp the light changed drastically. So shooting at 12 FPS and panning some of the shots would have to have some pretty heavy exposure adjustments done in post without Auto ISO.

All I'm pointing out is that I'm impressed with this feature.


some people don't get the idea on how useful A-iso is......... you do!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,997 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5827
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jan 13, 2015 17:15 as a reply to  @ MalVeauX's post |  #9

So the 650D has auto-ISO in manual mode where you can add EC? I thought that the 1DX and 7D2 were the only bodies with this feature. Or did you really have the camera in Tv or Av modes?


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnf3f
Goldmember
Avatar
4,091 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 653
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Wales
     
Jan 13, 2015 18:10 |  #10

texaskev wrote in post #17380866 (external link)
Sure you can change ISO manually like I have to when I'm using my 1D3. But in this case AUTO was great because I was shooting a ramp to ramp motorcycle jump. From the take off ramp to the landing ramp the light changed drastically. So shooting at 12 FPS and panning some of the shots would have to have some pretty heavy exposure adjustments done in post without Auto ISO.

All I'm pointing out is that I'm impressed with this feature.

Manual mode and Auto ISO is the default setting for my 1DX. Add in the exposure compensation, now available, and you have the most adaptable and idiot proof camera that I have yet used.
Mine is set to back button focus, Manual mode, Auto ISO, Exposure comp on SET button and Main Dial and AF mode 5. Once you get the hang of it is is just so simple to use and VERY quick to adjust!
The ease of use, speed and wide (usable) ISO range is what makes this camera so great IMO.


Life is for living, cameras are to capture it (one day I will learn how!).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,071 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 305
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 14, 2015 07:12 |  #11

texaskev wrote in post #17380866 (external link)
All I'm pointing out is that I'm impressed with this feature.

In varying light Auto ISO can be very useful. I read into your post that you tried to point out that the characteristics of the 1DX at high ISO made auto ISO useful. But it seems I missed the point.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
10,882 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 2687
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
     
Jan 14, 2015 09:20 |  #12

I have the 7D2 and Its basically the same AF as the 1Dx. When i experimented with the 1Dx is did not give auto ISO its fair day in court. But I have with the 7D2. It fricken Rocks. To me for shooting sports and wildlife, I cant imagine not using it in varying light. Highly accurate. I was tracking this eagle through branches in horribly low light. I set my settings and auto ISO hit this at 5000

So its kicks serious butt and I will change the way I approach what im doing

Guess what

AWB works pretty dam good as well


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,283 posts
Gallery: 1696 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10662
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Jan 16, 2015 18:39 |  #13

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17380926 (external link)
So the 650D has auto-ISO in manual mode where you can add EC? I thought that the 1DX and 7D2 were the only bodies with this feature. Or did you really have the camera in Tv or Av modes?

Heya,

No EC, that was a mistake.

But manual + Auto ISO (100~6400 capped range), yes.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tat3406
Senior Member
Avatar
275 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2013
     
Jan 19, 2015 03:41 |  #14

Canon should have EC at auto-ISO in all current DSLR!!!!


6D, 100L,24-70 F4L, 40mm pancake, 70-300L
Carl Zeiss MP 50
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/tat3406/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,622 posts
Likes: 352
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Jan 19, 2015 07:41 as a reply to  @ tat3406's post |  #15

My 5D3 has EC at Auto ISO in Av mode no problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,133 views & 2 likes for this thread
1DX Auto ISO
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is tnt2112
1057 guests, 360 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.