Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jan 2015 (Wednesday) 21:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D MarkII how to change Av while in Live View and 'M' mode?

 
texshooter
Senior Member
632 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jan 28, 2015 21:39 |  #1

I'm able to change the shutter speed with the top dial next to the shutter release, but there appears to be no way to change the aperature without getting out of live view mode. I have the camera dialed to manual 'M' mode, btw.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Jan 28, 2015 22:28 |  #2

It should be on the rear wheel, have you disengaged the lock? If it is the same as my old 5D it is the second "on" position with the on/off switch




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
texshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
632 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jan 28, 2015 22:46 as a reply to  @ sandpiper's post |  #3

I just tried flipping the power switch to the most counterclockwise position and that did the trick. Seriously, Canon needs to separate the power on/off switch from exposure compensation. What does one have to do with the other, beats me.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Jan 28, 2015 22:55 |  #4

texshooter wrote in post #17405100 (external link)
I just tried flipping the power switch to the most counterclockwise position and that did the trick. Seriously, Canon needs to separate the power on/off switch from exposure compensation. What does one have to do with the other, beats me.

The power switch has nothing to do with exposure compensation, it is simply a lock mechanism that you can choose to use to disable the rear wheel, as many people find they accidentally turn it with their noses (or whatever) and don't realise until they see their images are cocked up. If you don't want to use the lock, then treat the power switch as a straight on/off switch and turn it all the way when you turn the camera on. It isn't a big deal, just don't set it to the lock position.

ALL Canon cameras have a safety lock for the rear wheel (except the entry level cameras that don't HAVE a rear wheel of course).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,955 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 29, 2015 03:00 |  #5

Some cameras have it separate from the on/off switch. It just depends on where the on/off switch is. The lock switch is always near the rear dial it locks.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
2,451 posts
Likes: 769
Joined Nov 2009
     
Jan 29, 2015 03:04 |  #6
THIS POST IS ON A HIATUS!
Contents of this post is being discussed by the moderators. Until the issue is resolved the post stays hidden.
texshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
632 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jan 29, 2015 08:29 as a reply to  @ john crossley's post |  #7

Well, at least Canon has a work-around unlike Nikon according to this guy.....

https://m.youtube.com/​watch?v=Ord_owGw65c (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,955 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 29, 2015 09:06 |  #8

Work around what? There's no problem to work around.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JohnB57
Goldmember
1,506 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England
     
Jan 29, 2015 13:49 |  #9

apersson850 wrote in post #17405546 (external link)
Work around what?

Not reading the manual?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
texshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
632 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jan 29, 2015 15:34 as a reply to  @ JohnB57's post |  #10

Manuals should be read, not deciphered. Besides, my copy has plenty of frayed edges. Moreover, why is it that I can change the shutter speed, white balance, ISO, AF points/Drive, etc all without using the Quick Control Dial while in Live View plus Manual mode--but NOT aperture? Nope. Got to unlock the darn lock every time to do that.

That's a rhetorical question, by the way.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,476 posts
Likes: 154
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Jan 29, 2015 15:41 |  #11

texshooter wrote in post #17405983 (external link)
Manuals should be read, not deciphered. Besides, my copy has plenty of frayed edges. Moreover, why is it that I can change the shutter speed, white balance, ISO, AF points/Drive, etc all without using the Quick Control Dial while in Live View plus Manual mode--but NOT aperture? Nope. Got to unlock the darn lock every time to do that.

That's a rhetorical question, by the way.

Those other functions DON'T USE THE QC DIAL to change them. That's why the having the QC lock switch on does not prevent changing those things.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,955 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 29, 2015 15:47 |  #12

I always flip the switch all the way to unlock when I turn on my camera. Has been the habit since the 40D. I only go back to lock position when I actually want that.

But it's true that what you lock is a physical device, not a function.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JohnB57
Goldmember
1,506 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England
Post edited over 4 years ago by JohnB57.
     
Jan 29, 2015 16:15 |  #13

texshooter wrote in post #17405983 (external link)
Manuals should be read, not deciphered. Besides, my copy has plenty of frayed edges. Moreover, why is it that I can change the shutter speed, white balance, ISO, AF points/Drive, etc all without using the Quick Control Dial while in Live View plus Manual mode--but NOT aperture? Nope. Got to unlock the darn lock every time to do that.

With respect, I think at this level, reading and understanding is a requirement. Deciphering is taking it to another level.

You absolutely CAN change aperture when in manual mode and live view. All that's necessary is to enable the Quick Control Dial once when you turn on the camera as described above and in the manual. Not every time, just once. It's really easy.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
texshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
632 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2009
Post edited over 4 years ago by texshooter.
     
Jan 29, 2015 16:40 as a reply to  @ JohnB57's post |  #14

You're missing the point. If the user wants to keep the Quick Control Dial locked throughout the session he will be unable to change the aperture (while in Live View plus Manual mode). He can still change practically everything else on the fly, such as shutter speed and ISO by using the main dial, but not aperture. I reminisce of the old film cameras I grew up with that had separate top dials for ISO, Tv, and Av (Am I the only one who changes these things impromptu?). Yes, I can unlock the QC dial once when I power up the camera and leave it unlocked--and that's what I will do from now on--but that's not what I should have to do to change the aperture. I'm yawning now.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 84
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Jan 29, 2015 18:01 |  #15

texshooter wrote in post #17406090 (external link)
You're missing the point. If the user wants to keep the Quick Control Dial locked throughout the session he will be unable to change the aperture

If the user sticks it into one of the 'auto' modes then he will be unable to change the aperture. Of course, that would be a stupid thing to do.

Er, why do you want to keep the QCD locked? Most people who are advanced enough to want to be able to dial in EC don't bother. Indeed, I've never been able to work out just who it is aimed at.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,273 views & 1 like for this thread
5D MarkII how to change Av while in Live View and 'M' mode?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is astrobalcony
933 guests, 245 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.