Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 31 Jan 2015 (Saturday) 17:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Minimal Indoor Studio Setup

 
douglala
Member
39 posts
Joined Apr 2011
     
Jan 31, 2015 17:55 |  #1

I've done some reading but I am still not sure of the right setup for me. Now that upgraded my camera I want to start doing studio work at home with a 1 light home setup that is also portable. I am new to the lighting..indoor shoot so something simple please. My space in not huge..a small room my basement.

I think I need the following but can anyone recommend some actual products/brands. I plan to use the my 430exii flash until i can upgrade to an 600.


Backdrop
Backdrop stand
Light Modifier (softbox, umbrella?)
Reflector (what about something to hold the reflector when I have no help)
Can the 5DM3 work wirelessly with the 430exii?

Thanks in advance.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mrfixitx
Senior Member
Avatar
607 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 265
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Omaha NE
     
Jan 31, 2015 18:24 |  #2

Your on the right track and I believe the 5D MK3 has wireless flash commander according to the dpreview specifications page, you should double check your manual for specifics.

For a reflector holder I use this: http://www.amazon.com …anfrotto+reflec​tor+holder (external link)

You will need to basic light stands one for your flash and one for the reflector.

For starting out I would suggest an umbrella, they are inexpensive and very good at spreading light and great for a starting setup. Softboxes are great but if you only have one light and one reflector it can be a bit harder to get a decent amount of light on the background. If you are doing low key portraits that not an issue but if you want to shoot on a white background a softbox will make it harder to get the background evenly lit.


Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships! - Ansel Adams (external link)
http://www.brandons-photography.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gart
Senior Member
Avatar
462 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 143
Joined Sep 2007
Location: D/FW metro
     
Jan 31, 2015 20:15 |  #3

If your question is whether you can trigger your flash from the camera (stock), I don't believe so. There isn't anything built in (radio) that will trigger your flash.

You will need to optically trigger it with another flash, use a cord or radio trigger.

Gart




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
Post edited over 4 years ago by draderusa.
     
Jan 31, 2015 20:27 |  #4

The 5DIII does not have a popup flash so it can not optically control your 430EXII. It has no built-in radio transmitter either. You will need something like the Yongnuo YN622 radio triggers for wireless off camera control. They will allow you to control the 430 through the 5d's flash control menu system. Once you obtain a 600EX-RT you can continue to use it with your 430 as long as you have a 622 under each remote flash. If you want to take advantage of the built-in wireless receiver in the 600EX-RT you will need a Canon ST-E3-RT transmitter or one of the similar RT protocol models from Yongnuo or Shanny. Please be aware that at this time there is no RT protocol stand alone receiver that would allow these transmitters to work with anything other than the Canon or Yongnuo 600's. Yongnuo has announced such a model in the design stage but it may be many months before we actually see it on the market.


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
windpig
Chopped liver
Avatar
14,914 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 1223
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Just South of Ballard
     
Feb 01, 2015 11:32 |  #5

To heck with optical triggers, get a set of YN622Cs and call it good. They are awesome.
Buy at least one descent light stand for your light, a cheap one for your foam core reflective fill and a clamp to clamp the foam core to the cheap light stand
Get a softbox that has a grid for an option
Get a 3ft X 3ft piece of foam core
To answer the back drop question we need to know the size of the room.

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …e_ttl_wireless_​flash.html (external link)
http://www.adorama.com …IHIxfKhwcMCFZSI​fgodihcAYg (external link)
http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …_Pony_Spring_A_​Clamp.html (external link)


Would you like to buy a vowel?
Go ahead, spin the wheel.
flickr (external link)
I'm accross the canal just south of Ballard, the town Seattle usurped in 1907.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,892 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2613
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
Post edited over 4 years ago by Wilt.
     
Feb 01, 2015 12:48 |  #6

windpig wrote in post #17410130 (external link)
light stand for your light, a cheap one for your foam core reflective fill and a clamp to clamp the foam core to the cheap light stand

a cheap light stand with a clamp holding a piece of foamcore...a mostly USELESS tool because you cannot position and AIM the reflector so that it does the most good

the term 'clamp' can mean many things...the OP might even think something like this is what was meant by the above post

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …_Pony_Spring_A_​Clamp.html (external link)

but that doesn't necessarily mean it is the best 'clamp' for the purpose in mind! I'm not necessarily endorsing this particular product, but use it only as an example of how one uses a reflector holder...

https://11main.com …6GfakKSQwtHg&kp​id=2650365 (external link)

to clamp and aim the reflector so it bounces light to the subject


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
douglala
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
39 posts
Joined Apr 2011
     
Feb 01, 2015 13:03 |  #7

mrfixitx wrote in post #17409092 (external link)
Your on the right track and I believe the 5D MK3 has wireless flash commander according to the dpreview specifications page, you should double check your manual for specifics.

For a reflector holder I use this: http://www.amazon.com …anfrotto+reflec​tor+holder (external link)

You will need to basic light stands one for your flash and one for the reflector.

For starting out I would suggest an umbrella, they are inexpensive and very good at spreading light and great for a starting setup. Softboxes are great but if you only have one light and one reflector it can be a bit harder to get a decent amount of light on the background. If you are doing low key portraits that not an issue but if you want to shoot on a white background a softbox will make it harder to get the background evenly lit.

Yes I want the option to shoot on a white background. I was leaning towards a soft box so that is good to know.

Thanks for the reflector stand link!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
douglala
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
39 posts
Joined Apr 2011
     
Feb 01, 2015 13:05 |  #8

Gart wrote in post #17409244 (external link)
If your question is whether you can trigger your flash from the camera (stock), I don't believe so. There isn't anything built in (radio) that will trigger your flash.

You will need to optically trigger it with another flash, use a cord or radio trigger.

Gart

My 60D can set off my flash wirelessly. I can NOT control it by changing settings but it can trigger the flash.

So to clarify the mk3 cannot trigger the flash but the 60D can?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
barfbaggs
Goldmember
Avatar
1,351 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Feb 01, 2015 13:45 as a reply to  @ douglala's post |  #9

It's the built in flash on the 60d that triggers the 430ex II. The mk3 has no built in flash, hence it cannot trigger the 430ex II.

Plus one here for the YN 622c's.
Cheap, reliable and simple to use.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
windpig
Chopped liver
Avatar
14,914 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 1223
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Just South of Ballard
Post edited over 4 years ago by windpig.
     
Feb 01, 2015 14:56 |  #10

Wilt wrote in post #17410265 (external link)
a cheap light stand with a clamp holding a piece of foamcore...a mostly USELESS tool because you cannot position and AIM the reflector so that it does the most good

[/U]

Hi Wilt

I've had no problem getting nice fill using the method I'm suggesting. It's no different than using tall flats. Is it perfect, no, but is it cheap, yes. The important part of doing it is being able to feather your light enough towards the foam core, but I'm not telling you anything you don't already know. I guess I was remiss in not suggesting where the lightstand clamped foamcore would get placed, but I figured that went without saying.


Would you like to buy a vowel?
Go ahead, spin the wheel.
flickr (external link)
I'm accross the canal just south of Ballard, the town Seattle usurped in 1907.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
douglala
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
39 posts
Joined Apr 2011
     
Feb 01, 2015 17:10 |  #11

barfbaggs wrote in post #17410369 (external link)
It's the built in flash on the 60d that triggers the 430ex II. The mk3 has no built in flash, hence it cannot trigger the 430ex II.

Plus one here for the YN 622c's.
Cheap, reliable and simple to use.

Oh ok. That makes sense. Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,002 views & 0 likes for this thread
Minimal Indoor Studio Setup
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Karammel
737 guests, 267 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.