Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Feb 2015 (Friday) 19:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

The Dreaded Error 30 - Canon 7d

 
ferraridude777
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 13, 2015 19:33 |  #1

My beloved 7d has been giving me grief with an Error 30 message lately and I'm not sure how to proceed. I bought the camera from a user on here in June of 2012 and it has been great since then. There are only around 35,000 clicks on the camera. I have a backup 50d to use, but I've been extremely spoiled by the autofocus system on the 7d (compared to the 50d) so I'm having withdrawals.

In December I purchased a Canon battery grip because I've been shooting a lot of sports for my college newspaper. I shot a bowl game over the winter break with the grip installed and had no issues. The first basketball game after our winter break is when I initially had the problem. It was towards the end of the game, so I didn't think too much of it. Then the following week it happened again while out on a news assignment. This past Wednesday I shot another basketball game, soI brought a camera from the school just in case my 7d went down again. Sure enough, it crashed before the game even started. My 50d + the school's 60d is not my preferred combination for shooting sports, so I really want my camera back in action.

I've tried disabling live view, taking off the battery grip, and doing the slap trick, but nothing seems to be helping. I haven't been able to get the camera to do an Error 30 at home, only at a sporting event or while on assignment. I've read about other people having this happen with battery grips, but I don't know if that is the cause of my problems.

Are there any known solutions besides sending it in to Canon? Could my grip be the cause of my problems? I'd be pretty bummed if this expensive piece of kit is the cause of me spending even more money.

Most of what I am seeing points to me spending around $250 for a shutter replacement. For anyone who has been in the same boat as I am, does this seem accurate? Is it worth it for a camera that you can buy used for about $500? I'll probably just keep the camera forever if I do send it in. I'm just pretty upset that a shutter rated for 150,000 has died so quickly.

Sorry if I rambled, I'm not too thrilled at the moment. I've also realized my username on this site is very reflective of the 15 year old version of me that made the account in 2009.

-- Chadd


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
MikeWa
Senior Member
Avatar
879 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Likes: 235
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Seattle Washington
     
Feb 15, 2015 09:55 |  #2

Try going to the menu and performing a manual sensor cleaning. I hear that sometimes works.

Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
P4ulG
Senior Member
528 posts
Likes: 35
Joined May 2010
Location: Norfolk UK
     
Feb 15, 2015 13:25 |  #3

Error code 30 indicates a non specific shutter malfunction


Canon 6D Canon 600D Canons 24-105mm L 85mm 1.4 IS L 70-300mm L. 100mm F2.8 macro L IS. 16-35mm L nifty fifty. 55-250mm IS. Speedlights Siggy DG530 super Canon EX430II Vivitar 3700

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
Avatar
879 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Likes: 235
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Seattle Washington
     
Feb 15, 2015 13:34 |  #4

P4ulG wrote in post #17432930 (external link)
Error code 30 indicates a non specific shutter malfunction


Yep. So don't ask me why the sensor cleaning sometimes works but it does. Besides it is not that hard to try.

Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ferraridude777
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 15, 2015 14:13 as a reply to  @ MikeWa's post |  #5

Just tried it. I actually had tried that earlier and forgot I did. After a few test shots it malfunctioned again. I think I'm doomed.


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
Avatar
879 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Likes: 235
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Seattle Washington
     
Feb 15, 2015 14:22 |  #6

ferraridude777 wrote in post #17432983 (external link)
Just tried it. I actually had tried that earlier and forgot I did. After a few test shots it malfunctioned again. I think I'm doomed.


Sorry to hear that. Yes it sounds like something is caught up or binding in the shutter. Hope it isn't to serious.

Best of luck to you.
Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ferraridude777
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 15, 2015 14:51 as a reply to  @ MikeWa's post |  #7

Thanks for trying! Appreciate it.

Sent an email to Canon tech support as well, we'll see what they say about it.


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
trx125
Senior Member
Avatar
345 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
     
Feb 16, 2015 11:57 |  #8

Do the sensor clean again, then lightly bump the camera on the corner with your hand, take the lens off and the cf card out and set camera to shoot with out cf card. Then perform several high speed burst for several seconds at a time. 1/1000 or higher and high speed continuous burst. It seems to be a common problem with one of the shutter curtains hanging up when not used in high speed burst much. You can google 7d shutter curtain sticking and read more about it.


7DMK2 I EF 24-105 F4L I CANON 70-200 2.8L IS USM II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ferraridude777
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 16, 2015 14:30 as a reply to  @ trx125's post |  #9

Tried your suggestion, trx125. After 2 bursts the error occurred again, unfortunately.


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tylerdan
Member
31 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Feb 16, 2015 16:30 as a reply to  @ ferraridude777's post |  #10

Mine went to through the same process, with the Error 30 becoming more frequent. Ended up going to Canon repair for a new shutter box, around $300 USD total.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ferraridude777
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 16, 2015 20:03 as a reply to  @ tylerdan's post |  #11

Damn, that's rough. I'll probably be in the same boat in terms of price. Hooray for being poor too.


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
trx125
Senior Member
Avatar
345 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Post edited over 4 years ago by trx125.
     
Feb 17, 2015 20:48 |  #12

https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1194653

http://photo.net …gital-camera-forum/00WcpB (external link)

http://www.flickr.com …iscuss/72157627​532873099/ (external link)

^^^ read further down^^^ use manual sensor clean and then do the long(60-100 frames) rapid burst no cf card and no lens.


7DMK2 I EF 24-105 F4L I CANON 70-200 2.8L IS USM II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
trx125
Senior Member
Avatar
345 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
     
Feb 17, 2015 21:08 |  #13

https://photography-on-the.net …read.php?t=1125​003&page=2


7DMK2 I EF 24-105 F4L I CANON 70-200 2.8L IS USM II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ferraridude777
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
78 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
     
Feb 18, 2015 17:59 as a reply to  @ trx125's post |  #14

Thanks for all the info dude. Unfortunately I had to send it off for repair. Some people get lucky and those home remedies work for them, but I guess it just wasn't in the cards for me. Estimate from Canon at $230. I'm just glad I'll have my camera back soon, as I've got a busy shooting schedule ahead of me.

Thanks to everyone else who tried! Sorry to say that I wasn't able to resolve the issue on my own. Good luck to anyone who finds this by searching in the future, there are plenty of resources here to (possibly) fix your own.


1DX, 1D4, 5D3, 7D | 300L f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 17-40 f/4L, 35L f/1.4, 50 f/1.8 STM
http://www.chaddcadyph​oto.com (external link) | https://www.instagram.​com/chaddcady (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,535 views & 1 like for this thread
The Dreaded Error 30 - Canon 7d
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is proxyrdp
1161 guests, 207 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.