Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk 
Thread started 08 Feb 2015 (Sunday) 08:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

60D - Focus Stacking - Magic Lantern

 
shane_c
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by shane_c.
     
Feb 08, 2015 08:01 |  #1

I installed ML on my 60D a few weeks ago but am having trouble figuring out the focus stacking, mainly in relation to setting the start end points. I've watched some tutorials on Youtube but they seem to be using different cameras with a joystick on the back and have different menu settings so I get a little lost after that.

UPDATE: I figured it out and my instructions are in the next post.

:arrow:


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by shane_c. (4 edits in all)
     
Feb 17, 2015 11:48 |  #2

Here's how it works on the 60D

1) Turn the camera on
2) Live View
3) Hit delete button for ML
4) Go to Focus tab
5) Change follow focus to arrows
6) Go to focus end point
7) Use left, right, up, down to select the furthest point
8) Hit Set, then the Q button to change the Focus End Point to 0
9) Hit Set again and use the L,R,U,D to select the closest point and hit the Set button
10) Go to focus stacking and select copy rack focus range (this will automatically adjust the # of pics the camera takes. Setting the focus steps/picture to a lower # will result in more pictures being taken)
11) Go to Run Focus Stack and hit the Set button.


One more question.... what's a good aperture to use when doing focus stacking?


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
Avatar
59,815 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3438
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
     
Feb 18, 2015 03:00 |  #3

Can't help with ML settings but for focus stacking software for free try Combinezp.
For trial software use either zerene stacker or helicon focus.
Think photoshop started with focus stacking in CS4.
Brian v.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
     
Feb 18, 2015 07:03 as a reply to  @ LordV's post |  #4

Thanks Brian!

I'll give CombineZP a try.


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
M424canon
Member
Avatar
186 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 347
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
     
Feb 19, 2015 08:00 as a reply to  @ shane_c's post |  #5

I am having trouble with the stacking routine also, but exposure bracketing is wonderful! Now I can get up to 9 exposures instead of 3 with the standard Canon firmware.
If I get consistent stacking results I will gladly let you know.
Thanks for your insight on stacking so far. Good Luck!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by shane_c.
     
Feb 22, 2015 13:55 |  #6

M424canon wrote in post #17438914 (external link)
I am having trouble with the stacking routine also, but exposure bracketing is wonderful! Now I can get up to 9 exposures instead of 3 with the standard Canon firmware.
If I get consistent stacking results I will gladly let you know.
Thanks for your insight on stacking so far. Good Luck!

I updated the instructions above in post # 2. I have it figured out now!


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
     
Feb 22, 2015 14:35 |  #7

Here are my first two attempts. I'm using the trial version of Zerene Stacker. There is some halo around the edge of the images. I understand this can be corrected in Zerene but I didn't bother since I was just trying to figure out how to get the focus stacking to work.

The first is a total of 14 pictures and the second image is 10 pictures. Neither are anything special but I'm just happy I figured ML out. Both have crappy lighting (a combination of window light and a handheld shop light) and only resized in CS3. I think I'll be bringing home some flowers this week! :-)


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
M424canon
Member
Avatar
186 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 347
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
     
Feb 23, 2015 06:46 as a reply to  @ shane_c's post |  #8

Thanks for the information!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
Avatar
59,815 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3438
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
     
Feb 25, 2015 00:47 |  #9

Glad you got Magic Lantern sorted and thanks for the info.
Brian v.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
riverratmike
Member
Avatar
61 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2014
     
Sep 02, 2015 22:33 as a reply to  @ LordV's post |  #10

I also have the 60D firmware 1.1.1 How do you guys like ML. I'm willing to try it if it won't screw up my camera




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by shane_c.
     
Sep 05, 2015 17:52 |  #11

Have been running it since February with no issues. The camera runs normal but if you want to go into ML you hit the delete button twice to enter the ML menu. I use it for focus stacking and increasing the # of bracketed shots the camera will take. It does lots of other things too but that's all I've tried.

Here's a recent focus stacked image I did.

https://shanecostantin​ophotography.wordpress​.com …a-flower-from-the-meadow/ (external link)


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
     
Jun 13, 2016 17:27 |  #12

I uninstalled ML several months ago because I had installed the Helicon Remote app on my phone and it didn't seem to work with ML on my camera. Helicon Remote worked great at first but has become incredibly buggy to the point where 90% of the time it just freezes after setting the front and back points. I updated the app each time it was revised but it made no difference. So after it freezing on me 5 consecutive times tonight I've decided to uninstall it and go back to ML for focus stacking. I'm just waiting for the battery to charge then I'll be back in the ML club again.


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
54,344 posts
Likes: 1753
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jun 13, 2016 17:35 |  #13

One question shane_c, does ML do well with the very small focus changes? I've seen it used for things like landscapes and such where focus moves quite a bit but always wondered how well it would do for macro where sometimes the change is almost breathing on the focus ring. :) Your samples look pretty good though.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
     
Jun 13, 2016 18:40 as a reply to  @ gjl711's post |  #14

You can set it to 1 focus step per pic. Seems pretty good. The images above aren't that good but I'll try to get some better shots in the next few days. The only thing I'm trying to figure out is how to keep focus peaking on when stacking. It's on when I'm just in live view but when I switch to the focus stacking I seem to lose peaking.


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shane_c
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
661 posts
Likes: 66
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
     
Jun 13, 2016 20:10 |  #15

Updated instructions for how to get focus peaking when stacking focus...

1) Turn the camera on
2) Live View
3) Hit delete button for ML - go to Expo tab and turn off exposure simulation.
4) Go to Focus tab
5) Change follow focus to arrows
6) Go to focus end point (hit Set, then delete)
7) Use left, right, up, down to select the furthest point. Once achieved hit delete to go back to focus stack menu.
8)Hit the Q button to change the Focus End Point to 0, hit set to re-enter live view screen, then hit delete to bring up the focus peaking.
9) Use the L,R,U,D to select the closest point and hit the delete button.

10) Go to focus stacking and select copy rack focus range (this will automatically adjust the # of pics the camera takes. Setting the focus steps/picture to a lower # will result in more pictures being taken)
11) Go to Run Focus Stack and hit the Set button.


Canon 80D - Canon 15-85, Canon 40 STM, Canon 70-200L F4 (non-IS), Canon 1.4x II
G1X, G15
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,514 views & 1 like for this thread
60D - Focus Stacking - Magic Lantern
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
814 guests, 396 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.