Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Nikon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Nikon Cameras 
Thread started 05 Feb 2010 (Friday) 20:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Got a Nikon? Share your thoughts and photos here or ask a question! (III)

 
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
     
Mar 16, 2015 10:56 |  #6571

ptcanon3ti wrote in post #17477346 (external link)
I've never shot, with a flash, on auto iso.

Just a guess here ----> But if you are shooting ttl it would make sense that the iso would go crazy. The camera is seeing a darker than normal situation and is trying to make it correct. The flash is fired and the camera can't react that fast.


I never had this problem with the D600. It just seemed odd the 750 had this issue. Also, when I shot ambient light I was getting 1/60, f5.6 ISO 4000 for numbers.......




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
smythie
I wasn't even trying
3,719 posts
Gallery: 30 photos
Likes: 650
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney - Australia
     
Mar 16, 2015 14:24 |  #6572

My D4 will tend to run ISO 400 if I forget to turn AutoISO off when using flash (usually at 1/200s and a pretty narrow aperture in my use). It does sound strange that the flash isn't telling your D750 that it doesn't need to ramp right up


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
     
Mar 16, 2015 15:09 |  #6573

smythie wrote in post #17477684 (external link)
My D4 will tend to run ISO 400 if I forget to turn AutoISO off when using flash (usually at 1/200s and a pretty narrow aperture in my use). It does sound strange that the flash isn't telling your D750 that it doesn't need to ramp right up


Yeah I thought it strange too. Can't tell if it is the camera or the flash causing the problem. I may end up upgrading the flash.......




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,382 posts
Gallery: 438 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6448
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
Post edited over 4 years ago by ptcanon3ti.
     
Mar 16, 2015 17:48 |  #6574

D750 & Sigma 24-105 Art

IMAGE: https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8599/16650639668_ea22c781a9_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/rnmT​5h  (external link) windy atlantus sunset 48" 485 (external link) by PETshots (external link), on Flickr

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7621/16837157701_a299259a33_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/rDQQ​or  (external link) Lighthouse glow s 472 (external link) by PETshots (external link), on Flickr

Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kitacanon
Goldmember
4,706 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 35
Joined Sep 2006
Location: West Palm Beach
     
Mar 16, 2015 21:23 |  #6575

Nice seascapes!


My Canon kit 450D/s90; Canon lenses 18-55 IS, 70-210/3.5-4.5....Nikon kit: D610; 28-105/3.5-4.5, 75-300/4.5-5.6 AF, 50/1.8D Nikkors, Tamron 80-210; MF Nikkors: 50/2K, 50/1.4 AI-S, 50/1.8 SeriesE, 60/2.8 Micro Nikkor (AF locked), 85mm/1.8K-AI, 105/2.5 AIS/P.C, 135/2.8K/Q.C, 180/2.8 ED, 200/4Q/AIS, 300/4.5H-AI, ++ Tamron 70-210/3.8-4, Vivitar/Kiron 28/2, ser.1 70-210/3.5, ser.1 28-90; Vivitar/Komine and Samyang 28/2.8; 35mm Nikon F/FM/FE2, Rebel 2K...HTC RE UWA camera

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Post edited over 4 years ago by Bob_A.
     
Mar 16, 2015 21:32 |  #6576

Southswede wrote in post #17477275 (external link)
Is anyone using the D750 with the SB700? I noticed when shooting TTL with auto ISO that the camera is cranking the ISO up way to high for the shooting conditions. I was wondering if it is me, the camera, the flash or a combination......

That's exactly what should happen. Similarly, if there isn't a lot of light, when you set ISO and put the camera in S then the aperture would go wide open and if you used A the shutter-speed would go to the limit you've set for the "Flash Shutter Speed".

Just remember that the background/ambient exposure is controlled by the what you select for ISO, shutter speed or aperture and the subject exposure is controlled by TTL flash metering. No matter what system I use, Canon, Nikon, whatever, I set the camera to Manual and select the combination of ISO, ss and aperture to get the ambient exposure the way I want and let the flash metering get the subject exposure right.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
Post edited over 4 years ago by Southswede. (2 edits in all)
     
Mar 17, 2015 05:28 |  #6577

Bob_A wrote in post #17478265 (external link)
That's exactly what should happen. Similarly, if there isn't a lot of light, when you set ISO and put the camera in S then the aperture would go wide open and if you used A the shutter-speed would go to the limit you've set for the "Flash Shutter Speed".

Just remember that the background/ambient exposure is controlled by the what you select for ISO, shutter speed or aperture and the subject exposure is controlled by TTL flash metering. No matter what system I use, Canon, Nikon, whatever, I set the camera to Manual and select the combination of ISO, ss and aperture to get the ambient exposure the way I want and let the flash metering get the subject exposure right.


Why would the flash cause the auto ISO to go above 25,000? Taking the flash off the camera all together and shooting with ambient light gave me settings in the area of 1/60, f5.6 and an auto ISO of 4,000. Why would adding the flash move the ISO up to more than 25,000?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HogansHeroes
Goldmember
Avatar
1,999 posts
Gallery: 124 photos
Likes: 614
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Iowa
     
Mar 17, 2015 07:21 |  #6578

Nikon p@s P510 with some Ice Geysers on the river.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


"Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop."
-Ansel Adams

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nutmeger ­ Photos
Member
Avatar
43 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Mar 17, 2015 16:52 as a reply to  @ Southswede's post |  #6579

Check your flash exposure +/- settings. Maybe it is asking the camera to over expose with the flash on.
Not sure if this is your issue but I was able to simulate a similar response on my D750 and SB700


BTH Photos

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
     
Mar 17, 2015 19:09 |  #6580

Nutmeger Photos wrote in post #17479415 (external link)
Check your flash exposure +/- settings. Maybe it is asking the camera to over expose with the flash on.
Not sure if this is your issue but I was able to simulate a similar response on my D750 and SB700


Thanks for the reply. I checked that right away when things looked grainy. Flash was not over exposing. I've switched back to my SB600 until I can play with the 700 more.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Post edited over 4 years ago by Bob_A. (2 edits in all)
     
Mar 18, 2015 00:53 |  #6581

Southswede wrote in post #17478624 (external link)
Why would the flash cause the auto ISO to go above 25,000? Taking the flash off the camera all together and shooting with ambient light gave me settings in the area of 1/60, f5.6 and an auto ISO of 4,000. Why would adding the flash move the ISO up to more than 25,000?

The following is based on how my D700 works, but I believe there isn't any real difference with the newer Nikon cameras.


Is there any chance you have the ISO set above 25,000? If you do, the camera will display that number in the viewfinder when the flash is mounted, although when you take a shot the ISO required will be calculated after the preflash and be much, much lower ... probably 400 to 1000'ish. To calculate the right background exposure the contribution of the light from flash (used for subject exposure) needs to be subtracted.

Until the pre-flash is fired, the camera doesn't know exactly what ISO will be required to get the background/ambient exposure right so it "displays" the ISO the camera is set at (not the auto-ISO value). If you take a shot and look at the actual values that were used, the ISO is not the same as what the viewfinder displayed. This is the correct behaviour.

However, when you remove the flash, auto-ISO displays the ISO it's going to use because you no longer have to worry about the extra light added by the flash. This number should be slightly higher than the value ACTUALLY USED (not displayed) when you shot using flash.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Southswede
Senior Member
950 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2004
Post edited over 4 years ago by Southswede.
     
Mar 18, 2015 18:10 |  #6582

Bob_A wrote in post #17479914 (external link)
The following is based on how my D700 works, but I believe there isn't any real difference with the newer Nikon cameras.

Is there any chance you have the ISO set above 25,000? If you do, the camera will display that number in the viewfinder when the flash is mounted, although when you take a shot the ISO required will be calculated after the preflash and be much, much lower ... probably 400 to 1000'ish. To calculate the right background exposure the contribution of the light from flash (used for subject exposure) needs to be subtracted.

Until the pre-flash is fired, the camera doesn't know exactly what ISO will be required to get the background/ambient exposure right so it "displays" the ISO the camera is set at (not the auto-ISO value). If you take a shot and look at the actual values that were used, the ISO is not the same as what the viewfinder displayed. This is the correct behaviour.

However, when you remove the flash, auto-ISO displays the ISO it's going to use because you no longer have to worry about the extra light added by the flash. This number should be slightly higher than the value ACTUALLY USED (not displayed) when you shot using flash.


I checked that and the ISO was set to auto. The starting point for the ISO was 100.

I have been trying to replicate the issue and have not been able to do so. This tells me I am just a bit.......dim and as such the problem is with ME and not the equipment. Sigh..........




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Mar 18, 2015 23:59 as a reply to  @ Southswede's post |  #6583

LOL Sometimes these cameras have too many features. It's pretty easy to get a setting wrong.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
twistys4me
Goldmember
1,168 posts
Likes: 193
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Federal way Wa.
     
Mar 20, 2015 19:49 |  #6584

IMAGE: http://jasonwalker.smugmug.com/Other/Other/i-7CQc5X8/0/X2/DSC_4276-X2.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://jasonwalker.smu​gmug.com/Other/Other/i​-7CQc5X8/A  (external link) -- --
IMAGE: http://jasonwalker.smugmug.com/Other/Other/i-88gWZfq/0/X2/DSC_4396-X2.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://jasonwalker.smu​gmug.com/Other/Other/i​-88gWZfq/A  (external link) -- --
IMAGE: http://jasonwalker.smugmug.com/Other/Other/i-hw8F4vw/0/X2/DSC_4412-X2.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://jasonwalker.smu​gmug.com/Other/Other/i​-hw8F4vw/A  (external link) -- --

http://www.jasonwalker​.smugmug.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pagman
I just hold the thing :-)
Avatar
9,025 posts
Gallery: 2050 photos
Likes: 9986
Joined Dec 2011
     
Mar 20, 2015 20:06 |  #6585

Nice pics Jason did you see the Eclipse?

P.


Some stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,397,036 views & 1,177 likes for this thread
Got a Nikon? Share your thoughts and photos here or ask a question! (III)
FORUMS Nikon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Nikon Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is keke10
1279 guests, 276 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.