Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 21 Apr 2015 (Tuesday) 22:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom 6 ~ 'Upgrade' Link

 
jc1350
Member
157 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Maryland
     
Apr 23, 2015 13:41 |  #16

Right before I posted it. Maybe they had some web page problems that were fixed in between.


--
John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
Avatar
18,085 posts
Gallery: 1816 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 54372
Joined Jul 2013
     
Apr 23, 2015 14:55 |  #17

Bought and downloaded LR6 standalone, haven't the nerve yet to install :)


flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Immaculens
THREAD ­ STARTER
creeped by the TF....
Avatar
13,120 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 2902
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Southern Canada
Post edited over 4 years ago by Immaculens.
     
Apr 23, 2015 16:20 |  #18

I asked on the Adobe - Lightroom Forum if the "Try" Lightroom will appear like it did for when Lr5 came out, or in other words downloading the Lightroom file and having 30 days to try it out without also downloading all the CC stuff too.

The answer from Adobe staff was "No."

But after the 30 day trial if you prefer to buy a serial number for Lr6 instead of the monthly subscription, he provided me this link.

https://helpx.adobe.co​m …ivate-as-lightroom-6.html (external link)

I then asked if the software allows you to buy the upgrade for $79, and he replied 'yes'


Will immaculens.com (external link)

7Dmk II gripped | 150-600 (Σ) OS C | 55-250 IS STM | 100L f/2.8 IS Macro | 15-85 IS | 50 f/1.8 STM | 30 Σ f/1.4 'A'
Learn to love to do well, and you shall. ~ C. Poseidon

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
werds
"Yes, Sire. You'll shut your trap!"
Avatar
613 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Likes: 64
Joined Mar 2014
Location: Delaware
     
Apr 23, 2015 17:50 |  #19

Immaculens wrote in post #17529771 (external link)
I asked on the Adobe - Lightroom Forum if the "Try" Lightroom will appear like it did for when Lr5 came out, or in other words downloading the Lightroom file and having 30 days to try it out without also downloading all the CC stuff too.

The answer from Adobe staff was "No."

But after the 30 day trial if you prefer to buy a serial number for Lr6 instead of the monthly subscription, he provided me this link.

https://helpx.adobe.co​m …ivate-as-lightroom-6.html (external link)

I then asked if the software allows you to buy the upgrade for $79, and he replied 'yes'

Would installing that CC version though screw up my currently working and fully functioning 5.7 install?


Gear: Nikon D750, Nikon D7200, Sigma 17-50 2.8 OS, Sigma 50-150 2.8 OS HSM EX , Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR1, Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC, Tamron 28-300mm Di VC PZD, Tamron 16-300mm VC PZD, Tamron 150-600 VC, Nikon AF-S 50mm 1.8, Nikon SB-900
POTN Seller Feedback (and other)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,590 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 528
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
Apr 23, 2015 17:54 |  #20

I don't understand why so many seem to have trouble with this. I bought the upgrade yesterday, downloaded it, installed it and it works perfectly. No more difficult than any other upgrade or update version I've downloaded since LR3.

I love the Pano merge... does a really nice job and saves it in the LR catalog as a .dng. Haven't tried any of the other new features yet.


Rick
6D Mark II - EF 17-40 f4 L -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PG1
Member
163 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Australia & Nth America
Post edited over 4 years ago by PG1.
     
Apr 23, 2015 18:02 |  #21

Trying to buy the upgrade version. But cannot go past the checkout screen to actually pay when it is in my cart - don't see an option/button to go to next screen. Using safari on Mac.

Also, don't see payment options in Canadian dollars - even when on the Canadian website.

I have never had so much trouble buying stuff online!


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Too much gear, not enough skill or time!
5DIII, 6D & 7D; 16-35 L, 24-70 II L, 70-200 f/2.8 II L, 100-400 L, 135 L, 35 L, 24 TSE L, 50 1.4, 85 1.8
Extender 1.4 II. 580 EX. Gitzo 1541T, 3541LS, Markins Q3T, Q20.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Immaculens
THREAD ­ STARTER
creeped by the TF....
Avatar
13,120 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 2902
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Southern Canada
     
Apr 23, 2015 18:06 |  #22

PG1 wrote in post #17529875 (external link)
Also, don't see payment options in Canadian dollars - even when on the Canadian website.

you will pay in US dollars my friend. your credit card will convert it... unfortunately that means paying about 20% more, plus tax...


Will immaculens.com (external link)

7Dmk II gripped | 150-600 (Σ) OS C | 55-250 IS STM | 100L f/2.8 IS Macro | 15-85 IS | 50 f/1.8 STM | 30 Σ f/1.4 'A'
Learn to love to do well, and you shall. ~ C. Poseidon

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PG1
Member
163 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Australia & Nth America
     
Apr 23, 2015 18:11 as a reply to  @ Immaculens's post |  #23

I am resigned to that ... but if only I could get to the next screen to pay! It is a dead end for some reason. Will have to try another browser/computer....


Too much gear, not enough skill or time!
5DIII, 6D & 7D; 16-35 L, 24-70 II L, 70-200 f/2.8 II L, 100-400 L, 135 L, 35 L, 24 TSE L, 50 1.4, 85 1.8
Extender 1.4 II. 580 EX. Gitzo 1541T, 3541LS, Markins Q3T, Q20.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Immaculens
THREAD ­ STARTER
creeped by the TF....
Avatar
13,120 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 2902
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Southern Canada
     
Apr 23, 2015 18:12 |  #24

are you using any ad or pop-up or cookie blocker plugins for your browser?


Will immaculens.com (external link)

7Dmk II gripped | 150-600 (Σ) OS C | 55-250 IS STM | 100L f/2.8 IS Macro | 15-85 IS | 50 f/1.8 STM | 30 Σ f/1.4 'A'
Learn to love to do well, and you shall. ~ C. Poseidon

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PG1
Member
163 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Australia & Nth America
Post edited over 4 years ago by PG1.
     
Apr 23, 2015 18:15 as a reply to  @ Immaculens's post |  #25

Good thought. Using Ghostery - will disable and try again. Thanks.

Update - that worked. Thanks again. Never had that issue before.


Too much gear, not enough skill or time!
5DIII, 6D & 7D; 16-35 L, 24-70 II L, 70-200 f/2.8 II L, 100-400 L, 135 L, 35 L, 24 TSE L, 50 1.4, 85 1.8
Extender 1.4 II. 580 EX. Gitzo 1541T, 3541LS, Markins Q3T, Q20.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jc1350
Member
157 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Maryland
     
Apr 23, 2015 19:03 |  #26

werds wrote in post #17529858 (external link)
Would installing that CC version though screw up my currently working and fully functioning 5.7 install?

No, it's a separate install. On first launch it will ask if you want to COPY then upgrade your catalog or create a new one. Your older 5.7 installation and catalog will remain intact if you want to switch back. Of course, that means edits in one version won't apply in the other's catalog.


--
John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ebiggs
Senior Member
Avatar
638 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 70
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Spring Hill, KS
     
Apr 24, 2015 01:05 |  #27

I have already tried and returned LR6. Got the CC version and it was impossible to register no matter how much I tried. Finally got two different CS guys. Neither was able to help.

Tried your link tonite and got clear to the d/l page and no-go. Can not d/l the stand alone version at all.


G1x, EOS 1Dx, EOS 1D Mk IV, ef 8-15mm f4L,
ef 16-35mm f2.8L II, ef 24-70mm f2.8L II, ef 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II,
Sigma 150-600mm f5-6.3 DG OS HSM Sport
*** PS 6, ACR 9.3, Lightroom 6.5 ***

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fqo63
Member
56 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: LA..Lower Alabama
     
Apr 24, 2015 07:59 as a reply to  @ ebiggs's post |  #28

After a LONG chat session with Adobe, which included modifying a Windows file, I was finally able to validate my LR6.
I STILL cannot use LR6 though...there is a large blue rectangle in the center panel of the Develop module.

I am amazed that Adobe would allow a program that does not work, to be released. What a black eye they've given themselves....Sheeeesh​.


5D3 7D 17-40L 24-105L 100-400L 17-85 18-200 75-300 Siggy 170-500 Tamy 28-300 Metz 45 & 60 strobes, other stuff...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jc1350
Member
157 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Maryland
Post edited over 4 years ago by jc1350.
     
Apr 24, 2015 08:46 |  #29

fqo63 wrote in post #17530588 (external link)
After a LONG chat session with Adobe, which included modifying a Windows file, I was finally able to validate my LR6.
I STILL cannot use LR6 though...there is a large blue rectangle in the center panel of the Develop module.

I am amazed that Adobe would allow a program that does not work, to be released. What a black eye they've given themselves....Sheeeesh​.

If it's similar to this https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17529312 you may need to turn off the default setting that offloads processing to the GPU. It's under the "performance" button in the main preferences if I recall (I'm not at my LR computer).


--
John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JasonMK
Goldmember
Avatar
1,377 posts
Gallery: 75 photos
Likes: 147
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Janesville, WI
     
Apr 24, 2015 09:05 |  #30

Updated from 5.7 to 6 this morning without any issues. Thanks for the heads up to look for it.


-JasonMK on Flickr (external link)
1Ds Mark III | 650D | EF 17~40mm 4L | EF-S 18~135 STM | EF 50mm 1.4 | EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro | Tamron 70~300mm 4.0-5.6 Di VC USD XLD | 430 EX III | 430 EX II | Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW | EF 25 II | PS CC | LR CC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,664 views & 2 likes for this thread
Lightroom 6 ~ 'Upgrade' Link
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mogeqq
973 guests, 284 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.