Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 16 May 2015 (Saturday) 10:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

SSD in Laptop, spinning disk for clone?

 
LARAB
Member
Avatar
73 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
     
May 16, 2015 10:23 |  #1

I am using a Samsung 840 EVO in my laptop, and a WD Blue for a periodic clone. With the recent issues surrounding the 840 I downloaded Samsung's disk utility and configured based on those recommendations. It occurred to me me that those system configurations may cause problems using a non-ssd as my bootable clone.

I am not tech-savy enough to know, anyone have experience in these matters?

-Brian




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bk2life
Senior Member
583 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 40
Joined Nov 2010
Location: az/ca/hi/afg
     
May 16, 2015 10:44 |  #2

yes.

keep a back-up image (copy) of your computer on a HD.

use the SSD in the laptop


-james
5Diii|7D|Nifty 50|Canon 17-55mm-2.8|Canon 70-200L 2.8 IS ii|2x 600EX-RT|ST-E3-RT|CS6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LARAB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
73 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
     
May 16, 2015 11:54 |  #3

I am already running the drives as mentioned - it was the dis-similarity of the drives and configuration based on one and not the other that concerned me. In the event that the SSD fails and I install the spinning disk, will the settings for the SSD (now on the spinning disk) cause problems? I assume I could disable the Samsung disk utility after installing the WD.

Time to swap drives and find out...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,504 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 723
Joined Aug 2009
     
May 16, 2015 12:01 |  #4

It'll be fine. The Samsung Magician just won't find any Samsung SSDs.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kolor-Pikker
Goldmember
2,790 posts
Likes: 59
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Moscow
     
May 16, 2015 12:06 |  #5

You can probably swap them no problem, but the Samsung related utilities won't work anymore. Otherwise, both drives use the same port and protocol, so I doubt the computer itself would get confused. I'm sure it'll disable TRIM automatically, but you can check.


5DmkII | 24-70 f/2.8L II | Pentax 645Z | 55/2.8 SDM | 120/4 Macro | 150/2.8 IF
I acquired an expensive camera so I can hang out in forums, annoy wedding photographers during formals and look down on P&S users... all the while telling people it's the photographer, not the camera.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 373
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
May 17, 2015 03:55 |  #6

You don't need to clone it to another disk, use Macrium Reflect Free (external link) to keep an image on a spinning drive. Of course if you have a huge SSD with things on it like catalog, cache, and heaps of data the image will be huge. That's why I have one SSD for OS and programs and one for data. The OS drive is 120GB but only 40GB used, the other drive is 120GB and probably about the same used. Maybe not efficient but good for backups.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,005 views & 1 like for this thread
SSD in Laptop, spinning disk for clone?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is elkaboing
950 guests, 264 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.