Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 29 Apr 2015 (Wednesday) 11:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Converting a monster archive...

 
Rob612
Goldmember
Avatar
2,459 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Rome, Italy
     
Apr 29, 2015 11:40 |  #1

Alright, here is the scenario:

I have a photo archive in TIFF format (almost all 3600 dpi) that counts about 15K images organized in several hundreds of folders and subfolders.

Now, the point is, I need to convert this monster (it's about 2 TB) in an identical archive (same tree structure) but with all the images converted in JPG@100 dpi (or whatever, anyway much less than 3600).

Lightroom 6CC doesn't do the trick, the export function does not recreate the folder tree. Bridge crashes while importing...

Anybody knows about a tool that can handle such a situation ? I am sure that I am not the first one in the world to have such a problem, I have tried several freeware tools, but they all failed in a way or another, either they fail the import, or they do not recreate the tree o somehting else...

Any suggestion ??

Thanks


www.raphotography.eu (external link)

Don't let your mouth write a check your butt can't cash.
Anonymous

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jethr0
Senior Member
Avatar
916 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 510
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
     
Apr 29, 2015 19:26 |  #2

Microsoft or Apple?


www.jefflowe.ca (external link)
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jeff​lowe.ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,920 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Post edited over 3 years ago by tim.
     
Apr 29, 2015 19:35 |  #3

Photoshop image processor script - it's built in, file -> scripts from memory. Alternately you could probably write an action.

Do you have PS? If not Irfanview might do it.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
54,084 posts
Likes: 1593
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Apr 29, 2015 19:45 |  #4

Don't do the whole thing, break it into pieces.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rob612
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,459 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Rome, Italy
     
Apr 30, 2015 02:28 |  #5

Thanks ya'll...

I am working on a windows machine, and if possible I'd rather do the whole thing in one single pass, no matter how long it takes.

Ill'give a try to Irfanview, any other options you folks are aware of ??


www.raphotography.eu (external link)

Don't let your mouth write a check your butt can't cash.
Anonymous

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,920 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 30, 2015 03:25 |  #6

Irfanview : File -> Batch Convert. That'll do it for sure.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekim92
Mostly Lurking
11 posts
Joined Apr 2015
     
May 04, 2015 19:47 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

The reason it's not recommended to do it all at once, is if something fails, it can end up invalidating the whole process.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 84
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Post edited over 3 years ago by hollis_f.
     
May 05, 2015 04:19 |  #8

FastStone's 'Batch Image Convert/Rename' will do this. I'm not sure if it will be happy with 15,000 images - but it's free so you can try it yourself (actually, as you're using it for commercial purposes it'll cost you $35).


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rob612
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,459 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Rome, Italy
     
May 06, 2015 10:20 |  #9

I know that if something fails is screwa up averything, but... for me, it's easier to let the computer do its job for a couple of days alone (and eventually repaet the process) than waste a day or so doing it in sections :) Ill'give a try a FastStone's...


www.raphotography.eu (external link)

Don't let your mouth write a check your butt can't cash.
Anonymous

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Reiep
Senior Member
Avatar
447 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 783
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Orléans, France / Cluj-Napoca, Romania
     
Jun 22, 2015 04:00 |  #10

Rob612 wrote in post #17537256 (external link)
Lightroom 6CC doesn't do the trick, the export function does not recreate the folder tree.

The Lightroom Tree Mirror Export plugin is free and does the trick. I exported a few tens of thousands of JPEG this way.


Website (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RileyNZL
Senior Member
Avatar
612 posts
Gallery: 121 photos
Likes: 165
Joined Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand - Dunedin
     
Jul 06, 2015 05:25 |  #11

Changing the DPI won't make a difference unless your also setting a physical size, you would be better just dropping them to a set resolution of your choice, of even just leaving the resolution alone as ust going from tiff to jpeg will reduce the file size a lot (assuming that is what you are trying to do)


Canon 1Dx |Canon 6D|Canon 24-70 F2.8 L MkII|Canon 16-35 F4 L|Sigma 70-200 F2.8 EX OS|Canon 400mm f5.6 L|Sigma 50mm F1.4|Canon 600EX's|Gitzo Explorer Tripod|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,622 views & 0 likes for this thread
Converting a monster archive...
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Arkadio
988 guests, 442 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.