Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 31 Mar 2015 (Tuesday) 14:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon EOS Movie Utility...What Utility Does It Have?

 
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,973 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 513
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2015 14:31 |  #1

Granted, this is a rant:

First, it only supports a subset of Canon's video-capable cameras: 1Dc, 1Dx, 5D Mk III, 6D, 7D Mk II, and 70D.

Second, it will only merge clips from the 1Dc or the 70D Mk II...which is the single most important task anyone would specifically need this kind of camera-manufacturer video utility to perform.

Considering the 4gig limit for DSLR video clips, why for that matter does the task of merging them seem to be an afterthought relegated to obscure third-party utility programs? It's a clumsy operation even in Premiere Pro.

Search for "split a clip" and everybody does that, but search for joining, merging, or concatenating a clip and only third-party utilities readily step up to that plate.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
frugivore
Goldmember
Avatar
3,089 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 118
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Post edited over 4 years ago by frugivore.
     
Mar 31, 2015 15:38 |  #2

Pardon my ignorance, but why would one need to merge clips? Is it to organize your clips better? Is it to make editing easier?

My video editor syncs up all my clips, but I'd like to know if merging them will provide some benefit.

And to your rant, are you suggesting that Canon purposely did not include functionality for older cameras in order to sell their newer cameras?

Edit: Could a user not just combine the clips within the editor and export as a single clip? How is this different from what the EOS movie utility does?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,267 posts
Likes: 306
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Jun 14, 2015 11:13 |  #3

I'm new to video, but I'll take a rookie stab at an answer. Just because you have a dozen clips doesn't mean they are well suited to be put next to each other into a single playable video. So, you edit and then make a story out of it.


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jun 22, 2015 15:26 |  #4

I've never used the utility but I can't really see a situation where I would simply merge clips to produce an end product. After all, with the limitations in place there will always be a gap in the merged video.

If that's all you want / need to do however, MPEG Streamclip will join clips. It is a free application and many can vouch for it.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
THREAD ­ STARTER
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,973 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 513
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 24, 2015 22:44 |  #5

joeblack2022 wrote in post #17606721 (external link)
I've never used the utility but I can't really see a situation where I would simply merge clips to produce an end product. After all, with the limitations in place there will always be a gap in the merged video.

If that's all you want / need to do however, MPEG Streamclip will join clips. It is a free application and many can vouch for it.

Actually, when the camera creates a new file when it hits its 4 gig file limit, there is no gap at all. Not a single frame is missed.

That new file creation occurs strictly because of the operating system file size limit, so if the intent was to create a continuous recording, there is every reason in the world to merge those files quickly and simply in a utility and handle it as the intended continuous recording thereafter.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jun 26, 2015 12:14 |  #6

RDKirk wrote in post #17609763 (external link)
Actually, when the camera creates a new file when it hits its 4 gig file limit, there is no gap at all. Not a single frame is missed.

That new file creation occurs strictly because of the operating system file size limit, so if the intent was to create a continuous recording, there is every reason in the world to merge those files quickly and simply in a utility and handle it as the intended continuous recording thereafter.

Ah my apologies - I was thinking of recordings going past the 29 minute limit, not the file size limitation.

Have you tried out MPEG Streamclip? There is also a way to do it via the command line in Windows as well if you're into that kind of thing.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,267 posts
Likes: 306
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Jun 26, 2015 15:26 |  #7

I guess we should have asked what kind of clips- like random clips, or contiguous recording like a performance recording. I'm pretty sure programs like Photoshop Premiere Elements would do this also. It the selective cutting of each clip that you'll need a more robust program.


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,673 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon EOS Movie Utility...What Utility Does It Have?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bsipka
1002 guests, 353 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.