Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 10 Oct 2014 (Friday) 05:17
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

60D / 6D files to TV?

 
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jun 26, 2015 16:27 |  #16
bannedPermanent ban

Ok. Major fail. I went to the electronics store. Clerk picked out a mini-HDMI cable for me. It fit the camera and the TV HDMI port. Nothing. I had the video playing on the camera, plug in the cable to the camera, still playing, plug into the TV, nothing on camera, and "NO SIGNAL" on TV. The clerk tried a few dozen combinations of turn camera/Tv off/on. No luck. Verified proper HDMI connection. Tried cycling through all the HDMI inputs. Nothing. He passed me off to a second clerk who repeated everything and then tried a second TV. Nothing. I went back to the manual. It basically says: Plug in the mini-HDMI cable, press PLAY, watch movie. Not on my camera.

I can't get over the feeling that I am missing something basic and simple here. A video camera should be able to output to a video display device without this much trouble.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jun 26, 2015 16:34 |  #17

GeoKras1989 wrote in post #17611683 (external link)
Ok. Major fail.

Which camera did you bring to the store?

If I remember I'll try to do the same with the 60D at home.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jun 26, 2015 16:48 |  #18
bannedPermanent ban

60D. Thanks.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jun 26, 2015 17:55 |  #19

I had the 60D in playback mode and when connected to the TV was able to see video. The input list even showed the input as "Canon 60D".

There is still the menu overlay as you would see on the camera LCD, so it might be lacking for what you have in mind but in any case you should see some signal connected to the TV.

The cable is nothing special and I found it off eBay from a Chinese seller.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
Post edited over 4 years ago by GeoKras1989.
     
Jun 26, 2015 19:38 |  #20
bannedPermanent ban

So far I have tried two cables. When I plug in the cable, the rear LCD on the camera goes blank, as it should. All I get on the TV is "NO SIGNAL". Yes, I've tried all of the HDMI input channels. I have videos and stills on the card in the camera. Nothing shows up on the TV but "NO SIGNAL".

EDIT: Tried cycling the camera on and off, too. "NO SIGNAL" is all I can get on the TV. Funny thing is that it works (in standard definition) if I just plug the USB-out into the TV with the red/white/yellow RCA/USB cable.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jun 26, 2015 20:47 as a reply to  @ GeoKras1989's post |  #21

My LCD doesn't go blank when connected, I haven't looked too much into the issue but maybe resetting the camera settings might help in your case.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jul 03, 2015 04:51 |  #22
bannedPermanent ban

I ordered a new HDMI cable yesterday. I hope that solves my problem. Will re-flash firmware, too. Thanks.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jul 07, 2015 15:24 |  #23
bannedPermanent ban

Just a follow up, if you please. My new HDMI cable arrived today. Sure enough, just plug it in and play the videos. Works on both cameras, at all resolutions, on all TVs. Thanks for getting me going here.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Jul 08, 2015 13:27 as a reply to  @ GeoKras1989's post |  #24

Hope you were able to return the faulty cable - it's pretty bad that they couldn't get you going in the store...


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Jul 08, 2015 16:10 |  #25
bannedPermanent ban

Yep. They took it back for full refund as soon as they gave up trying to get it to work. I got one at Amazon.com for $6.94. Problem solved.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
Post edited over 4 years ago by joeblack2022.
     
Jul 09, 2015 15:01 as a reply to  @ GeoKras1989's post |  #26

With HDMI being a digital interface, the cable quality doesn't really matter except for specific scenarios.

There's tons of tests on the internet where expensive branded cable was pitted against cheap cable and there was literally no difference.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,525 views & 0 likes for this thread
60D / 6D files to TV?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fitactions
681 guests, 258 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.