Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 19 Jul 2015 (Sunday) 18:54
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D2 Metering Issue After Two Repairs

 
kesterc
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
     
Jul 19, 2015 18:54 |  #1

My 7D2 doesn't meter properly. For example, In bright sunlight and in P/AV modes, the camera is setting Shutter speed at 8 - 20 ( it fluctuates) seconds resulting in extremely overexposed photos. The problem does not occur in Live View mode, which tells me that something is wrong with the Viewfinder metering sensor.

The camera, of course, works fine in Manual ..but you can't rely on the meter.

So I have had it sent to Canon, twice. And each time it came back, it worked great for about a day and then reverted back to metering incorrectly.
I have tried different lenses, resetting the camera, playing with settings and more. Nothing is getting it out of this condition.

I am overseas and I don't think I can afford to send it to Canon again. I've been on the phone a few times with them, and I can't get a straight answer as to what is wrong with the camera. But i'll keep trying...

Has anybody experienced anything like this ?



flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,677 posts
Likes: 1285
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited over 5 years ago by John from PA.
     
Jul 19, 2015 19:04 |  #2

kesterc wrote in post #17637021 (external link)
...each time it came back, it worked great for about a day and then reverted back to metering incorrectly.
I have tried different lenses, resetting the camera, playing with settings and more. Nothing is getting it out of this condition.

If I understand things, twice you've gotten the camera back from Canon, it worked fine for awhile, the started acting up. Perhaps there is something you are doing after Canon looks at things. Get your manual and reset the camera to the factory settings. Clear the custom functions as well. Then retest. If it is OK start taking notes as you personalize the camera. If it acts up, retrace what you did.

You might also post a photo with the EXIF intact. We might be able to determine if it is a setting causing your problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kesterc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
     
Jul 19, 2015 21:39 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #3

Yes, I've reset the camera, and reset custom functions.
Both times, the camera went into this condition while I was shooting.



flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kesterc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
Post edited over 5 years ago by kesterc.
     
Jul 19, 2015 22:24 |  #4

Actually just found somebody else with the exact same issue...
http://www.canonrumors​.com/forum/index.php?t​opic=25267.0 (external link)

Can't exactly return to dealer, as I had it for a few months and already got 35k on the clock.



flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe52
Goldmember
Avatar
3,131 posts
Gallery: 151 photos
Likes: 1082
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Dorset, UK
     
Jul 20, 2015 02:52 |  #5

What did Canon say they did for the repair? & haven't they offered to send a shipping label so there is no cost to you, seems like very bad service from Canon.


My 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
4,028 posts
Gallery: 54 photos
Likes: 598
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
Post edited over 5 years ago by mwsilver.
     
Jul 20, 2015 10:51 |  #6

kesterc wrote in post #17637021 (external link)
My 7D2 doesn't meter properly. For example, In bright sunlight and in P/AV modes, the camera is setting Shutter speed at 8 - 20 ( it fluctuates) seconds resulting in extremely overexposed photos. The problem does not occur in Live View mode, which tells me that something is wrong with the Viewfinder metering sensor.

The camera, of course, works fine in Manual ..but you can't rely on the meter.

So I have had it sent to Canon, twice. And each time it came back, it worked great for about a day and then reverted back to metering incorrectly.
I have tried different lenses, resetting the camera, playing with settings and more. Nothing is getting it out of this condition.

I am overseas and I don't think I can afford to send it to Canon again. I've been on the phone a few times with them, and I can't get a straight answer as to what is wrong with the camera. But i'll keep trying...

Has anybody experienced anything like this ?

I just searched for this problem myself using a variety of search criteria, and could only find this problem reported in your thread and the Canon Rumors reference which you posted. Clearly this is not a common issue. You mention P/AV modes. Does it also malfunction in Tv and Auto+ modes? Did you try testing out with both auto ISO and specific ISO values? Do different apertures or shutter speeds have any effect on the issue? How about when using the built in flash? Are you using 3rd party batteries? Or a 3rd party grip? I'm trying to understand whether there is a unique set of circumstances involved. As a new 7DII owner myself, I would love to get to the bottom of this and help you resolve your issue.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,637 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 2202
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Jul 20, 2015 12:20 |  #7

John from PA wrote in post #17637036 (external link)
...You might also post a photo with the EXIF intact. We might be able to determine if it is a setting causing your problem.

^^^^THIS.

If you'll post a pic with EXIF intact, I'll bet that we can find the problem.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JWdlft
Senior Member
330 posts
Likes: 64
Joined Feb 2013
     
Jul 20, 2015 13:47 |  #8

Are you (accidentally) dialing in exposure compensation with the rear wheel while in Av/P/Tv?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,319 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2011
     
Jul 20, 2015 13:53 |  #9

Just to ask the simple question...you are using the correct meter in M mode...right?


Cameras: 7D2, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-135 STM, 24-70 f/4L IS USM, 50 f/1.4 USM,70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: 430 EX II, Luma Labs Loop 3, CamRanger

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,637 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 2202
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Post edited over 5 years ago by rrblint.
     
Jul 20, 2015 14:12 |  #10

JWdlft wrote in post #17637896 (external link)
Are you (accidentally) dialing in exposure compensation with the rear wheel while in Av/P/Tv?


Keyan wrote in post #17637904 (external link)
Just to ask the simple question...you are using the correct meter in M mode...right?

My guess is a combination of these two. OP has -5 stops of EC dialed in by accident for P/Av/Tv modes and when in M mode is looking in the wrong place for meter readings. The EXIF on a pic would confirm or deny this guess.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,128 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9008
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited over 5 years ago by CyberDyneSystems. (4 edits in all)
     
Jul 20, 2015 14:22 |  #11

So, do get us the info asked, images with EXIF, and what Canon claim to have fixed.
Maybe there is a simple solution? Never hurts to try.

As for recourse, at this point your only option that I can see is to badger Canon and demand a new body. Not easy to do often, but certainly your only option.

A question, is it the metering that goes out, or could it be a shutter problem?

Personally, I doubt the problem is simple operator error based on an apparent ability to use his gear just fine for images like the following;

https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17433996

https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17488090

https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17416302


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kesterc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
     
Jul 20, 2015 15:23 |  #12

No, this is not happening because of EC. That was the first thing I checked.
Even -5 stops can't account for it suggesting 20 seconds at f/4, ISO500 while outdoors in bright sunlight.

The camera also behaves similarly, while in TV mode. Only it underexposes if I set Shutter speed to 1/250th. I only have f/4 lenses, so the aperture blinks indicating that the camera wants to go to an even lower fstop value. Exposure is also wrong in P and A+.

I've been on the phone with Canon today, and they too asked for an image so they can check the EXIF. So here is one:
http://i.imgur.com/Iw2​IxYA.jpg?1 (external link)

They have asked me to send it again for a third time, which I did reluctantly today. This time they will have a "senior technician" look at it at the Newport Center. The support person suggested that I should insist on a replacement if they are unable to get to the bottom of it.



flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,128 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9008
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jul 20, 2015 17:13 |  #13

I don't think imgur is going let us see the original or get the exif?
Could just be me and all my addblocking stuff.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kesterc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 107 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 607
Joined May 2013
     
Jul 20, 2015 17:21 as a reply to  @ CyberDyneSystems's post |  #14

You're right...
This should do it: http://198.1.88.203/~k​clarke/files/454A1191.​JPG (external link)



flickr (external link)
Canon 7D Mk II | 6D | Canon 500 f/4L IS | 300 f/4L IS | 24-105 f/4L IS | 1.4x/2.0x III
600EX-RT | 430EX II | Gitzo 4542LS + Wimberley WH-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,128 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9008
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited over 5 years ago by CyberDyneSystems.
     
Jul 20, 2015 17:37 |  #15

That works;

(The question marks are mine!)
"Exposure Time (1 / Shutter Speed) = 20/1 second ===> 20 second
..
..
Recommended Exposure Index = 500 (?)
.
.
Shutter Speed Value (APEX) = -286720/65536 (?)
Shutter Speed (Exposure Time) = 1/0.05 second (?) "

From this I can't tell if it is the metering or the shutter is physically sticking open,. ?

anyway, it's definitely looking broken!


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

14,508 views & 2 likes for this thread
7D2 Metering Issue After Two Repairs
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nita66
780 guests, 171 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.