Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 26 Jul 2015 (Sunday) 08:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Old images problem

 
chauncey
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 462
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jul 26, 2015 08:32 |  #1

Circa 2008, before I had a clue what was happening behind the camera.
I have several images of different scenes/different sunlight with different camera settings (ISO, SS, f/stop).

Within LR...is there an easy way to balance the colors between images?
Failing that...how might in be done in PS 2015?


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Merlin_AZ
Senior Member
Avatar
869 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Mar 2010
     
Jul 26, 2015 10:37 |  #2

You might try Photo > Develop Settings > Match Total Exposures to see how the adjustments relate.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,472 posts
Likes: 195
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Post edited over 4 years ago by tzalman.
     
Jul 26, 2015 11:47 |  #3

chauncey wrote in post #17644831 (external link)
Circa 2008, before I had a clue what was happening behind the camera.
I have several images of different scenes/different sunlight with different camera settings (ISO, SS, f/stop).

Within LR...is there an easy way to balance the colors between images?
Failing that...how might in be done in PS 2015?

Put them all on WB > Auto (not As Shot).
Since this is LR's automation and not the camera's AWB, it will set a medium bland WB based on image content and you can tweak individual shots from there.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 462
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jul 26, 2015 14:42 |  #4

Elie...are you suggesting to set each image individually to it's own AWB rather than set one image to AWB and sync them all?


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jul 26, 2015 15:48 |  #5

Chauncey, were these Raw or Jpeg?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,472 posts
Likes: 195
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Jul 26, 2015 16:13 |  #6

chauncey wrote in post #17645134 (external link)
Elie...are you suggesting to set each image individually to it's own AWB rather than set one image to AWB and sync them all?

As step 1 you set one to Auto and sync them. LR will do a different calculation for each one based on the Raw image data but it will bring them all to a common ground. Step 2 is to tweak (or not), salt and pepper to taste.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 462
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jul 26, 2015 19:04 |  #7

They were a little post jpeg Tony...CR2.
Elie, until 30 seconds ago I might have suggested that you were crazy.

AWB treats/considers each image individually as you said, but...the Auto Toning thing, when you sync,
LR gives all of them the same settings rather than make alterations individually.
Ya gotta use Auto Toning on each image and...it does cough out different results on each image.


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,999 posts
Gallery: 542 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1615
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Jul 26, 2015 19:17 |  #8

chauncey wrote in post #17645391 (external link)
They were a little post jpeg Tony...CR2.
Elie, until 30 seconds ago I might have suggested that you were crazy.

AWB treats/considers each image individually as you said, but...the Auto Toning thing, when you sync,
LR gives all of them the same settings rather than make alterations individually.
Ya gotta use Auto Toning on each image and...it does cough out different results on each image.

As someone else mentioned earlier, this is where you would use the Match Total Exposure tool. Although it is available from the Exposure Settings sub menu of the Photos menu on the tool bar, it is not available when you use the context sensitive right click from within the Library module. It strikes me as odd that that tool is only on the toolbar, as it can be very useful if you have done say a panorama using an auto exposure mode, instead of manual. It actually works quite well to get all of the selected images to match tone wise.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 462
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jul 26, 2015 19:28 |  #9

You might try Photo > Develop Settings > Match Total Exposures to see how the adjustments relate

this is where you would use the Match Total Exposure tool

Aah...for the intelligently deficient, where might that be?


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,999 posts
Gallery: 542 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1615
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Jul 27, 2015 05:29 |  #10

As I also said, it is in the Develop submenu (It's the last item, and you need to have at least two images selected to activate it, or it's greyed out) of the Photos menu on the top menu bar in the Library module. This seems to be the only way to access it. It is not an option in the Develop submenu when you right click on an image or group of images in the Library module. I would expect that it would also be available in other modules from the Menu bar, as you can change the selected files using the film strip, but that isn't the way I tend to work, so I haven't tried that out.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 462
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jul 27, 2015 08:04 |  #11

Got it...it's within that bar at the top...the one that I have never noticed...Dah


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,552 views & 0 likes for this thread
Old images problem
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is stitch123
1135 guests, 350 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.