Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 15 Aug 2015 (Saturday) 14:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How bad is it to use Auto ISO?

 
Mr_ipsum
Senior Member
Avatar
312 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 248
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Yonkers, NY
     
Aug 15, 2015 14:57 |  #1

I almost always 99.99% of the time shoot in Av. But for an upcoming trip to California which will include whale watching I am planning on using Tv mode and setting the ISO to auto. In this way I can maintain a proper shutter speed in changing conditions(clouds moving through the area, etc) to freeze motion.

Is this how most people use Auto ISO in conjunction with Tv mode? Any suggestions?


RichardCervellonePhoto​graphy.com (external link) | Follow me on Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Nogo
I could have been worse....
6,683 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 462
Joined Dec 2013
Location: All Along the Natchez Trace (Clinton, MS)
Post edited over 2 years ago by Nogo.
     
Aug 15, 2015 15:14 |  #2

I personally use auto ISO when I am shooting manual in widely changing lighting conditions. I shoot a lot of BMX race photos and must use a higher shutter speed but still need an aperture that is not wide open. Unless you shoot every rider in one position on the track, the shots are often in shade for one shot and sun in the next. This is where Auto ISO is great, where you need an auto mode but AV and TV are not good enough.

In my opinion, if you can get the shots without using manual, auto ISO is rarely needed. Auto ISO is to give you an automatic mode where you can set both aperture and shutter speed at the same time before making the shot. Best for rapid action, where you don't have time to make changes to your settings between shots.


Philip
Does the TF actually know about the soda cans and PVC pipe from 30 years ago?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nogo
I could have been worse....
6,683 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 462
Joined Dec 2013
Location: All Along the Natchez Trace (Clinton, MS)
     
Aug 15, 2015 15:27 |  #3

My experience with TV mode using Auto ISO is that the camera will not change the ISO until it can't use a lower aperture setting. To clarify what I am saying, say your settings are ISO 1000 with a 1/500 shutter and the camera picks an aperture of 4.5. Put the camera in TV and Auto ISO, it will pick a wide open aperture (for example 2.8) and use a lower ISO (200 for example.) Then if it gets cloudy, the aperture will stay at 2.8 and the ISO may move up to 800 (for example) Those numbers are not accurate, just using them for example. My point is, in my experience Auto ISO will not be increased until the aperture is opened up. Unless you wish to shoot wide open when it gets darker, auto ISO is limited in use.


Philip
Does the TF actually know about the soda cans and PVC pipe from 30 years ago?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Avatar
6,172 posts
Gallery: 186 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 6625
Joined May 2008
Location: Calgary
     
Aug 15, 2015 15:34 |  #4

Mr_ipsum wrote in post #17669981 (external link)
I almost always 99.99% of the time shoot in Av. But for an upcoming trip to California which will include whale watching I am planning on using Tv mode and setting the ISO to auto. In this way I can maintain a proper shutter speed in changing conditions(clouds moving through the area, etc) to freeze motion.

Is this how most people use Auto ISO in conjunction with Tv mode? Any suggestions?

Like Nogo, I often use auto ISO in manual mode, so I can set the shutter speed and aperture as I wish, and let the ISO float.

Auto ISO in Tv mode is a whole new concept to me. You would be asking the camera to make the aperture/ISO decision. How would it decide? I just had a look. With my 100L/2.8, it just keeps the aperture at or close to 2.8 and varies the ISO until it hits minimum ISO. At brighter conditions, it holds the ISO at minimum and varies the aperture.

Hmm, I would stick to using M with auto ISO.


Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Larry ­ Johnson
Goldmember
Avatar
1,234 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 404
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Virginia
     
Aug 15, 2015 16:04 |  #5

Mr_ipsum wrote in post #17669981 (external link)
I .
Is this how most people use Auto ISO in conjunction with Tv mode? Any suggestions?

Exactly


_______________
Ain't Nature Grand!
Shooting 7D2 with Canon 400mm, f/5.6.
60D, canon 18-135 EFS, and 1.4 extender in the bag.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
maverick75
Cream of the Crop
5,700 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 607
Joined May 2012
Location: Riverside,California
     
Aug 15, 2015 16:19 |  #6

I personally never use auto ISO but if you set it to usable ones I don't see how it can ever be bad.


- Alex Corona Sony A7, Canon 7DM2/EOS M, Mamiya 645/67
Flickr (external link) - 500px (external link) - Website (external link)- Feedback -Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 259
Joined Jun 2014
     
Aug 15, 2015 16:42 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

maverick75 wrote in post #17670050 (external link)
I personally never use auto ISO but if you set it to usable ones I don't see how it can ever be bad.

Cameras have unusable ISO settings?


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdlavigne
Senior Member
Avatar
329 posts
Likes: 99
Joined Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Aug 15, 2015 22:04 |  #8

I use it in manual, as others have said: when lighting conditions will change a bit (but I want to maintain the aperture/ss values chosen). I don't set a wide range of ISO's though, currently I believe it's set to 100-800. Most if not all cameras can handle that range with little noticeable degradation to IQ.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kolor-Pikker
Goldmember
2,790 posts
Likes: 59
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Moscow
     
Aug 16, 2015 04:22 |  #9

GeoKras1989 wrote in post #17670078 (external link)
Cameras have unusable ISO settings?

Well, my 5D2 can go above ISO 1600, but I almost never use it above that. Maybe 3200 in a pinch, but it looks pretty bad, so as to be "unusable" for prints at decent sizes, like 13x19" and bigger. Other people may have different ideas of what is acceptable to them.

In any case, on a camera like the 5D2, where I often try to optimize the exposure to maximize dynamic range, auto-ISO is a no-no. On something like a 1Dx where you have flat DR from ISO100-800, using auto-ISO all the time is a no-brainer. It depends on the camera used really.

As for photographing whales, expect to use really fast shutter speeds, auto ISO may not even be necessary as you'll certainly be shooting at high ISO all the time anyway.


5DmkII | 24-70 f/2.8L II | Pentax 645Z | 55/2.8 SDM | 120/4 Macro | 150/2.8 IF
I acquired an expensive camera so I can hang out in forums, annoy wedding photographers during formals and look down on P&S users... all the while telling people it's the photographer, not the camera.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,153 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 2874
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
     
Aug 16, 2015 15:27 |  #10

I use auto ISO a vast majority of the time. If you understand how to read your meter and how to use exposure compensation there is quite literally no downside IMO.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Reiep
Senior Member
Avatar
447 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 783
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Orléans, France / Cluj-Napoca, Romania
     
Aug 17, 2015 07:41 |  #11

I shoot a lot in M with auto ISO, it offers a great flexibility with this little dose of automation that makes things easier. I wish though I could exposure compensation in M mode this way, I know it's doable on other brands.

Another feature I'd like is the possibility to link Auto ISO and shutter speed or aperture, like setting the threshold where the ISO starts to raised (like keep a minimum speed of 1/200s or a minimum aperture of f/5.6). It's also possible on other brands :)

Anyhow, it's just to make things easier, I can live without it (I currently do!) :)


Website (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,299 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2130
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Aug 17, 2015 08:54 |  #12

I suggest that you shoot a series like this with Auto ISO & see how accurate it really is: Post #47


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
28,998 posts
Likes: 976
Joined Dec 2006
     
Aug 17, 2015 09:03 |  #13

Auto iso in manual mode makes some sense in certain applications, but I would never use it in AV or TV mode as you are giving the camera control over two variables. If your exposure were off because of meter bias do you fix the iso or the other variable?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
artyH
Goldmember
2,089 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 17, 2015 09:38 |  #14

I rarely ever use auto ISO, and prefer TV when shooting family photos. I set ISO low enough to give me the shutter speeds and apertures that I want.
The only time I Use auto ISO is when lighting is rapidly changing, like a trip to the circus.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
birderman
Goldmember
1,028 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Mar 2011
Location: London, UK
     
Aug 17, 2015 10:51 |  #15

Surely if you using Auto ISO in M mode then you are not actually shooting in Manual mode but Auto Iso mode as the camera will try and AUTOMATICALLY compensate for exposure errors by adjusting the ISO. IMHO Manual mode should mean everything is adjusted and controlled by the operator.

However a small problem I see using Auto ISO in M mode is the ability to do exposure compensation as easily as you can in Av or Tv modes. Based on the OP purpose for using Auto ISO in M mode is that they want to set the Aperture and Shutter speed manually and leave them set and the ISO will adjust automatically to account for small variations in the lighting - I assume the Auto ISO will be adjusted to centre the needle which negates any required exposure compensation. Of course there may be some cameras available that do include EC when shooting in M but my experience is based on the consumer/amateur level equipment such as the EOS 550D. Alternatively what happens if in M mode one adjusts the settings for the needle to be off-centre by the desire EC amount, will the Auto ISO remember this and adjust accordingly on each subsequent shot ?


Birderman
London, UK
my photos on Flickr (external link)
My Website (external link) or my Facebook - KishWphotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,091 views & 6 likes for this thread
How bad is it to use Auto ISO?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gunz46
743 guests, 278 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.