Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 16 Sep 2015 (Wednesday) 14:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

SSD & MacBook Question

 
ShotByTom
Goldmember
Avatar
2,975 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 75
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Indianapolis
     
Sep 16, 2015 14:41 |  #1

I have a 2010 MacBook (2.4ghz Core 2 Duo, 4gb Ram 250gb HDD) and am going to attempt updates before I call it quits and just buy a newer MacBook.

My question is this...It's older technology so does it really matter what SSD I get? There are slower, less expensive SSD's out there, for example: http://www.amazon.com …itle_3&smid=ATV​PDKIKX0DER (external link)

My thought is that it doesn't matter which SSD I get, because I will be limited by the hardware speed of the laptop, is that right?

I just read that my specific model of MacBook (7,1) was tested by OWC and accepts 16gb of RAM, so I'm putting in the 16gb of Ram and an SSD to see if that makes a big difference..


Gear
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gossamer88
"something else"
Avatar
865 posts
Gallery: 62 photos
Likes: 362
Joined Aug 2014
Location: NYC
     
Sep 16, 2015 14:56 |  #2

An SSD is the best upgrade you can do. You may need TRIM Enabler. But the latest Yosemite now finally supports it via the command line.


Canon 5D Mark IV | Tamron 24-70mm G2 | Tamron 70-200mm G2 | 85mm 1.8 | 50mm STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Powershot G9 X | iPhone 6s
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wunhang
Senior Member
Avatar
672 posts
Likes: 34
Joined Nov 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Sep 16, 2015 15:01 |  #3

SSD's speed bottlenecks are the SSD controller and the motherboard's SATA bus speed. But no matter what controller it is attached to, the SSD will be a noticeable performance upgrade over platter seek/read.


Canon 5D IV | Canon 5D II | XSI (Infrared modified) | SL1 | 16-35mm L f/4.0 IS | 24-70mm L f/2.8 II | 40mm f/2.8 | 85mm f/1.8 | 70-200mm L f/4.0 IS | Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 | C/Y 28mm f/2.8 | Tamron 35mm f/1.8 VC | C/Y 50mm f/1.7 | Zeiss 100mm MP
::SmugMug (external link)::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
m.eo.w
Member
82 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Sep 2015
     
Sep 16, 2015 16:17 |  #4

Most of the responsiveness you notice will be due to drastically lower random access times...not so much max sustained r/w unless you move huge files frequently.
Lower end ssds like mushkin chronos/reactor and pny optima/xlr8 are more than adequate. sandisk ultra ii is also a good value.


Canon 1Dx - Sigma 120-300 2.8
Canon 5DII - Canon 24-70 L 2.8
Canon 7D - Canon 40STM 2.8
Canon FT - 55 1.2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,000 posts
Likes: 485
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Sep 17, 2015 08:21 |  #5

Having done the upgrade to SSD on several Windows machines I would suggest you investigate a drive that has a "migration kit" included. This typically only bumps the price up by about $10 but does make life amazingly simple. The kit usually includes a cable and specialized software that completely handles the task of making a bootable copy of your old drive onto the new drive. Then you simply install the new drive into the normal location. I have only ever encountered one glitch (I've installed three SSD drives) in that afterwards a printer didn't work and simply reinstalling the driver took care of that issue.

I usually work with Samsung or Sandisk drives, although from the migration software standpoint I find the Samsung easier to work with.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,456 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1686
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
Sep 17, 2015 08:57 |  #6

OWC implemented their own TRIM a couple years ago. Or figured out a work around for apples lack of support. Or something like that, they have all kinds of info on their website if you want to read about it. Personally, I would just go with their offering and know that if for some reason you have trouble with it they will take care of you.

The main thing is being able to implement TRIM. I'm not sure older macs can use apples new version.

I put in their ram upgrade and a couple of years later their SSD. 2009 MacBook, still running strong.

Carbon Copy Cloner will move your system to the new drive. Of course you will need an enclosure for your current drive OR you will have to make a copy to an external drive then swap the internal drive then copy the copy to the new internal.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Sep 17, 2015 16:29 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

Be careful to back up your photos when using SSD, TRIM will literally delete every trace of files, and there is no recovery options, believe me, I know...............and I don't use SSDs for storing photos




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,000 posts
Likes: 485
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Sep 17, 2015 16:42 |  #8

Left Handed Brisket wrote in post #17710979 (external link)
OWC implemented their own TRIM a couple years ago. Or figured out a work around for apples lack of support. Or something like that, they have all kinds of info on their website if you want to read about it. Personally, I would just go with their offering and know that if for some reason you have trouble with it they will take care of you.

http://blog.macsales.c​om …o-trim-owc-has-the-answer (external link) discusses what OWC implemented for Apple.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
7,717 posts
Gallery: 526 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1483
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Sep 17, 2015 19:09 |  #9

So do you HAVE to use TRIM with an SSD? I simply bought a cheap SSD from Amazon (A basic OCZ IIRC) for my old Dell laptop, installed it and at the same time installed Win 7 64 Bit instead of Vista. I knew nothing about TRIM and did nothing to set it up. Not long after I installed the SSD I had an issue where about 100GB of RAW files were lost from the drive. I had run out of space while trying to transfer files. I still had one day of two days shooting. When I asked about recovery on here I was pointed to a couple of recovery options, but was then told that TRIM would have completely removed them if they had been deleted. I ran the recovery after putting the drive in an external caddy and using another computer and was able to successfully recover all of the missing images from the SSD.

I still haven't looked at TRIM and the computer seems to be running fine on Win 7 64 bit.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,000 posts
Likes: 485
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Sep 17, 2015 19:51 |  #10

http://mashtips.com/ss​d-tools-for-mac/ (external link)

Scroll down a bit to the part about Chameleon. It is an optimization tool for Solid State Drive on Mac OS X system.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Reiep
Senior Member
Avatar
449 posts
Gallery: 112 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 790
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Orléans, France / Cluj-Napoca, Romania
     
Sep 22, 2015 14:21 |  #11

I have the very same laptop, I upgraded to 8 GB of ram and an SSD (trim activated in MacOS), works like a charm with Lightroom and Photoshop CC. It still take ages to export, but that's because of a CPU.


Website (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Sep 24, 2015 04:11 |  #12
bannedPermanent ban

BigAl007 wrote in post #17711580 (external link)
So do you HAVE to use TRIM with an SSD? I simply bought a cheap SSD from Amazon (A basic OCZ IIRC) for my old Dell laptop, installed it and at the same time installed Win 7 64 Bit instead of Vista. I knew nothing about TRIM and did nothing to set it up. Not long after I installed the SSD I had an issue where about 100GB of RAW files were lost from the drive. I had run out of space while trying to transfer files. I still had one day of two days shooting. When I asked about recovery on here I was pointed to a couple of recovery options, but was then told that TRIM would have completely removed them if they had been deleted. I ran the recovery after putting the drive in an external caddy and using another computer and was able to successfully recover all of the missing images from the SSD.

I still haven't looked at TRIM and the computer seems to be running fine on Win 7 64 bit.

Alan

TRIM is simply of the way the SSD deletes file(s), it is completely different from platter drives as you can imagine




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
InfiniteDivide
"I wish to be spared"
Avatar
2,844 posts
Gallery: 265 photos
Likes: 212
Joined Dec 2013
Location: Kawasaki, Japan
     
Sep 29, 2015 00:17 |  #13

If your laptop accepts PCI-e cards wait 'til October.
If no, then buy a new one in October ;)

http://www.forbes.com …-make-pcs-fly-in-october/ (external link)


James Patrus
6D | 16-35L F4 | 24L II | 50L | 100L | |  -> Website (external link) & Gallery (external link)
For Sale:Canon 16-35mm f4 IS l Do you enjoy Super Famicom games? (external link) PM me directly.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,520 views & 0 likes for this thread
SSD & MacBook Question
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Passing Thru
355 guests, 265 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.