Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 25 Nov 2015 (Wednesday) 20:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Best way to backup an externtal HD to another

 
yamatama
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2012
     
Nov 25, 2015 20:56 |  #1

So Ive been storing this past 2 years my files into a 3tb Sea Gate HD and its almost full.. I'm trying to get more serious about backing up my files, so far I've have not had any bad experience (knocking on wood) but I want to be prepared if anything happens. I bought a 4tb HD and I want to backup my 3tb one in it. So my question is. What's the best way to do it? I would appreciate any suggestions you can give.

In also searching for an online cloud service to have it as a third backups so again.. suggestions are more than welcome.

Thanks in advance


Nikon D750, 35 1.4G, 85 1.8G, 24-70 2.8G, 70-200 2.8G
My website www.williamdelacruz.co​m (external link)
FB like page https://www.facebook.c​om/WilliamDeLaCruzPhot​o (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
42,795 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2931
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 25, 2015 21:26 |  #2

You might want to tell everyone what PC and version of what Operating System software you are using, so that folks don't waste your time with details about Mac (if you are a PC user) or about Windows 10, if you are a Win7 user.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yamatama
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2012
     
Nov 25, 2015 21:48 as a reply to  @ Wilt's post |  #3

My bad you are totally right. I use Mac OS X 10.11


Nikon D750, 35 1.4G, 85 1.8G, 24-70 2.8G, 70-200 2.8G
My website www.williamdelacruz.co​m (external link)
FB like page https://www.facebook.c​om/WilliamDeLaCruzPhot​o (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
samsen
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,468 posts
Likes: 239
Joined Apr 2006
Location: LA
     
Nov 25, 2015 22:30 |  #4

I assume you have no encrypted file or unusual situation for copying so what is wrong with attaching both the drives to your computer via USB cables and before going to bed, set it for over night copying entire folder with sub-folders from 3TB to the 4TB?


Weak retaliates,
Strong Forgives,
Intelligent Ignores!
Samsen
Picture editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DGStinner
Goldmember
Avatar
1,041 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 195
Joined Jan 2014
Location: Middlesex, New Jersey
     
Nov 26, 2015 05:30 |  #5

My suggestion is to do one of the following:
A) Get another 4 TB drive, copy the contents of the 3 TB to one of the 4 TB drives, turn on TimeMachine using the other 4 TB drive as the destination.
B) Set up the 4 TB drive you have now for TimeMachine and then buy another external drive when the 3 TB is full.

TimeMachine will run automatically as long as the drive is attached.


Canon EOS 7D Mark II EOS 6D Mark II | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II EF 50mm f/1.8 STM EF 24-105mm f/4L IS II USM EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM | Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Contemporary | Canon Speedlite 430EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yamatama
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2012
     
Nov 26, 2015 07:27 |  #6

DGStinner wrote in post #17797189 (external link)
My suggestion is to do one of the following:
A) Get another 4 TB drive, copy the contents of the 3 TB to one of the 4 TB drives, turn on TimeMachine using the other 4 TB drive as the destination.
B) Set up the 4 TB drive you have now for TimeMachine and then buy another external drive when the 3 TB is full.

TimeMachine will run automatically as long as the drive is attached.

Like this?

https://youtu.be/0l4vJ​vtzvbU (external link)


Nikon D750, 35 1.4G, 85 1.8G, 24-70 2.8G, 70-200 2.8G
My website www.williamdelacruz.co​m (external link)
FB like page https://www.facebook.c​om/WilliamDeLaCruzPhot​o (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DGStinner
Goldmember
Avatar
1,041 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 195
Joined Jan 2014
Location: Middlesex, New Jersey
     
Nov 26, 2015 07:54 as a reply to  @ yamatama's post |  #7

Yes. That video shows option B.


Canon EOS 7D Mark II EOS 6D Mark II | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II EF 50mm f/1.8 STM EF 24-105mm f/4L IS II USM EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM | Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Contemporary | Canon Speedlite 430EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Nov 26, 2015 14:48 |  #8

Backup or copy? Copies / mirrors are vulnerable to corruption of the source if corrupt, so that's not really a backup. Backups usually require backup software.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hidroela
Senior Member
Avatar
306 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 160
Joined Jul 2014
Location: Right across NASA
Post edited over 4 years ago by hidroela.
     
Nov 26, 2015 15:03 |  #9

synology NAS and Amazon cloud drive ($59.99 a year) for unlimited every thing


PĂ©rez
GEAR

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Trvlr323
Goldmember
Avatar
3,290 posts
Likes: 1090
Joined Apr 2007
     
Nov 26, 2015 15:07 |  #10

I use GoodSync for Mac. Reliable, fast, simple GUI interface and lots of options. 29.95$


Sometimes not taking a photograph can be as problematic as taking one. - Alex Webb

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yamatama
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2012
     
Nov 26, 2015 16:20 |  #11

tim wrote in post #17797635 (external link)
Backup or copy? Copies / mirrors are vulnerable to corruption of the source if corrupt, so that's not really a backup. Backups usually require backup software.

Can you give some advice?


Nikon D750, 35 1.4G, 85 1.8G, 24-70 2.8G, 70-200 2.8G
My website www.williamdelacruz.co​m (external link)
FB like page https://www.facebook.c​om/WilliamDeLaCruzPhot​o (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DGStinner
Goldmember
Avatar
1,041 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 195
Joined Jan 2014
Location: Middlesex, New Jersey
     
Nov 27, 2015 07:44 as a reply to  @ tim's post |  #12

TimeMachine is backup software.


Canon EOS 7D Mark II EOS 6D Mark II | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II EF 50mm f/1.8 STM EF 24-105mm f/4L IS II USM EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM | Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Contemporary | Canon Speedlite 430EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fotopaul
Senior Member
Avatar
560 posts
Likes: 473
Joined Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
     
Dec 12, 2015 05:00 |  #13

yamatama wrote in post #17796948 (external link)
So Ive been storing this past 2 years my files into a 3tb Sea Gate HD and its almost full.. I'm trying to get more serious about backing up my files, so far I've have not had any bad experience (knocking on wood) but I want to be prepared if anything happens. I bought a 4tb HD and I want to backup my 3tb one in it. So my question is. What's the best way to do it? I would appreciate any suggestions you can give.

In also searching for an online cloud service to have it as a third backups so again.. suggestions are more than welcome.

Thanks in advance

There are different levels on redundancy.

I personally don't use Time Machine, i use a combination of hardware and software solutions. Raid to mirror data and software to sync data to a third drive incrementally. I prefer software like retrospect over TM but if you want a good alternative to TM Carbon Cloner Copy is good.


Instagram (external link)
Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,698 views & 0 likes for this thread
Best way to backup an externtal HD to another
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Boyota
896 guests, 322 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.