Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Dec 2015 (Thursday) 14:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Mark11 - getting corrupt RAW files when downloading via card reader

 
Ken ­ Griffiths
Junior Member
20 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Dec 10, 2015 14:19 |  #1

Anyone having issues with corrupt RAW files from 7D MArk11. I initially thought it was the CF card but I have found that when I download images via the canon lead to my PC I do not get corrupted RAW files but if I remove card from camera and download via a card reader I get a percentage of corrupted RAW (only) files.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
DGStinner
Goldmember
Avatar
1,042 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 195
Joined Jan 2014
Location: Middlesex, New Jersey
     
Dec 10, 2015 14:26 |  #2

If the images aren't flagged as corrupt when downloading via USB but are flagged when using the reader, I would think the reader is the issue. Have you tried a different card reader?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Honey ­ Monster
Senior Member
376 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Likes: 846
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
     
Dec 10, 2015 15:48 |  #3

I haven't seen this with the 7D Mark II, but I haven with the 5D3. Since then I have tended to use the cable for downloading. Perhaps this is why I haven't had a repeat. The corrupted files had portions of the images with coloured lines obliterating the picture. When I downloaded via the cable they were fine.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Cliffbsa
Member
247 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 172
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Clovis,CA
     
Dec 10, 2015 16:13 |  #4

If you're getting a good download through the camera/cable, then you know you have a good card with clean information. It's got to be the card reader, since that's the only thing that changed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ken ­ Griffiths
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
20 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Dec 11, 2015 16:56 |  #5

Logically you would think the card reader but it happens with my old USB 2 reader as well. It was working fine up to a couple of months back. Just wondering if it could be something to do with a firmware upgrade I did a few months back




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DesolateMirror
Senior Member
Avatar
508 posts
Gallery: 183 photos
Likes: 879
Joined Oct 2015
     
Dec 11, 2015 17:55 |  #6

Try the cheapest things first to eliminate causes from the list. Change usb ports, reformat card, new cable, new reader, new card, then it gets more tricky.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,771 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6409
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 13, 2015 06:17 as a reply to  @ Ken Griffiths's post |  #7

The card is your only source of data. If you transfer from the camera, it is simply transferring the same file as you would get from taking the card out and running it through a reader. The problem is the card and reader combo. Try a different card?


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,164 posts
Likes: 1094
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited over 4 years ago by John from PA. (2 edits in all)
     
Dec 14, 2015 08:03 |  #8

It appears as though you have used two different readers without success. To me that leaves the cable as a possibility. Have you swapped it out with something established to be good? (As already suggested by DesolateMirror.)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ken ­ Griffiths
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
20 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Dec 14, 2015 20:46 |  #9

Thanks Guys, I have two card readers and tried different cards and same result. It is inconsistent though, recently took a couple of hundred shots and did not get any duds via the card reader. I know it is not my PC as the same thing happens with my laptop. I will keep investigating. I have rang Canon but they don't seem to have any suggestions other than send it to them.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,197 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 381
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Dec 15, 2015 10:00 |  #10

Card reader driver not working properly with your operating system?


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,771 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6409
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
Post edited over 4 years ago by TeamSpeed. (2 edits in all)
     
Dec 15, 2015 11:41 as a reply to  @ Ken Griffiths's post |  #11

Since the absolute only place that your image files live are is on that card, whether you gain access through the camera's usb or via a card reader, and you are still having issues, I would try a new card.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,164 posts
Likes: 1094
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Dec 15, 2015 12:57 |  #12

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17819866 (external link)
Since the absolute only place that your image files live are is on that card, whether you gain access through the camera's usb or via a card reader, and you are still having issues, I would try a new card.

OP has stated

Ken Griffiths wrote in post #17814170 (external link)
I initially thought it was the CF card but I have found that when I download images via the canon lead to my PC I do not get corrupted RAW files but if I remove card from camera and download via a card reader I get a percentage of corrupted RAW (only) files.

To me this points to the card reader or perhaps readers since he has tried another. But I wonder if he is using one cable for both readers and perhaps a different cable with direct camera to PC?

One thing that hasn't been mentioned, but perhaps totally doesn't fit the scenario, is a bent pin in one or both of the readers. The OP should get a very bright light and check carefully in the card socket of the reader. Probably not likely but just as well to rule out the possibility.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,771 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6409
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 15, 2015 20:10 |  #13

John from PA wrote in post #17819980 (external link)
OP has stated

To me this points to the card reader or perhaps readers since he has tried another. But I wonder if he is using one cable for both readers and perhaps a different cable with direct camera to PC?

One thing that hasn't been mentioned, but perhaps totally doesn't fit the scenario, is a bent pin in one or both of the readers. The OP should get a very bright light and check carefully in the card socket of the reader. Probably not likely but just as well to rule out the possibility.

That doesn't mean that the card isn't the culprit. There have been MANY cases in the past where a card works through a tethered camera, but files off the card through a card reader become corrupted. It can be the reader, it can be the USB hub/communications between the card and readers.

If 2 readers are having the same issue, then again, trying a 2nd card with the same 2 readers would provide a clearer picture.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ken ­ Griffiths
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
20 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Jun 01, 2016 01:34 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #14

Thanks for all comments. Funny thing, the problems seems to have gone away. I will see what happens




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Neilyb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,198 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Munich
     
Jun 01, 2016 02:13 |  #15

What make / speed of card?


http://natureimmortal.​blogspot.com (external link)

http://www.natureimmor​tal.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,780 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Mark11 - getting corrupt RAW files when downloading via card reader
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is GeneralT001
839 guests, 235 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.