Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 27 Dec 2015 (Sunday) 11:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 350d and remote shooting with eos utility

 
Arte ­ Automobilistica
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Dec 27, 2015 11:08 |  #1

Hi
I'm looking to buy a 350d to shoot product. Can the 350d shoot remotely using eos utility?

Thanks


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Dec 27, 2015 11:18 |  #2

After reading dpreview it seems it can.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,855 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 108
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Dec 27, 2015 11:25 |  #3

The only problem you might have is finding an older version of EOS Utility that supports that camera.

Later versions drop support for older cameras as they add support for new ones.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
20,743 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1438
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Dec 27, 2015 14:05 |  #4

WaltA wrote in post #17834016 (external link)
The only problem you might have is finding an older version of EOS Utility that supports that camera.

Later versions drop support for older cameras as they add support for new ones.

^^^^THIS.

And unfortunately new OSs don't support the older versions of EOS Utility. I've read of many people trying to do this, none(that I know of) have succeeded.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,855 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 108
Joined Feb 2006
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
     
Dec 27, 2015 14:49 |  #5

rrblint wrote in post #17834187 (external link)
^^^^THIS.

And unfortunately new OSs don't support the older versions of EOS Utility. I've read of many people trying to do this, none(that I know of) have succeeded.

I've not tried it but you may be able (if you can find and download an old version) to run it in XP compatibility mode.
That capability will depend on what version of OS you are running.

If your running on a Mac - not sure what your options are.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
7,699 posts
Gallery: 526 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1475
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Dec 27, 2015 16:33 |  #6

Yes the problem is that the really old cameras like the 300 and 350D are only compatible with Win XP. I could never get my 300D or my 20D for that matter to connect using Vista, Canon don't seem to produce drivers for new OS's once the camera is out of production.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
primeone
Senior Member
Avatar
573 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 123
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Israel
     
Dec 31, 2015 11:14 as a reply to  @ BigAl007's post |  #7

Another data point against.

When I moved from XP to 7 I could no longer connect to the 350D as a camera, the OS just saw it as a remote drive so I could access the images.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonwoad
Member
84 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Likes: 168
Joined May 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
     
Jan 02, 2016 16:40 |  #8

Im 99% certain I had this working with my 350D and Win 7 netbook, but it was a few years ago.


Jon Woad
Manchester
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,246 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 350d and remote shooting with eos utility
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is brotherbear86
894 guests, 357 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.