Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 15 Aug 2014 (Friday) 15:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Adorama Rovelight RL 600, thoughts?

 
OceanRipple*
Senior Member
841 posts
Likes: 173
Joined Dec 2014
Post edited over 3 years ago by OceanRipple*. (3 edits in all)
     
Jan 02, 2016 14:32 |  #1276

enginyr wrote in post #17841504 (external link)
How are you triggering your Rovel with your mitros+ in HSS

Hi, A Mitros + 'Plus' works just like an Odin TCU to provide the early 'HSS like' trigger signal. I use a Strato II Rx wired to my Jinbei/Rovelight with the latter providing long duration flashes when set to 'H'. (You could use an Odin Rx unit but it costs more unless you already have a spare.)
Image with Strato II:
https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17729217

The Mitros + must have HSS showing on its screen and Channel & Group must be set appropriately.

This is 'Supersync' so there is a gradient across the frame - with Canon, that's darker at the top (landscape) as the image is normally viewed. There are techniques at the shooting stage which somewhat ameliorate the visibility of the gradient.
https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=17771268




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
enginyr
Senior Member
Avatar
990 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: San Fernando Valley
     
Jan 02, 2016 14:41 as a reply to  @ OceanRipple*'s post |  #1277

I'm using nikon and have 5 Mitros+. Was hoping not to have to buy anymore triggers. I wish the optical slave with trigger the HSS


LA Wedding photographer (external link) Stunning Bride Photographers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OceanRipple*
Senior Member
841 posts
Likes: 173
Joined Dec 2014
Post edited over 3 years ago by OceanRipple*. (2 edits in all)
     
Jan 02, 2016 14:48 |  #1278

enginyr wrote in post #17841603 (external link)
I'm using nikon and have 5 Mitros+. Was hoping not to have to buy anymore triggers. I wish the optical slave with trigger the HSS

Hi, I see. You might run into problems with 'Pre-flash' even when your Mitros+s are running in M - I'm not certain as I have not tried what you are suggesting. Since you are using radio for everything else, I'd suggest picking up a single Stroto II Rx unit (& cable). I may test your idea . . .

. . . I gave it a go, but it seems that enabling the optical slave takes the unit out of 'H' and vice versa. I suppose you could try rigging up an external optical slave - but - I'd go with a Strato II. Cheers




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
enginyr
Senior Member
Avatar
990 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: San Fernando Valley
     
Jan 02, 2016 15:04 as a reply to  @ OceanRipple*'s post |  #1279

There are two Slave modes that let you cancel 1 2 or more pre-flashes on the Rovel


LA Wedding photographer (external link) Stunning Bride Photographers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OceanRipple*
Senior Member
841 posts
Likes: 173
Joined Dec 2014
     
Jan 02, 2016 15:10 as a reply to  @ enginyr's post |  #1280

Hi, Yes, but can you enable 'H' simultaneously with either optical mode?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
enginyr
Senior Member
Avatar
990 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: San Fernando Valley
     
Jan 04, 2016 17:16 as a reply to  @ OceanRipple*'s post |  #1281

either way "H" doesn't work with optical triggering :(


LA Wedding photographer (external link) Stunning Bride Photographers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Luxx
Senior Member
478 posts
Likes: 40
Joined Jan 2013
Location: St Louis
Post edited over 3 years ago by Luxx.
     
Jan 06, 2016 14:30 |  #1282

I've been reading this thread and considering buying one of these and saw the bowers mount is currently $400 vs $600 for the flashpoint mount. Is this a good price?

And could you use it along with 600exrt if triggering with ste3 and the yongnuo receiver?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
enginyr
Senior Member
Avatar
990 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: San Fernando Valley
     
Jan 07, 2016 02:54 as a reply to  @ Luxx's post |  #1283

yes you can optically or wired trigger them.

The problem I'm having with them is not being able to shoot @ f1.4 to f2.5 without using an ND filter indoors with headshots @ iso 64 through double baffle softboxes


LA Wedding photographer (external link) Stunning Bride Photographers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OceanRipple*
Senior Member
841 posts
Likes: 173
Joined Dec 2014
Post edited over 3 years ago by OceanRipple*. (2 edits in all)
     
Jan 07, 2016 03:25 as a reply to  @ Luxx's post |  #1284

" .. And could you use it along with 600exrt if triggering with ste3 and the yongnuo receiver? .. "

I'm not an RT user, but yes, that should allow both conventional triggering and early 'HSS like' timed triggering. Your 600ExRT could be pulsing in HSS simultaneously with your Rovelight offering a long duration flash after the same early trigger signal.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ndrr13
Member
37 posts
Likes: 52
Joined Jan 2012
     
Jan 07, 2016 12:11 |  #1285

Is there anyone that hasn't recieved their replacement trigger? I've submitted the request form twice since my intial submission in October, I'm just curious.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EmaginePixel
Goldmember
Avatar
1,944 posts
Likes: 42
Joined Sep 2008
Location: So Cal
     
Jan 07, 2016 16:14 as a reply to  @ ndrr13's post |  #1286

I'm still waiting for the trigger replacement. Helen sent me an email last week indicating that the replacements will go out the first couple of weeks in the new year.


"Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift. That’s why its called the present” - Kung Fu Panda
EmaginePixel.com website (external link) ----- SportsShooter profile (external link) ----- Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BJ_Nguyen
Senior Member
Avatar
406 posts
Gallery: 143 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1716
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta GA
     
Jan 07, 2016 16:52 |  #1287

I got mine last week after contacted Helen. She is pretty awesome ! Now I'm waiting for pre-paid label to return the old one.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidN4
Member
48 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 13
Joined Jan 2013
     
Jan 07, 2016 21:09 as a reply to  @ ndrr13's post |  #1288

I submitted mine around that same time. Still haven't heard anything from them.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dusik77
Member
Avatar
114 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
     
Jan 07, 2016 23:29 |  #1289

did mine about 2-3 weeks ago and nothing yet..




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,281 posts
Gallery: 1696 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10661
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Post edited over 3 years ago by MalVeauX.
     
Jan 07, 2016 23:49 |  #1290

enginyr wrote in post #17848028 (external link)
The problem I'm having with them is not being able to shoot @ f1.4 to f2.5 without using an ND filter indoors with headshots @ iso 64 through double baffle softboxes

But, indoors why would you use a 600ws strobe for F1.4?

If you truly need to do that, don't use a softbox, use an inefficient large modifier and put it far away from the subject. A 60" umbrella as a bounce, very far from subject. You should be able to manage something at 1/200, F1.4, ISO 100. And you can add things to the modifier to knock down more light if needed.

But really, at F1.4, a speedlite at low power will do.

Or, just go into long burn HSS with the Rovelight and shoot at F1.4 if you want, with the shutter speed to stop it.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

440,241 views & 481 likes for this thread
Adorama Rovelight RL 600, thoughts?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is wooricoin
842 guests, 308 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.