Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 30 Jan 2016 (Saturday) 21:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

importing directly to lightroom??

 
ThomasDidymus
Member
Avatar
200 posts
Gallery: 43 photos
Likes: 90
Joined Sep 2015
Location: Saint Augustine
     
Jan 30, 2016 21:41 |  #1

Who does it?
Is it better that using Bridge, then selecting the photos you want?

I have been using bridge and found that I am not editing a lot of the photos that I am taking.


Eyes like a shutter, mind like a lens..

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,092 posts
Likes: 373
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jan 30, 2016 22:21 |  #2

I use lightroom almost exclusively for my photos. I Import, cull, organize, and edit, all in lightroom.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Avatar
6,182 posts
Gallery: 189 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 6632
Joined May 2008
Location: Calgary
     
Jan 30, 2016 22:36 |  #3

I don't import directly into LR. I used to, from time to time, but quite often found it to be harder than it should be. The reason is that sometimes I have cards from two or three cameras that need to go into one folder (and sometimes more than one folder). I use LR's default folder naming, but append a description that describes the event or place. All this is hard to accomplish in LR.

LR as of ver 5.7 still has that annoying bug that often gives an error when you try to rename a folder. That never happens in Win Explorer, and that is further reason for fixing folder and file names before importing.


Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Reiep
Senior Member
Avatar
447 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 783
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Orléans, France / Cluj-Napoca, Romania
     
Feb 01, 2016 05:46 |  #4

I directly import in Lr. This way I can select the photos I want, tag them, rename them (usually with the date I took the photo), and apply a default preset of mine at once. It goes very smoothly this way, and by applying a preset of mine during import I sometimes just have to check exposure and that all, my photos are done.

After the import (or imports if there are several camera) I rename the folder with the date and a 2-3 words description.


Website (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bpalermini
Goldmember
Avatar
1,256 posts
Gallery: 69 photos
Likes: 501
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Ashland, Oregon
     
Feb 03, 2016 22:17 |  #5

I import via Lightroom now. It took me a year or two to figure it out, I had been copying the files via the OS and synchronizing my Lightroom view of my photos folder. That worked but I found that I had been missing a number of features available via Lightroom import like keyboarding, preset application, and others.

I found it difficult to figure out LR import initially so then had to spend some time learning how it works. Now that I understand it I would not use anything else. Spend some time with it and I think you will like it too.


Bob Palermini
1DX, 5DIV, 14 Rokinon, 16-35L II, 24-70L II, 100L, 70-200 IS 2.8L, 100-400L II, 400mm 2.8 IS II, 1.4xIII, 2xIII, 580EXII, YN560IV, RRS TVC23 + BH55, LRCC, Fuji X-E2, Fuji X30
My Web Site (external link) | My Sports Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
4,937 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1229
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Feb 04, 2016 01:19 |  #6

I import directly into LR from a card reader. I have set up the Import dialogue to apply different presets (I have one for Rugby, one for Street, one for Black and white) and also apply different default Keywords. It is also set to apply a colour label (Green) to all the RAW files as they are imported. Then if I later create a virtual copy I change the label on that to Yellow. If I create a TIFF and bring that back into LR it gets a blue label. I don't generally bother to bring JPEGs back into the catalog (I treat them as disposable files and just delete after posting to the web) but if I do they are red.

The above allows me to see at a glance what format a file is (RAW/Virtual copy/TIFF-PSD/JPEG etc) when viewing the library.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Limey
Senior Member
Avatar
424 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 111
Joined Jan 2006
Location: On my way to Wigan Pier
     
Feb 04, 2016 04:21 |  #7

i use Scott Kelbys way exturnal hardrive then lightroom


7D,20D,1V.
24-105L.
17-85.4EF-S,50.1.4.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nathancarter
Cream of the Crop
5,471 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 584
Joined Dec 2010
     
Feb 04, 2016 10:21 |  #8

Dan Marchant wrote in post #17885269 (external link)
I import directly into LR from a card reader. I have set up the Import dialogue to apply different presets (I have one for Rugby, one for Street, one for Black and white) and also apply different default Keywords.


Same.

I have a few different import presets for specific things that I repeat, plus one general preset that's a starting point that I modify as needed. The presets rename the files, add keywords, and put them in the folder directory where I want them. I don't use Lightroom's defaults very much.


http://www.avidchick.c​om (external link) for business stuff
http://www.facebook.co​m/VictorVoyeur (external link) for fun stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,819 views & 0 likes for this thread
importing directly to lightroom??
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is norm281049
895 guests, 410 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.