Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 22 Feb 2016 (Monday) 08:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Urgently need computer savvy experience to determine does my CPU have a problem. Ref overheating ?s

 
Bleufire
Goldmember
Avatar
1,200 posts
Likes: 53
Joined Mar 2008
Location: California
Post edited over 3 years ago by Bleufire.
     
Feb 23, 2016 15:59 |  #16

Submariner wrote in post #17909319 (external link)
Thanks for the info on testing everything.

As for over kill on the fans, probably a good thing ref the running relatively hot.

By adding another £60 in fans, would have worked beautifully if this processor wasnt overvoltaged. ( for whatever reason ). Because in Standard fan mode the machine is virtually silent running all fans at circa 300 rpm. You have to have your ear virtually on the case to hear it. Yet still have the potential to deliver a hurricane of cooling if needed say in the future rendering 4K video.

The amount of fans you have put into your machine is still excessive. This is not an airflow issue by the sounds of it considering you have a machine capable of producing Tornado-geddon.

Submariner wrote in post #17909319 (external link)
Sorry about all the posts - isnt that what forums are for. One has to learn somehow.? No?

Yes but you flood the subforum with your post about this PC and others threads with this. Why not keep it to one post? You're creating a new thread with about every component in your PC rather than keeping it consolidated to one.


5D*Sigma 50/1.4*EF 17-40/4
New to Photography? ----> ENJOY! Canon DSLR! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:26 as a reply to  @ post 17909488 |  #17

Escalated it in SM, got a good guy who thought, maybe the ME firmware ( no idea what that is ) was behing the Bios. He thought that might be giving false readings?? He sent me stuff to change it and I did that this weekend but hell no improvement! :( :(

This is a real pain the workstation is fabulously fast like lightening.
And I suspect if it didnt overvoltage it would probably idle at 30-34C.

I must try and load cpu-z - but all the downloads give me some PC cleaner crap.
Will try daves link.

Not sure who to believe, could this ME firmware really cause false readings?, or when they cure the problem, is this to make me happy so I dont demand a new cpu??
Anyway its escalated to tier 2 at Intel too. Well at least I know it aint my fault.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:31 as a reply to  @ post 17909571 |  #18

Well it never gets over 53C and tier 2 Intel said that would not damage it! They are more worried that the cpu has been overvoltaged!
( honestly I have no idea what damage or lack of damage that would do )
The analogy given to me was if a car has a max rpm of 6000 revs , every time you go over it you shorten the life of the "perfect engine" - sure it may run but it wont help it have a long life at max performance.

Nice introduction to building pcs lol!

Thinking I may send back the MB and CPU soon
Such a shame as it exceeds all me expectations in every other respect, and the ac wifi smokes compared to old BT "N" infinity!


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,507 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 3563
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
Post edited over 3 years ago by EverydayGetaway.
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:31 |  #19

Submariner wrote in post #17916801 (external link)
Escalated it in SM, got a good guy who thought, maybe the ME firmware ( no idea what that is ) was behing the Bios. He thought that might be giving false readings?? He sent me stuff to change it and I did that this weekend but hell no improvement! :( :(

This is a real pain the workstation is fabulously fast like lightening.
And I suspect if it didnt overvoltage it would probably idle at 30-34C.

I must try and load cpu-z - but all the downloads give me some PC cleaner crap.
Will try daves link.

Not sure who to believe, could this ME firmware really cause false readings?, or when they cure the problem, is this to make me happy so I dont demand a new cpu??
Anyway its escalated to tier 2 at Intel too. Well at least I know it aint my fault.

Did you lower the voltage in the Bios as I recommended before?


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:34 as a reply to  @ post 17909585 |  #20

Thats the issue, it is 100% Certified!!!
The core CpU for this board is E5 1600s v3 and E5 2600s V3 - so as its a single cpu board the real target is the E5 1600 v3 series and the 1650 is their best performer!

But when I Ask for a screen shot of the Bios of one they are running .... Zip!


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:40 as a reply to  @ post 17909906 |  #21

Yep that was the first thing I looked for ..... There is no voltage or frequency adjustment available even in the latest bios!!
Imeven asked if they could open it up?
The answer was no can do.

So its up to them to sort it.

Incidentally I suspected as long as it didnt get over 67C ( intels max stated temp) then no damage would be done. As generally with overvoltaging anything - the damage is mainly done by the excess and unmanageable heat! But Intel say CPUs can also be internally damaged by excess voltage, thats why they make K derivatives!

Cant argue as a novice, after all they make em!


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 16:42 as a reply to  @ EverydayGetaway's post |  #22

No Tim you cant - there is no adjustment.
Quote SM "its not an overclocking board!"


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,507 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 3563
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
     
Feb 28, 2016 17:16 |  #23

Submariner wrote in post #17916832 (external link)
Yep that was the first thing I looked for ..... There is no voltage or frequency adjustment available even in the latest bios!!
Imeven asked if they could open it up?
The answer was no can do.

So its up to them to sort it.

Incidentally I suspected as long as it didnt get over 67C ( intels max stated temp) then no damage would be done. As generally with overvoltaging anything - the damage is mainly done by the excess and unmanageable heat! But Intel say CPUs can also be internally damaged by excess voltage, thats why they make K derivatives!

Cant argue as a novice, after all they make em!

What board do you have? That's insane that they make boards for CPU's that costly and don't let you change the voltage, I assumed all i7's were to a small extent overclockable, my 3820 isn't advertised as an OC CPU but I have mine running at 4.4ghz, stock was 3.5.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Feb 28, 2016 17:21 |  #24

-dave-m- wrote in post #17909488 (external link)
I would definitely investigate the voltage issue further before running any stress tests like Prime 95. Overvolting a CPU will shorten it's life. If you have Windows installed you can use a program like CPU-Z to check CPU speed and voltage. I would contact Supermicro and have them try and diagnose the problem. It could just be a wrong reading from the voltage sensor.

Here's a link for it http://www.cpuid.com …s/cpu-z/cpu-z_1.75-en.exe (external link)

Thanks Dave
I just noticed
•Intel Skylake Pentium, Celeron and Core m3/m5/m7 support.
•Intel Broadwell-E preliminary support.
•AMD A10-7890K APU

Gosh is my E5 1650 V3 Broadwell-E???

wonder what they mean by preliminary support


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
Avatar
688 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 51
Joined Dec 2010
Post edited over 3 years ago by N2bnfunn.
     
Feb 28, 2016 17:55 |  #25

Not a fan of a windows machine did that done that... GET A IMAC Retina 5k


Canon 1DX Canon EOS R EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,507 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 3563
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
     
Feb 28, 2016 18:21 |  #26

N2bnfunn wrote in post #17916920 (external link)
No a fan of a windows machine did that done that... GET A IMAC Retina 5k

An iMac wouldn't even come anywhere near the performance of his build... which is actually fine given that his build is massive overkill... the problem though, is that iMac would still cost the same as his current build, which imo is ridiculous.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
-dave-m-
Senior Member
491 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 49
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
     
Feb 29, 2016 01:44 |  #27

Submariner wrote in post #17916886 (external link)
Thanks Dave
I just noticed
•Intel Skylake Pentium, Celeron and Core m3/m5/m7 support.
•Intel Broadwell-E preliminary support.
•AMD A10-7890K APU

Gosh is my E5 1650 V3 Broadwell-E???

wonder what they mean by preliminary support

Those are notes for newer builds of CPU-Z, they add support as new CPU's are released. The Xeon E5 1650 V3 is a Haswell E CPU and was released Q3 2014, CPU-Z has supported Haswell E CPU's since version 1.69.


5D MkII Gripped | 7D MkII Gripped | 200 f/2.8L | 17-40 f/4L | Σ 24-105 OS f/4 Art | Σ 50 f/1.4 Art | Σ 150-600 OS f/5-6.3 C | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
-dave-m-
Senior Member
491 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 49
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
     
Feb 29, 2016 01:46 |  #28

N2bnfunn wrote in post #17916920 (external link)
No a fan of a windows machine did that done that... GET A IMAC Retina 5k

He went for overkill hardware, not overpriced.


5D MkII Gripped | 7D MkII Gripped | 200 f/2.8L | 17-40 f/4L | Σ 24-105 OS f/4 Art | Σ 50 f/1.4 Art | Σ 150-600 OS f/5-6.3 C | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
virsago_mk2
Senior Member
Avatar
600 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Perth (Australia) & Semarang (Indonesia)
Post edited over 3 years ago by virsago_mk2.
     
Mar 09, 2016 09:10 |  #29

1.473V???

Geezus Crust man I'm genuinely surprised that you didn't fried your CPU instantly. Even for a Xeon that voltage's WAY too high.

You got too many fans on the case's ceiling, remove those two. This will improve your airflow.
Or get a closed-looped liquid cooling like Seidon 120V or something to replace that rear fan.

Next time go to Tom's Hardware forum or BuildaPC sub-Reddit for a helpful advice about PC building.


Gear: Here | Portfolio: Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Mar 10, 2016 16:14 |  #30

Quick update, Intel ran some diagnostics on the CPU and it failed - great service -,it was replaced and the new one arrived the next day.

Hmmm apparently the MB is faulty, and thats gone back. Not the same service level, just heard it might take Supermicro up to 2 weeks to replace it. Hmmmm :( not good actually appalling as this is a global SKU ( allegedly available next day worldwide - so crap service!
Allegedly great server grade build quality, hmmm jury out on this.
Lets see how they actually perform.

Well at least it appears my personal build techniques were spot on. But its not operational, so until Supermicro deliver a new MB its back to the old Laptop

Nice intro to build it yourself eh :(:(:( however when it ran it was blisteringly quick. And its nice only spending money on items you need.

Jury is still out. Lets see if SM deliver quickly or want to p@ss around "testing" it.
Not much point when one has photo evidence it is faulty!

Lets see if they perform.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,888 views & 6 likes for this thread
Urgently need computer savvy experience to determine does my CPU have a problem. Ref overheating ?s
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is oldarc
1024 guests, 308 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.