Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Mar 2016 (Monday) 19:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

need help with my 1dx

 
tbar
Senior Member
270 posts
Gallery: 114 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 304
Joined May 2008
     
Mar 14, 2016 19:55 |  #1

not sure what happened but when i press any of the function buttons Af, iso, mode etc , i don't get anything on my display, the buttons still work and i can see them in the view finder .
has anyone had this problem, I'm not sure if i accidentally press something in the menu section
thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,989 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 267
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 15, 2016 05:19 |  #2

Which display? A 1DX has three of them. You should see something happening on the top display, but that's it.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
notastockpikr
Senior Member
408 posts
Likes: 51
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Canada
     
Mar 15, 2016 07:40 |  #3

Is the On/Off switch on Lock?

Press the Q button and then press any of button and things should change in the Q screen. Btw, anything displayed on the top lcd shows on the Q screen.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,989 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 267
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 15, 2016 09:17 |  #4

The lock switch can lock dials and the joysticks, but doesn't lock the mode buttons.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,949 posts
Gallery: 105 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5242
Joined May 2002
Location: Cannelton
     
Mar 15, 2016 09:47 |  #5

So the TS just needs to hit the info button to bring up the settings on the rear screen, correct?


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,989 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 267
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 15, 2016 10:55 |  #6

If that's enabled in the INFO button loop, yes. Or use the Q button, as it can't be disabled.
What I was trying to figure out was if there was no reaction to MODE button on top display (there should be) or rear displays (normally, there shouldn't be)?


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
Avatar
690 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 52
Joined Dec 2010
     
Mar 15, 2016 13:21 |  #7

You can always do a reset and just but everything like back in... that is like when you send it in for cleaning they always return it with a factory default setting..


Canon 1DX Canon EOS R EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
Post edited over 3 years ago by LincsRP.
     
Mar 15, 2016 13:53 |  #8

notastockpikr wrote in post #17935969 (external link)
Is the On/Off switch on Lock?

.

Being on lock does not stop the rear screen working or changing settings using the rear screen.


EDIT: Custom Function 5: Operation, the Quick Control Dial, Main Dial and Multi-Controller can be locked in addition when using the lock setting on the on/off lever. Just tested mine and inadvertently you make your 1DX virtually unuseable in the field if you're not careful!


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
2,546 posts
Likes: 910
Joined Nov 2009
     
Mar 15, 2016 15:02 |  #9

tbar wrote in post #17935503 (external link)
not sure what happened but when i press any of the function buttons Af, iso, mode etc , i don't get anything on my display, the buttons still work and i can see them in the view finder .
has anyone had this problem, I'm not sure if i accidentally press something in the menu section
thanks


Try pressing the INFO button


Football is a very simple game. Twenty-two players chase a ball and Germany always win.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tbar
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
270 posts
Gallery: 114 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 304
Joined May 2008
     
Mar 15, 2016 15:30 |  #10

john crossley wrote in post #17936332 (external link)
Try pressing the INFO button

that did it . i pressed it three times and then it came up . thanks .




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jay125
on the happy gas
Avatar
10,703 posts
Gallery: 100 photos
Likes: 1638
Joined Dec 2010
     
Mar 17, 2016 07:38 |  #11

john crossley wrote in post #17936332 (external link)
Try pressing the INFO button

Sometimes, less is more! :-)



feedback


gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,963 views & 1 like for this thread
need help with my 1dx
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Fireman
1164 guests, 308 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.