Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 May 2016 (Tuesday) 07:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5d SR at ISO 2000

 
Garry ­ Gibson
Goldmember
1,608 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 152
Joined May 2007
Location: Vero Beach FL
Post edited over 2 years ago by Garry Gibson.
     
May 10, 2016 07:13 |  #1

Going through my photos from my South Africa trip and I can across this one. There are several municipal game reserves in Pretoria
and we got there very late in the day. In order to get a reasonable exposure with the 100-400 I had to go to 2000 ISO and 1/50 both
obviously not optimum.

This is the jpeg with no noise reduction, the basic sharpening in lightroom (25) and a bit of vibrance. It's not a terrible shot
and I see very little noise in the shot. With the slow shutter speed I do see the tracks of bugs around the Zebra's head. All In all
I am pretty impressed.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


5D SR- 7D Mark II
Some assorted glass
Learning everyday... well.. maybe every other day.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Tapeman
Sliced Bread
Avatar
3,721 posts
Likes: 120
Joined Jan 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Post edited over 2 years ago by Tapeman.
     
May 10, 2016 09:39 |  #2

It is hard to beat the versatility of the 5DSR/100-400II combo. Nice shot. I am not afraid to shoot at higher ISOs.


Canon G1X II, 1D MKIV, 5DSR, 5DIV, 5D MKII, 16-35/2.8L II, 24-70/2.8L II, 70-200/2.8L IS II, IS, 100-400/4.5-5.6 L IS II, 500/4 L IS II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/2.5 macro, 1.4x MKII, 1.4X MKIII, 2X MKIII,580EX II, 550EXs(2), ST-E2.
Gitzo 1228, 1275, 1558, Lensbaby 3G. Epson 3880, Bags that match my shoes.:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bildeb0rg
Goldmember
Avatar
2,795 posts
Gallery: 228 photos
Likes: 1014
Joined Oct 2006
Location: north yorks
     
May 10, 2016 12:33 |  #3

Just a little curious as to your choice of ISO, why 2000 over 1600 or 3200? Or were you using auto ISO in manual?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2733
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 10, 2016 12:41 |  #4

"had to go to 2000"? I am confused. I would guess this relatively new camera is at least as good at high-ISO as things like the 70D, 7D2, 5D3, 6D. I had a 70D, and still have a 6D and 1DIII. ISO 6400 is completely use-able on all of them. In good light, the 6D produces clean JPG files at 12,800. Not following the ISO 2000 limitation.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Copidosoma
Goldmember
1,017 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 68
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
     
May 10, 2016 13:36 |  #5

Bassat wrote in post #18002449 (external link)
"had to go to 2000"? I am confused. I would guess this relatively new camera is at least as good at high-ISO as things like the 70D, 7D2, 5D3, 6D. I had a 70D, and still have a 6D and 1DIII. ISO 6400 is completely use-able on all of them. In good light, the 6D produces clean JPG files at 12,800. Not following the ISO 2000 limitation.

obviously, some people have different needs/demands when it comes to noise.

'clean' iso 12800 jpegs from the 6D is a pretty subjective thing. I've never seen it.


Gear: 7DII | 6D | Fuji X100s |Sigma 24A, 50A, 150-600C |24-105L |Samyang 14 2.8|Tamron 90mm f2.8 |and some other stuff
http://www.shutterstoc​k.com/g/copidosoma (external link)
https://500px.com/chri​s_kolaczan (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
maverick75
Cream of the Crop
5,707 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 611
Joined May 2012
Location: Riverside,California
     
May 10, 2016 14:09 |  #6

Bassat wrote in post #18002449 (external link)
"had to go to 2000"? I am confused. I would guess this relatively new camera is at least as good at high-ISO as things like the 70D, 7D2, 5D3, 6D. I had a 70D, and still have a 6D and 1DIII. ISO 6400 is completely use-able on all of them. In good light, the 6D produces clean JPG files at 12,800. Not following the ISO 2000 limitation.

You're not comparing them correctly. The 5DSR is not a high iso camera. It is a high megapixel camera. Since it has more than twice the pixels of the 6D but they have to take up the same 35mm space it will suffer because the pixels are smaller. Where as the 6D has much much bigger pixels so it performs better at higher ISOs.


- Alex Corona Sony A7, Canon 7DM2/EOS M, Mamiya 645/67
Flickr (external link) - 500px (external link) - Website (external link)- Feedback -Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2733
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 10, 2016 14:27 |  #7

maverick75 wrote in post #18002538 (external link)
You're not comparing them correctly. The 5DSR is not a high iso camera. It is a high megapixel camera. Since it has more than twice the pixels of the 6D but they have to take up the same 35mm space it will suffer because the pixels are smaller. Where as the 6D has much much bigger pixels so it performs better at higher ISOs.

Which begs the question: "Why does the 5DSR exist?" If I can get the same pixel DENSITY (and size and high-ISO noise) from a much less expensive 7D2, why would anyone choose a 5DSR? The 7DII would actually put more those pixels on target due to the crop factor.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,672 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5045
Joined May 2002
Location: Cannelton
Post edited over 2 years ago by TeamSpeed. (2 edits in all)
     
May 10, 2016 14:35 |  #8

Due to how close the 5DS/5DSR is to the ISO performance of the 7D2, as well as nearly identical pixel density, I think the allure of those cameras is that you can have your FF result, and when times call for it, you can crop out an APS-C result at a resulting high resolution without sporting 2 bodies. It is pretty much a FF/APS-C all wrapped up in one body, it is just lacking in burst rate.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AJSJones
Goldmember
Avatar
2,647 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 92
Joined Dec 2001
Location: California
     
May 10, 2016 14:39 |  #9

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18002561 (external link)
Due to how close the 5DS/5DSR is to the ISO performance of the 7D2, as well as nearly identical pixel density, I think the allure of those cameras is that you can have your FF result, and when times call for it, you can crop out an APS-C result at a resulting high resolution without sporting 2 bodies. It is pretty much a FF/APS-C all wrapped up in one body, it is just lacking in burst rate.

Yup - my 5DsR has left my 7D and 5D2 at home. I never really used high bursts anyway, so 5fps and nice AF are bonuses to the resolution...


My picture galleries (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2733
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 10, 2016 14:42 |  #10

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18002561 (external link)
Due to how close the 5DS/5DSR is to the ISO performance of the 7D2, as well as nearly identical pixel density, I think the allure of those cameras is that you can have your FF result, and when times call for it, you can crop out an APS-C result at a resulting high resolution without sporting 2 bodies. It is pretty much a FF/APS-C all wrapped up in one body, it is just lacking in burst rate.

Ok, I concede the point about not needing two bodies. Hobbling your full-frame just to achieve use-able cropped results seems counter-productive at some point. As mentioned, keeping the ISO low avoids the worst of the sensors behavior. Which leads back to the 7D2, 80D, or the like, doesn't it?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Matthew ­ Patrick
Senior Member
395 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New England
     
May 10, 2016 14:45 as a reply to  @ Bassat's post |  #11

The 5Dsr is a camera that seems to be geared for a studio. If you only shoot in a studio then you would probably just leave the ISO at 100 and never change it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2733
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 10, 2016 14:53 |  #12

Matthew Patrick wrote in post #18002583 (external link)
The 5Dsr is a camera that seems to be geared for a studio. If you only shoot in a studio then you would probably just leave the ISO at 100 and never change it.

I am no professional, but when I work in the studio (my dining room), I have little difficulty fielding an appropriate focal length lens. That means I do not have to crop, much if any at all, my final product. In the studio, what advantage do all of those pixels provide, if not the crop-ability mentioned above?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Matthew ­ Patrick
Senior Member
395 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New England
     
May 10, 2016 15:02 as a reply to  @ Bassat's post |  #13

They provide very high resolution on par with a medium format back for a much lower price. It's nice for work that will be printed and good for work that will end up on a very large format like a billboard.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
don1163
Goldmember
Avatar
1,000 posts
Gallery: 27 photos
Likes: 1797
Joined May 2015
Location: Washford, Somerset/ UK
     
May 10, 2016 15:05 |  #14

Copidosoma wrote in post #18002505 (external link)
obviously, some people have different needs/demands when it comes to noise.

'clean' iso 12800 jpegs from the 6D is a pretty subjective thing. I've never seen it.

+1
I shoot with a 6D and ISO 12800 is not "clean"


1DX, 500L f4, 70-200L f2.8II, 100L f2.8 macro ,16-35 f4, 1.4xIII, Metz 64-AF1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2733
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 10, 2016 15:37 |  #15

Matthew Patrick wrote in post #18002604 (external link)
They provide very high resolution on par with a medium format back for a much lower price. It's nice for work that will be printed and good for work that will end up on a very large format like a billboard.

On par with MF? The Pentax 645D is 40MP. The 5DSR is 50MP, on a sensor 1/3 the size. The MF camera has more than 3 times the surface area of Canon's full frame sensor. If sensor size matters, the 5DSR is not even in the same league as any MF body.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,933 views & 6 likes for this thread
5d SR at ISO 2000
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is 18schroj
867 guests, 238 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.