Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 13 Apr 2016 (Wednesday) 16:16
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

NAS Advice ...

 
jlt23
Senior Member
445 posts
Likes: 61
Joined May 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
     
May 02, 2016 18:44 |  #31

mike_d wrote in post #17993243 (external link)
First, be sure to leave your database on your computer. Just move the images.

Its actually pretty easy. Create a folder on the Synology (either on an existing share or a new one) and make sure you can read/write to it before trying to use it in Lightroom. In LR's Library, go to Folders on the left, click the + and choose new folder. Point it to the folder on your NAS. You'll now have two top level folders listed. Now just drag and drop whatever you want to the new folder within Lightroom. Moving files within LR ensures that your database can find them so your edits are all preserved.

Thanks for the tips. I'll do that when I get it.


James

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bcaps
I was a little buzzed when I took this
Avatar
905 posts
Gallery: 82 photos
Best ofs: 16
Likes: 2228
Joined Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 02, 2016 21:23 |  #32

mike_d wrote in post #17993243 (external link)
First, be sure to leave your database on your computer. Just move the images.

Its actually pretty easy. Create a folder on the Synology (either on an existing share or a new one) and make sure you can read/write to it before trying to use it in Lightroom. In LR's Library, go to Folders on the left, click the + and choose new folder. Point it to the folder on your NAS. You'll now have two top level folders listed. Now just drag and drop whatever you want to the new folder within Lightroom. Moving files within LR ensures that your database can find them so your edits are all preserved.

I *think* that the NAS folder won't show up in the folder view until you import at least one photo from that folder.


- Dave | flickr (external link)
Nikon D810
14-24mm f/2.8 | 16-35mm F/4 | 24-70mm f/2.8 | 70-200mm f/4 | Sigma 150-600mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,376 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Aug 2009
     
May 02, 2016 22:28 |  #33

Bcaps wrote in post #17993748 (external link)
I *think* that the NAS folder won't show up in the folder view until you import at least one photo from that folder.

Maybe its different on a mac, but on windows I did what I described and it worked fine.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cwphoto
Go ahead, make my day
Avatar
2,158 posts
Gallery: 30 photos
Likes: 74
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Kellyville, Baulkham Hills, Cumberland, NSW, Australia
     
May 15, 2016 21:37 |  #34

I have the Synology DS415+ with a pair of WD Red 6TB HDDs in RAID1.

I also sync this with Amazon Cloud for about USD60 per annum, using one of the Synology Apps.

So far so good, although next time I will probably go for RAID10 for greater I/O speed as I thin down my access devices.


EOS-1D X Mark II| EOS 5D Mark IV | EOS 80D | EOS-1V HS
L: 14/2.8 II | 17/4 | 24/1.4 II | 24/3.5 II | 35/1.4 II | 50/1.2 | 85/1.2 II | 100/2.8 Macro IS | 135/2 | 180/3.5 Macro | 200/2.8 II | 300/2.8 IS II | 400/2.8 IS II | 500/4 IS II | 600/4 IS II | 8-15/4 Fisheye | 11-24/4 | 16-35/2.8 III | 24-70/2.8 II | 70-200/2.8 IS II | 100-400/4.5-5.6 IS II | 200-400/4 IS 1.4x
Sundry: 600EX II-RT | 1.4x III | 2x III | 12 II | 25 II | OC-E4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,376 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Aug 2009
Post edited over 3 years ago by mike_d.
     
May 15, 2016 22:45 |  #35

cwphoto wrote in post #18008352 (external link)
I have the Synology DS415+ with a pair of WD Red 6TB HDDs in RAID1.

I also sync this with Amazon Cloud for about USD60 per annum, using one of the Synology Apps.

So far so good, although next time I will probably go for RAID10 for greater I/O speed as I thin down my access devices.

I have an older DS1512+ running 5 WD Reds in SHR and it can saturate Gigabit Ethernet as can a DS216+ I just got. So I'm not sure there's any much, if any, advantage to RAID 10.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
445 posts
Likes: 61
Joined May 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
     
May 28, 2016 23:33 as a reply to  @ post 17980022 |  #36

I'm hoping to set mine up this weekend if I have time. What do you plug into your UPS for the battery/surge side? The UPS you linked has 5 surge and 5 surge/battery. My computer area will have modem, router, NAS, computer, 2 monitors, computer speakers, and scanner. What would you recommend I plug in the battery side?

Thanks


James

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,376 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Aug 2009
     
May 28, 2016 23:40 |  #37

jlt23 wrote in post #18022328 (external link)
I'm hoping to set mine up this weekend if I have time. What do you plug into your UPS for the battery/surge side? The UPS you linked has 5 surge and 5 surge/battery. My computer area will have modem, router, NAS, computer, 2 monitors, computer speakers, and scanner. What would you recommend I plug in the battery side?

Thanks

Of the devices listed, I'd plug the NAS, computer, and 1 monitor into the battery side.

I actually have a UPS for my PC and a separate one for my NAS and networking gear. Peripherals like speakers, printers, and scanners don't need battery power.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
445 posts
Likes: 61
Joined May 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
     
May 28, 2016 23:52 as a reply to  @ mike_d's post |  #38

Thanks for your help


James

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
445 posts
Likes: 61
Joined May 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
     
Jun 04, 2016 20:06 |  #39

I got my Synology up and running. Now I just need to figure out how to set it up as an iTunes server.

Thanks everyone for your help


James

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
7,535 posts
Gallery: 127 photos
Likes: 1305
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Jun 04, 2016 21:50 |  #40

jlt23 wrote in post #18029333 (external link)
I got my Synology up and running. Now I just need to figure out how to set it up as an iTunes server.

Thanks everyone for your help

Once you get it up and running you'll forget about it and take it for granted ;)


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 85 mkII L | | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji - gone
Sony 2 x A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | GM16-35 f/2.8 | Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 | GM70-200 f/2.8 |Sigma Art 24 f/1.4 | Sigma ART 35 f/1.2 | FE85 f/1.8 | Sigma ART 105 f/1.4 | Godox V860iiS & V1S

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
clipper_from_oz
Goldmember
Avatar
2,613 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 12928
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Post edited over 3 years ago by clipper_from_oz.
     
Jun 05, 2016 10:53 |  #41

jlt23 wrote in post #18029333 (external link)
I got my Synology up and running. Now I just need to figure out how to set it up as an iTunes server.

Thanks everyone for your help


Good to hear....You will be pleased with that purchase Im a 100% sure of that . Just as I was/am. BTW I never got the I tunes server running but I have everything else going. Make sure you add the Synology "Download Manager" plugin( for SAfari , Firefox or Chrome) as well as Surveilance plugin app. They are 2 very usefull apps . Anyway you will see all the Synolgy recommended apps when you run the DSM manager .

Clipper


Clipper
5DSR,5DMkII,Fuji XPRO1,X-T1&X-T20,Fotoman 6x17cm Large Format Panorama Camera,Mamiya Universal 6x9
Canon EF 16-35mm f4 L, 17mm TSE f4 L,50mm f1.4, 24-70 f2.8 L, 70-200mm F4 L, 85mm f1.8, 100-400mm II L,
EF 400mm f2.8 IS II L, Fujinon XF18mmf2, XF35mmf1.4, XF60mm f2, XF18-55f2.8-4.5, XF55-200f4
Rodenstock, Sinar& Nikkor LF lens for Pano (75,95,150+210mm)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
445 posts
Likes: 61
Joined May 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
     
Jun 05, 2016 17:58 as a reply to  @ clipper_from_oz's post |  #42

I'm sure I will. Ill check out those apps.

Thanks


James

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sirmium
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2013
     
Jun 06, 2016 22:02 |  #43

+1 on synology
go for DS716+ or if you can afford DS916+ , more expansions the better




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
42,097 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2689
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
Post edited over 3 years ago by Wilt. (5 edits in all)
     
Jul 19, 2016 17:43 |  #44

I installed a Synology 2-bay NAS about 2 weeks ago, as I have no need for more sophistication or space in a home setting.

Whenever I reboot my Win7 PC (any of them), it is always necessary to input a name and password to get access to the Synology NAS...otherwise the NAS is not accessible. All my PCs are part of a workgroup for sharing data across the network at home. I checked the 'Remember me' option for each of my PCs, but NONE of them seem to automatically insert the name and password to get access to the NAS.

Synology tech support is pretty deficient in followup on issues submitted electronically, over two weeks have gone by since raising the question, with zero response from Synology (about how to change the RAID type)!:

Does anyone know how to get around this annoying need to type in name and password after a reboot of the PC, to get access to the Synology NAS under Win7 (I have Win7 64-bit on desk PC, and Win7 32-bit on two laptops, BTW). Putting the PC in hibernation avoids the need for name and password entry; but both are needed after every reboot.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,376 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 19, 2016 19:17 |  #45

Wilt wrote in post #18071836 (external link)
I installed a Synology 2-bay NAS about 2 weeks ago, as I have no need for more sophistication or space in a home setting.

Whenever I reboot my Win7 PC (any of them), it is always necessary to input a name and password to get access to the Synology NAS...otherwise the NAS is not accessible. All my PCs are part of a workgroup for sharing data across the network at home. I checked the 'Remember me' option for each of my PCs, but NONE of them seem to automatically insert the name and password to get access to the NAS.

Synology tech support is pretty deficient in followup on issues submitted electronically, over two weeks have gone by since raising the question, with zero response from Synology (about how to change the RAID type)!:

Does anyone know how to get around this annoying need to type in name and password after a reboot of the PC, to get access to the Synology NAS under Win7 (I have Win7 64-bit on desk PC, and Win7 32-bit on two laptops, BTW). Putting the PC in hibernation avoids the need for name and password entry; but both are needed after every reboot.

Try using Credential Manager. Its in the Win7 Control Panel but you can just do a Start Menu search for it.

Click Windows Credentials, Add a Windows credential. Enter the name of your Synology, user name, and password. Assuming you gave it a static IP address, you may want to make and entry for the IP address in addition to the host name. In the User Name box, you may need to enter it as diskstation\Wilt, assuming your NAS is named diskstation and your user account on the NAS is Wilt.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,324 views & 9 likes for this thread
NAS Advice ...
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mjennis
1115 guests, 242 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.