Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 30 Aug 2015 (Sunday) 13:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sigma 150-600 C Firmware Update Issue

 
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,640 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6281
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jun 09, 2016 17:22 |  #16

What firmware version came on the lens?


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jilldwr
Member
Avatar
31 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 82
Joined May 2016
Location: Toronto Area Canada
     
Jun 10, 2016 06:42 |  #17

I've been using the Canon 1.4x V3 with this lens for months, until I upgraded the firmware on the lens a couple weeks ago, now I get "Error 01" or F00, and the camera can't calculate the exposure. Funny thing is that I also have a cheap Kenko 1.4x TC and it still works with this lens and firmware. At first I thought the problem was with the Canon Extender so I sent it in to Canon for repairs. They called and said they couldn't find anything wrong with the Extender (great service by the way). I may send the lens back to Sigma with the Extender to assess.


Canon 5D3, 7D2, 7D, T4i, Tokina 12-24 F4, Canon 24-70 F2.8, Canon 70-200 F4 L IS USM,Canon 70-300 F4-5.6 IS USM, Sigma 150-600 C, Tokina 100mm Macro, Tokina 28-70 F2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 128 photos
Likes: 4712
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 10, 2016 06:52 |  #18

jilldwr wrote in post #18034884 (external link)
I've been using the Canon 1.4x V3 with this lens for months, until I upgraded the firmware on the lens a couple weeks ago, now I get "Error 01" or F00, and the camera can't calculate the exposure. Funny thing is that I also have a cheap Kenko 1.4x TC and it still works with this lens and firmware. At first I thought the problem was with the Canon Extender so I sent it in to Canon for repairs. They called and said they couldn't find anything wrong with the Extender (great service by the way). I may send the lens back to Sigma with the Extender to assess.

I am sure Sigma will not spend any time trying to get the lens to work with a Canon extender. I am also sure they will suggest buying the new TC-1401 Sigma extender.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jilldwr
Member
Avatar
31 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 82
Joined May 2016
Location: Toronto Area Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by jilldwr.
     
Jun 10, 2016 08:00 |  #19

Well, I spoke to Gentec service department today, they're the Canadian distributor for Sigma. They say it is impossible to roll back the firmware on the 150-600 C. They also said they've heard of this issue before. To date there is no fix for this, and they're not sure if this is even on Sigma's radar for future firmware bug fixes. They did not recommend purchasing the Sigma TC, as it is not compatible with my other Canon glass, unless I absolutely require a TC with the Sigma.

And that's it in a nutshell!


Canon 5D3, 7D2, 7D, T4i, Tokina 12-24 F4, Canon 24-70 F2.8, Canon 70-200 F4 L IS USM,Canon 70-300 F4-5.6 IS USM, Sigma 150-600 C, Tokina 100mm Macro, Tokina 28-70 F2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jilldwr
Member
Avatar
31 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 82
Joined May 2016
Location: Toronto Area Canada
     
Jun 10, 2016 08:06 |  #20

I was just going thru some of the posts in this thread, and I noticed someone with a 7D2 can't get the Canon TC to work after firmware upgrade, but it does work on the 70D! So I'm wondering if this has something to do with whether you've got the lens microadjusted in the Cameras firmware?? I have the 7D2 and it's microadjusted for this lens. I'll clear out the camera M.A. tonight and see if that helps.


Canon 5D3, 7D2, 7D, T4i, Tokina 12-24 F4, Canon 24-70 F2.8, Canon 70-200 F4 L IS USM,Canon 70-300 F4-5.6 IS USM, Sigma 150-600 C, Tokina 100mm Macro, Tokina 28-70 F2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FEChariot
Goldmember
Avatar
4,424 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 346
Joined Sep 2011
     
Jun 10, 2016 10:31 |  #21

Choderboy wrote in post #18034895 (external link)
I am sure Sigma will not spend any time trying to get the lens to work with a Canon extender. I am also sure they will suggest buying the new TC-1401 Sigma extender.

That seems to be more Canon's business model. It seems absurd that a third party player would take the stance to only use first party equipment with their gear. If people followed that line of thought, Sigma would basically not sell any lenses. That is unless you count the 17 people who have reviewed the Sigma SD1 body at B&H.  :p


Canon 7D/350D, Σ17-50/2.8 OS, 18-55IS, 24-105/4 L IS, Σ30/1.4 EX, 50/1.8, C50/1.4, 55-250IS, 60/2.8, 70-200/4 L IS, 85/1.8, 100/2.8 IS L, 135/2 L 580EX II, 430EX II * 2, 270EX II.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,021 posts
Gallery: 543 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1629
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Jun 10, 2016 12:06 |  #22

If you go to the Sigma website, since the issue of the first firmware update they have always specified that the 150-600's, as well as the GV Sport version of the 120-300 f/2.8 will only operate with the Sigma 1401 and 2001 teleconverters. This is a lens Feature, it is not a "malfunction". This actually means that if you have one of those three GV series lenses and want to use a reporting 1.4× teleconverter you will have to purchase the 1401 from sigma. I guess for those whose lenses are still operating with reporting converters, you are very lucky, because that function is not supported by the lens.

Now the really bad news, if you have any Sigma lens other than those three the 1401 will NOT work with them :(. I had been hoping that they would come out with a GV 50-150 f/2.8 Sport, that would also be 1401/2001 compatible, as one of those with the pair of converters would I think be a really good combination along with the 150-600. Unfortunately they decided to go with a 50-100 f/1.8 Art. If I were to get the older 50-150 f/2.8 OS HSM I would have to get the older EX (or some other brand) converters to use with that lens, as well as a 1401 to use if I went with a new f/8 AF capable body.

This seems a bit like the specification of which lenses will actually work with all the f/8 capable AF points in the latest Canon AF modules. Apart it seems for a few of the latest VII Canon big whites, only the center point is actually capable at f/8. This may explain why the Sigma 150-600s seem to report as the 100-400 VII.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jilldwr
Member
Avatar
31 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 82
Joined May 2016
Location: Toronto Area Canada
     
Jun 10, 2016 12:22 as a reply to  @ BigAl007's post |  #23

Yes, it would have been very nice to know this before upgrading the firmware, as it was a bigger detriment than improvement.


Canon 5D3, 7D2, 7D, T4i, Tokina 12-24 F4, Canon 24-70 F2.8, Canon 70-200 F4 L IS USM,Canon 70-300 F4-5.6 IS USM, Sigma 150-600 C, Tokina 100mm Macro, Tokina 28-70 F2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jilldwr
Member
Avatar
31 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 82
Joined May 2016
Location: Toronto Area Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by jilldwr.
     
Jun 10, 2016 13:47 as a reply to  @ jilldwr's post |  #24

Well, I tried clearing out the Microadjust settings but that had no impact on the extenders performance. I guess I'm going shopping!


Canon 5D3, 7D2, 7D, T4i, Tokina 12-24 F4, Canon 24-70 F2.8, Canon 70-200 F4 L IS USM,Canon 70-300 F4-5.6 IS USM, Sigma 150-600 C, Tokina 100mm Macro, Tokina 28-70 F2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,288 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 2863
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Jun 10, 2016 19:10 |  #25

I'm pretty sure ive read about people using the new sigma TC's on canon glass...i know my firmware on the 120-300 should supposedly not work with other TC, but it does


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 128 photos
Likes: 4712
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 11, 2016 02:57 |  #26

FEChariot wrote in post #18035077 (external link)
That seems to be more Canon's business model. It seems absurd that a third party player would take the stance to only use first party equipment with their gear. If people followed that line of thought, Sigma would basically not sell any lenses. That is unless you count the 17 people who have reviewed the Sigma SD1 body at B&H.  :p

Sigma have introduced a 1.4 and 2X TC that will only work with 3 Sigma lenses.
I'd say absurdity achieved.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 128 photos
Likes: 4712
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 11, 2016 03:17 |  #27

Did you try the EF 1.4 TC III before the lens firmware upgrade?

My 7D2 never worked with Sigma 150-600 S and EF 1.4TCIII.
It does work with EF1.4TCII.
My 1D4 works with either.

Both my 7D2 and Sigma 150-600S have not had firmware upgrade.
7D2 is still on V 1.0.2


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Philihase
Member
201 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 559
Joined Dec 2013
Location: Giessen Germany
     
Jun 11, 2016 05:22 |  #28

1.02 is an upgrade from the original version. I think it's the one that stopped tc compatibility. A while back I spoke on the phone to sigma Germany about it and it was a basic not our problem buy the Sigma convertor.


https://www.facebook.c​om …e-Photos-852961268075109/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pigpile34
Member
Avatar
151 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Oct 2015
     
Jun 13, 2016 13:00 |  #29

picked up the Sigma TC-1401 tele off eBay during one of those 10X eBay bucks things.

seller in Japan:
http://www.ebay.com …geName=STRK%3AM​EBIDX%3AIT (external link)

decent deal, highly recommend if they get them back in stock. had it in my hands shipped from Tokyo in 4 days.

initial tests show quick autofocus with the Sigma 150-600mm. works significantly better with the 5D3 vice my 7D2. pretty satisfied so far in admittedly a limited amount of tests. going to try some moon shots with this over next few days, so very curious to see how those turn out.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 128 photos
Likes: 4712
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 28, 2016 03:48 |  #30

pigpile34 wrote in post #18038119 (external link)
picked up the Sigma TC-1401 tele off eBay during one of those 10X eBay bucks things.

seller in Japan:
http://www.ebay.com …geName=STRK%3AM​EBIDX%3AIT (external link)

decent deal, highly recommend if they get them back in stock. had it in my hands shipped from Tokyo in 4 days.

initial tests show quick autofocus with the Sigma 150-600mm. works significantly better with the 5D3 vice my 7D2. pretty satisfied so far in admittedly a limited amount of tests. going to try some moon shots with this over next few days, so very curious to see how those turn out.

Have you tried the TC-1401 on any of your canon lenses?
70-200 II or 100-400 II?


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

14,355 views & 1 like for this thread
Sigma 150-600 C Firmware Update Issue
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is emmanwarren
847 guests, 231 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.