Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Aug 2016 (Wednesday) 21:29
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D Mark IV -- Time to Discuss!

 
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,087 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2773
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
Post edited over 3 years ago by Talley.
     
Sep 16, 2016 23:14 |  #2401

FLiPxJB wrote in post #18130565 (external link)
dang! i actually got this card. https://www.amazon.com …age_o07_s00?ie=​UTF8&psc=1 (external link)

i figured that will do since its U3.

Please review this thread for all the info you need: https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1467156

You want the full potential your buying the UHS-1 Extreme Pro. Good thing is they are relatively inexpensive.

And to think the Sandisk is $5 cheaper too :)


A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Neilyb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,192 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 444
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Munich
     
Sep 17, 2016 03:13 |  #2402

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #18130323 (external link)
Exactly.

...and thus those that would like to see a 5D4-R version are barking up the right tree, with 30MP it's bumping right up there with the 36MP exmor.

I shot my A7R for a year for landscapes, family stuff, travel... never once had a problem with moire. Which is why I might just buy the 5DsR and save a few dollars too.


http://natureimmortal.​blogspot.com (external link)

http://www.natureimmor​tal.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sploo
premature adulation
2,414 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 464
Joined Nov 2011
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
     
Sep 17, 2016 03:50 |  #2403

h14nha wrote in post #18130398 (external link)
With 2 young children myself I've been agonising for 18 months or so about an upgrade. Weight is paramount to me for exactly the reasons you stated above. Sony A7x/Fuji XT1/Nikon DF have all been in my crosshairs at some point. XT2 and now an M5 could be a factor, time will tell upon release.
One thing I found strange in this thread is people stating the extra MP of the 5D4 clearly shows, but hardly any of them upgraded to an A7R2 despite being able to use their existing lens selection ? ? ? For me, the price of this body in the UK, as an amateur shooter will never allow me to purchase it. Maybe a 6D2/24-70F4 kit could be a possibility now they can significantly improve it without cannibalizing 5D sales.

The a7Rii can use Canon glass, but not without some issues. It's a fine camera, but a very different tool to a DSLR in terms of AF, build quality, battery life etc.

For Canon landscapers seeking MP and DR it makes sense, but for many other shooters, not so much.


Camera, some lenses, too little time, too little talent

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonneymendoza
Goldmember
3,788 posts
Likes: 383
Joined Apr 2008
     
Sep 17, 2016 05:38 |  #2404

jonneymendoza wrote in post #18130390 (external link)
umm i dunno what happened to my camera but i can no longer focus in live view mode by touching the area on the screen to fcous on? is there a setting that i may have accidently disabled touch AF on live view?

I tried it with both my sigma 35mm art lens and my 24-7f2.8 mk2 canon lens.

Ok heads up!

If you disable AF lock on the shutter button, this effects live view touch focus!!


Canon 5dmkIII | Canon 85L 1.2 | Sigma 35mm ART 1.4|Canon 16-35mm L 2.8 |Canon 24-70mm L f2.8 | Canon 70-200mm F2.8L MK2 | Canon 430EX MK2 Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
planet5D
Senior Member
Avatar
251 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 98
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Missouri
     
Sep 17, 2016 08:00 |  #2405

EzDingo wrote in post #18130544 (external link)
(and leaves the main shutter button to operate as expected for the wife ;))

That can actually be a pretty big issue and resolution :)


Light L16: http://lightRumors.co
the premier community for Light L16 owners

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,087 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2773
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Sep 17, 2016 08:19 |  #2406

Personally for me I never back button focused to the point where I disabled focusing from the front shutter button. Why?... because while tracking I much preferred to free my thumb up to have it on the joystick to make AF selection movements during servo as needed.

But I am fully taking advantage of the new BBF features to enable zone/all af points.

Just wish it could be one shot and single shot mode with the normal shutter and when you press either back button able to have it switch to high speed drive mode. That would be epic.


A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Colorblinded
Goldmember
Avatar
2,660 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 521
Joined Jul 2007
     
Sep 17, 2016 08:23 |  #2407

Talley wrote in post #18130557 (external link)
I realized today that...

...I want the ability to have drive mode assigned to the back button. Could you imagine having the regular shutter being single drive then the instant you press the back button it switches to servo, selects your case you want on how it focuses, changes to a zone type and switches to HIGH SPEED SHOOTING

OR... your main shutter is in silent... then you mash the back for high speed regular and/or vise versa.

Currently there is no option for customizing and assigning a button to switch drive modes. This and the ability to assign wifi to the custom Q menu are the two that go down on the need to add list.

I'm not sure I'd ever use this, but it's a really cool idea and I could see it being quite useful to many a folk.


http://www.colorblinde​dphoto.com (external link)
http://www.thecolorbli​ndphotographer.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nethawked
Senior Member
797 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 243
Joined Oct 2014
Location: Virginia, USA
     
Sep 17, 2016 08:32 |  #2408

I don't think my cameras have ever come out of high speed drive mode unless I want a delayed timer. If you want to switch out to single shot, press the shutter once. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,087 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2773
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Sep 17, 2016 09:16 |  #2409

Colorblinded wrote in post #18130811 (external link)
I'm not sure I'd ever use this, but it's a really cool idea and I could see it being quite useful to many a folk.

It was more of an issue with the 7D2 or any other camera that had 8+fps where in high speed mode if your were just in one shot... hard to get just one photo since every press of the shutter it was ready to fire like a machine gun and would nail off two shots. The 5D4 has caused a bunch of double shots where I just wanted one.

Maybe an adjustable delay from first shot to second to prevent this and make it adjustable for those that want it to rattle off fast... wouldn't take much of a delay we are talking milliseconds.


A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
16,110 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 6181
Joined Sep 2007
     
Sep 17, 2016 10:08 |  #2410

maybe a dual function button is needed, like toilets that have half flush and full flush :lol:


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - SY 24/2.8 - FE 28/2 - FE 35/2.8 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 17-28/2.8 - 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,087 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2773
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Sep 17, 2016 10:10 |  #2411

Charlie wrote in post #18130860 (external link)
maybe a dual function button is needed, like toilets that have half flush and full flush :lol:

like a triple press shutter button. half press focus, press further single shot mode and press till it stops is high speed mode. That would be nice.


A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FEChariot
Goldmember
Avatar
4,423 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 345
Joined Sep 2011
     
Sep 17, 2016 10:33 |  #2412

Talley wrote in post #18130836 (external link)
It was more of an issue with the 7D2 or any other camera that had 8+fps where in high speed mode if your were just in one shot... hard to get just one photo since every press of the shutter it was ready to fire like a machine gun and would nail off two shots. The 5D4 has caused a bunch of double shots where I just wanted one.

Maybe an adjustable delay from first shot to second to prevent this and make it adjustable for those that want it to rattle off fast... wouldn't take much of a delay we are talking milliseconds.

I see no point of ever using single shot. Even for portraits, someone can blink in an instant and ruin the shot. I can't tell you how many portraits were saved because I fired off two or thee shots instead of one. Memory is cheap and deleting a redundant copy is a heck of a lot easier than reposing and retaking a shot.


Canon 7D/350D, Σ17-50/2.8 OS, 18-55IS, 24-105/4 L IS, Σ30/1.4 EX, 50/1.8, C50/1.4, 55-250IS, 60/2.8, 70-200/4 L IS, 85/1.8, 100/2.8 IS L, 135/2 L 580EX II, 430EX II * 2, 270EX II.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,349 posts
Likes: 2358
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Sep 17, 2016 10:40 |  #2413

FEChariot wrote in post #18130878 (external link)
I see no point of ever using single shot. Even for portraits, someone can blink in an instant and ruin the shot. I can't tell you how many portraits were saved because I fired off two or thee shots instead of one. Memory is cheap and deleting a redundant copy is a heck of a lot easier than reposing and retaking a shot.

You don't work much with strobes, do you.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,087 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2773
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Sep 17, 2016 10:48 |  #2414

gjl711 wrote in post #18130883 (external link)
You don't work much with strobes, do you.

Probably not. I know when I'm outside overpowering the sun I have at best a 2.5 second recycle.

Actually one of my favorite shots of my youngest was when I fired off a photo... then she stuck her tongue out and I fired off another shot and the flash was still charging so I got a very dark image. I was in manual mode strobing outdoors in the sun so of course it was dark. I had exposed the highlights in the back about -1.5ev. People talk about the 5D3 having poor DR but I was able to +3ev the image and is now an image I printed large since it really reflects her personality. See:


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
16,110 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 6181
Joined Sep 2007
     
Sep 17, 2016 11:25 |  #2415

gjl711 wrote in post #18130883 (external link)
You don't work much with strobes, do you.

I typically leave under continuous high vs low. In low, it is slow enough to single tap.

I'm not sure if canon offers this, but one cool feature I like is self timer continuous 5 shot. Self timer for group shots can be annoying if you need up or need multiple. Self timer +5 somewhat solved the problem. Would like even more if possible, but 5 is real nice.


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - SY 24/2.8 - FE 28/2 - FE 35/2.8 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 17-28/2.8 - 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

819,996 views & 2,668 likes for this thread
Canon 5D Mark IV -- Time to Discuss!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Parashooter
940 guests, 349 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.