Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 28 Sep 2016 (Wednesday) 17:37
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is this a dirty sensor?

 
Orias
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Sep 28, 2016 17:37 |  #1

Hi guys,

I am pretty sure that my sensor is dirty (very), but I wanted to check as I haven't noticed this before. I was out taking a few shots today at a local airfield, and I noticed the following:

In this image, the sky is full of horizontal lines that are very VERY visible (it's not a good shot, obviously, but there are others like this). This was taken at f/32:

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i876.photobucke​t.com …/IMG_1396_zps7h​lm5l1s.jpg (external link)
on photobucket

And another image, same day, same lens, same conditions .. but at f/5.6, where the lines are not visible:

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i876.photobucke​t.com …/IMG_1673_zps28​swcui6.jpg (external link)
on photobucket\

I did try and clean my sensor a month or so ago (and I've done it before in the past), and this does look like dry "water" lines on the sensor, maybe? I've used the camera a lot since I did this, but this is the first time I've noticed these lines ... but also the first time I've ever really gone above f/10 or so.

Did I just screw up the sensor cleaning? And is it just a case of going back in there and doing it again (but properly, of course :p)

Thanks,
James

Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
Avatar
6,235 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3603
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Portland, OR
     
Sep 28, 2016 18:00 |  #2

Yeah, looks like your swab skill need some work there mate.


Getting better at this - Fuji Xt-2 - Fuji X-Pro2 - Laowa 9mm - 18-55 - 23/35/50/90 f2 WR - 50-140 - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
Avatar
6,235 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3603
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Portland, OR
     
Sep 28, 2016 18:01 |  #3

Or just don't shoot at f32.


Getting better at this - Fuji Xt-2 - Fuji X-Pro2 - Laowa 9mm - 18-55 - 23/35/50/90 f2 WR - 50-140 - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,283 posts
Gallery: 1696 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10665
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Sep 28, 2016 18:04 |  #4

Yup, looks dirty from dried fluid on the sensor.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Sep 28, 2016 18:32 |  #5

FarmerTed1971 wrote in post #18143050 (external link)
Yeah, looks like your swab skill need some work there mate.

Can't argue with you there. I'll try it again.

I wasn't intending to shoot at f/32, I just had it in "Shutter Priority" mode for some ground shots, and forgot to switch it back. It was pretty bright up there, so the camera just decided to whack it up to f/32. Although I'm glad it did as I wouldn't have noticed this otherwise!

Cheers!


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
Avatar
6,235 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3603
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Portland, OR
     
Sep 28, 2016 19:40 |  #6

Set the camera to not go higher than f22 (or 16) in auto modes.


Getting better at this - Fuji Xt-2 - Fuji X-Pro2 - Laowa 9mm - 18-55 - 23/35/50/90 f2 WR - 50-140 - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Trvlr323
Goldmember
Avatar
3,271 posts
Likes: 1081
Joined Apr 2007
     
Sep 28, 2016 20:03 |  #7

You might not have done such a bad job. We didn't see what it looked like before ;) Sensor cleaning is pretty easy. It won't take you more than a few times to get the hang of it. Some particles really bond to the low pass filter and can be quite tough to remove. I recently picked up a box of relatively inexpensive VSGO swabs and I found their cleaning solution worked better than eclipse. I usually swab once and go after any remaining particles with a sensor pen.

Here is a link that you might find useful.

http://www.cleaningdig​italcameras.com (external link)


Sometimes not taking a photograph can be as problematic as taking one. - Alex Webb

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2739
Joined Oct 2015
     
Sep 28, 2016 20:21 |  #8

FarmerTed1971 wrote in post #18143121 (external link)
Set the camera to not go higher than f22 (or 16) in auto modes.

Pretty sure the 70D can't do that.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,308 posts
Likes: 2336
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Sep 28, 2016 20:41 |  #9

When you get lines like that, it's a indication that you are using too much fluid or the wrong type of fluid. When wet cleaning the swab should be barely damp.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
Avatar
6,235 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3603
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Portland, OR
     
Sep 28, 2016 20:49 as a reply to  @ Bassat's post |  #10

Bummer, really?


Getting better at this - Fuji Xt-2 - Fuji X-Pro2 - Laowa 9mm - 18-55 - 23/35/50/90 f2 WR - 50-140 - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,001 posts
Gallery: 542 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1615
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Sep 29, 2016 04:15 |  #11

I will say this, your shutter speed in the first shot was far more appropriate for the subject than the one used in the second shot. When photographing aircraft with propellers, such as with this Spitfire I won't go above 1/160s to ensure a decent amount of prop blur, frozen props make the plane look like it is about to fall out of the sky. I notice you had ISO 200, but even ISO 100 would still only get you f/22, moving to 1/160 would then just get you 1/3 stop more on the aperture, which will still not produce great results, and with the sky as a background is likely to show up every spot of dirt on your sensor. If you are likely to be shooting in these sorts of conditions a lot I would suggest investing in some good quality ND filters. I would think that a 1 and 3 stop, or even 2 and 4 stop pair of filters would give the perfect options. I really couldn't care too much about ISO 1 Million, but having native base ISO of 25 would be great. 25 to 6400 would suit me pretty much as a speed range.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,920 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is this a dirty sensor?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ChazMaz
2239 guests, 320 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.