Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 19 Oct 2016 (Wednesday) 14:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can my eyepiece be out of focus (Not Diopter!)?

 
Mathmans
Member
228 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 66
Joined Apr 2014
Post edited over 1 year ago by Mathmans.
     
Oct 21, 2016 12:27 as a reply to  @ post 18162905 |  #31

By the way; it doesn't matter what's out of place if you don't have intention to fix it by yourself, does it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
scobols
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,262 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 386
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Waconia, MN
     
Oct 21, 2016 12:56 as a reply to  @ Mathmans's post |  #32

Whether or not I intend to try to fix it by myself entirely depends on what's out of place.


www.scottbolster.com (external link)
facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Colorblinded
Goldmember
Avatar
2,625 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 380
Joined Jul 2007
Post edited over 1 year ago by Colorblinded.
     
Oct 21, 2016 13:18 |  #33

apersson850 wrote in post #18162847 (external link)
If the primary mirror isn't stopping in the correct position, then it affects AF as well, since the secondary AF mirror is mounted on the back of the primary one.

If the focusing screen is misaligned it affects how AF is seen in the viewfinder (but not the picture itself) as well as how manual focus is perceived (which will affect the picture).
The focusing screen must be at exactly the same optical distance from the lens mount as the sensor is, or it will not truly represent the focus in the image.

It's possible for the primary mirror to not be mounted correctly on the frame, which could leave AF working normally.


http://www.colorblinde​dphoto.com (external link)
http://www.thecolorbli​ndphotographer.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scobols
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,262 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 386
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Waconia, MN
     
Nov 04, 2016 11:53 |  #34

UPDATE:

I just got my camera back from CPS - It was repaired and the viewfinder is now working correctly. Here's what they said:

"Your product has been examined and it was found that the viewfinder assembly was out of position the manual focus was misaligned. Adjustments were carried out on the viewfinder assembly. Product functions were confirmed. Adjusted exposure & ffd. focus basic & Shutter Speed. Cleaned C-mos and Checked all to factory specs."

I'm glad it's finally working. Unfortunately now I have to MFA all of my lenses again (sigh).

Scott


www.scottbolster.com (external link)
facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
40,239 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2037
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 04, 2016 12:23 as a reply to  @ scobols's post |  #35

Why would you need to redo your MFA? The secondary reflex mirror, that deflects the light to the AF sensor, is mounted at the rear of the reflex mirror. Neither are changed in an adjustment of the viewfinder as described by CPS.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scobols
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,262 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 386
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Waconia, MN
     
Nov 04, 2016 12:27 as a reply to  @ Wilt's post |  #36

Because Canon resets everything when they service your camera. All the previous MFA's are reset to zero.


www.scottbolster.com (external link)
facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,317 views & 5 likes for this thread
Can my eyepiece be out of focus (Not Diopter!)?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Bhalaje
405 guests, 314 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.