Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Sony Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Sony Cameras 
Thread started 27 May 2015 (Wednesday) 18:49
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sony A7x lounge

 
TRhoads
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,625 posts
Gallery: 366 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 8397
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Roswell, Georgia
     
Oct 27, 2016 10:29 |  #26356

mystik610 wrote in post #18168405 (external link)
External USB-3 SSD are fast...but those are $$$$.

is that what Vinz is working from?


Gear List & Feedback | SmugMug Page (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mystik610
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,585 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 8388
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Houston, TX
     
Oct 27, 2016 10:31 |  #26357

TRhoads wrote in post #18168469 (external link)
is that what Vinz is working from?

Not sure. Probably not though. They're comparably expensive vs hard disk drives.


focalpointsphoto.com (external link) - flickr (external link) - Instagram (external link)
α7ʀII - RX1ʀII - α7ʀIII
Zeiss Loxia 21 - Canon 24-70 2.8LII - Sony/Zeiss 35 f1.4 ZA - Sony 50 1.8 - Sony 85GM - Sigma 135 f1.8 ART

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
16,741 posts
Gallery: 440 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 8529
Joined Sep 2010
Location: California
     
Oct 27, 2016 10:36 |  #26358

TRhoads wrote in post #18168395 (external link)
I find working from an external drive makes it very slow.

It's usb3, i thought it's a non issue anymore.


| VINZ - SONY A7RIII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE1635GM | FE50F1.8 | SEL30mm F3.5 Macro |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TRhoads
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,625 posts
Gallery: 366 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 8397
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Roswell, Georgia
     
Oct 27, 2016 11:40 |  #26359

vinmunoz wrote in post #18168475 (external link)
It's usb3, i thought it's a non issue anymore.

I have not found it to be fast enough for me...I don't know the science behind it as I am not smart enough...but it always seems to be very slow when I am accessing files that are on externals...


Gear List & Feedback | SmugMug Page (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
invi2003
Goldmember
Avatar
1,253 posts
Gallery: 437 photos
Likes: 2065
Joined Mar 2007
Location: New York
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:01 |  #26360

Nice hack




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davidfarina
Goldmember
Avatar
3,357 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1033
Joined May 2013
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:12 |  #26361

digital_AM wrote in post #18168087 (external link)
^ Go for it MM!

Here is a heavy stylized image from a nearby lake in Fayetteville, AR. My concept was to infuse the image with reds and oranges to create a dramatic and surreal Autumn scene. The reflections are real.
Awesome! I like the red reflection. Would have been a winner for the fall theme few weeks back

QUOTED IMAGE


Sony A7RII | Sony A7S
EF 40 | EF 70-300L | FD 35 Tilt-Shift
FE 16-35 | FE 28 | FE 90
CV 15 4.5 III | CV 40 1.4 MC | Summilux 50 ASPH
Website (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,555 posts
Gallery: 583 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 7415
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:23 |  #26362

David Arbogast wrote in post #18121350 (external link)
I have been really enjoying Thomas Brigantino's YT channel lately. He has some clever tips that I'd not seen before. Here is his tip for restoring White Balance. I went ahead and made an PS action for it and it works great. I've tested/compared it to a calibrating with a gray card and the results are, for my needs, exactly the same. Very cool stuff!

David, I eventually got round to doing this today!. Thanks again for posting. I stupidly thought that this would correct the WB to the correct setting regardless of the starting WB but I realise now you have to have it close to begin with. Ive also created an action for it and I think ill run it as one of the last things I do along with watermark and black bars action. Really handy tip. Im going to check out his other videos


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
α7R III | Mavic 2 Pro | Osmo Pocket
CV15 | Loxia 21 | Batis 25 | CV40 | Batis 85

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
navydoc
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,738 posts
Gallery: 181 photos
Likes: 11897
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Inland Empire, So. Cal
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:40 |  #26363

xpfloyd wrote in post #18168640 (external link)
David, I eventually got round to doing this today!. Thanks again for posting. I stupidly thought that this would correct the WB to the correct setting regardless of the starting WB but I realise now you have to have it close to begin with. Ive also created an action for it and I think ill run it as one of the last things I do along with watermark and black bars action. Really handy tip. Im going to check out his other videos

Instead of doing this, just click on >Image>Auto Color. You'll get the same result as you would by opening a curves adjustment layer then changing the "auto options" to "Find dark and light colors" and checking "Snap neutral mid-tones"


Gene - My Photo Gallery || (external link) My USS Oriskany website (external link) || My Flickr (external link)
Take nothing but photos - leave nothing but footprints - break nothing but silence - kill nothing but time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,555 posts
Gallery: 583 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 7415
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:57 |  #26364

navydoc wrote in post #18168652 (external link)
Instead of doing this, just click on >Image>Auto Color. You'll get the same result as you would by opening a curves adjustment layer then changing the "auto options" to "Find dark and light colors" and checking "Snap neutral mid-tones"

Well Gene, you are bang on with this. I just duplicated a layer twice and ran the action on one and done what you said on the other and they are exactly yhe same when I flick between.


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
α7R III | Mavic 2 Pro | Osmo Pocket
CV15 | Loxia 21 | Batis 25 | CV40 | Batis 85

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
navydoc
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,738 posts
Gallery: 181 photos
Likes: 11897
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Inland Empire, So. Cal
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:10 |  #26365

xpfloyd wrote in post #18168658 (external link)
Well Gene, you are bang on with this. I just duplicated a layer twice and ran the action on one and done what you said on the other and they are exactly yhe same when I flick between.

Here's a quick video I just made demonstrating this too. In Photoshop, there are many ways to accomplish the same thing. It's just that some ways are easier than others.


Gene - My Photo Gallery || (external link) My USS Oriskany website (external link) || My Flickr (external link)
Take nothing but photos - leave nothing but footprints - break nothing but silence - kill nothing but time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,555 posts
Gallery: 583 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 7415
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:37 |  #26366

navydoc wrote in post #18168670 (external link)
Here's a quick video I just made demonstrating this too. In Photoshop, there are many ways to accomplish the same thing. It's just that some ways are easier than others.


Thanks Gene, nice video. How do you do that? Is it a screen capture software or something?

With regards to the method Thomas Brigantino showed on his video it seems odd that he has not realised he can achieve the same thing with 2 clicks of the mouse?.


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
α7R III | Mavic 2 Pro | Osmo Pocket
CV15 | Loxia 21 | Batis 25 | CV40 | Batis 85

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital_AM
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,283 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 10777
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Texas
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:50 |  #26367

xpfloyd wrote in post #18168683 (external link)
Thanks Gene, nice video. How do you do that? Is it a screen capture software or something?

With regards to the method Thomas Brigantino showed on his video it seems odd that he has not realised he can achieve the same thing with 2 clicks of the mouse?.

I could be wrong but I believe his method also adjust tonal values (i.e. more contrast added) in addition to WB. I often have to change the blend mode to color. It appears Gene's method requires fewer steps to achieve the WB correction.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital_AM
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,283 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 10777
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Texas
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:51 as a reply to  @ davidfarina's post |  #26368

Thank you David!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davidfarina
Goldmember
Avatar
3,357 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1033
Joined May 2013
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:54 |  #26369

davidfarina wrote in post #18168629 (external link)

Looks like i just quoted your image but the message didnt post?

Just wanted to say i like the red reflection. Awesome pic. Would have been a winner a few weeks ago in the fall theme


Sony A7RII | Sony A7S
EF 40 | EF 70-300L | FD 35 Tilt-Shift
FE 16-35 | FE 28 | FE 90
CV 15 4.5 III | CV 40 1.4 MC | Summilux 50 ASPH
Website (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,555 posts
Gallery: 583 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 7415
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
     
Oct 27, 2016 14:55 |  #26370

Got a lightroom question and hopefully one of you guys can help. I have a folder in lightroom with 1000 images I want to edit. For each image I want to apply auto tone, auto WB and I want to activate the lens profile. Is there any way I can do this batch edit?

The only thing I can see is "sync" but this will sync the settings from the first image to each other image as opposed to "auto tone" being applied to each image (it will be the first images auto settings applied to each image)


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
α7R III | Mavic 2 Pro | Osmo Pocket
CV15 | Loxia 21 | Batis 25 | CV40 | Batis 85

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,794,443 views & 33,336 likes for this thread
Sony A7x lounge
FORUMS Sony Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Sony Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is henrytmoc
908 guests, 359 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.