Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 27 Oct 2016 (Thursday) 12:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

XPLOR600 Manual vs HSS and which mount

 
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
18,838 posts
Likes: 1035
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Post edited over 1 year ago by bobbyz.
     
Oct 27, 2016 12:47 |  #1

Need to order one of these for my Canon. Couple of questions:

1. If I order one for Canon and later when Fuji is available I just need to buy the Fuji transmitter. And strobe will work with both Canon and Fuji cameras as I will have both Tx?

2. I shoot manual mode. Don't need TLL. Should I order TTL vs Manual? There is $150 difference it seems.

3. So Bowen mount is the main option. My other lights are ABs so I can change AB to Bowen by changing speedring inserts? Any link?

4. I dont need any other thing besides the strobe and the Tx to allow me shoot HSS?

I will most probably order the head extension kit so I don't need to hang my strobe up on the light stand.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
FLiPxJB
Member
124 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 63
Joined May 2014
Location: Chino Hills, CA
     
Oct 27, 2016 13:42 |  #2

1. From what i know, you can later buy just the Fuji transmitter and you'll be okay.
2. If you don't need TTL, save the money and buy the manual.
3. I have a PCB Octabox and had to buy this to be able to attach it to my xplor 600.

https://www.bhphotovid​eo.com …pedValue=&Top+N​av-Search= (external link)

4. I don't think you do.


| Canon 5Div | 24-70mm f/2.8L II | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 35mm f/1.4L II | 50mm f/1.2L | 85mm f/1.2L II | 1.4x III I Speedlite 600EX-RT (2x) | ST-E3-RT | f-stop Lotus | Manfrotto MT190GOC4TB | Acratech GPSs Ballhead |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
8,973 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1021
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
Oct 28, 2016 14:35 |  #3

Bobby,
All your conclusions are accurate.
Even if you think you may use TTL once in a long while its worth the little extra.
Works great with these lights.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BJ_Nguyen
Senior Member
Avatar
358 posts
Gallery: 120 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1279
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta GA
     
Oct 28, 2016 15:33 |  #4

I have xplor TTL : use TTL on locations and Manual in home studio !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
18,838 posts
Likes: 1035
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 28, 2016 17:09 |  #5

dmward wrote in post #18169703 (external link)
Bobby,
All your conclusions are accurate.
Even if you think you may use TTL once in a long while its worth the little extra.
Works great with these lights.

Thanks Dave. I more thing, usually the hot shoe flash and even some strobes will allow picking lower power setting when in TTL mode compared to manual mode. Do these lights do something like that? It can be quite useful when you need to shoot higher ISO and low strobe power settings to bring up ambient in low light situations.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
18,838 posts
Likes: 1035
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 28, 2016 17:10 |  #6

Guess for starters I would need to order strobe which comes with Tx and the head extension cable setup. Anything else?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
8,973 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1021
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
Oct 28, 2016 18:30 |  #7

bobbyz wrote in post #18169799 (external link)
Thanks Dave. I more thing, usually the hot shoe flash and even some strobes will allow picking lower power setting when in TTL mode compared to manual mode. Do these lights do something like that? It can be quite useful when you need to shoot higher ISO and low strobe power settings to bring up ambient in low light situations.

Since its TTL there is no way to know for certain what power setting is being used.
I expect that it does go below the 1/256 that can be set manually.

Order the strobe with TX that you want. The H600 head, or if you think you'll use it, the H1200 head. Since it has two tubes and two connection it can also be used with a single pack.

There is a locking ring to hold the remote head cable in the pack. I have them but didn't really have a problem before they were released.

I just did a quick test. The 600 TTL at 1/256 over exposed a test shot and it was properly exposed by switching to TTL. That was the only change I made to the setup.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
18,838 posts
Likes: 1035
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Nov 03, 2016 18:36 |  #8

FLiPxJB wrote in post #18168654 (external link)
1. From what i know, you can later buy just the Fuji transmitter and you'll be okay.
2. If you don't need TTL, save the money and buy the manual.
3. I have a PCB Octabox and had to buy this to be able to attach it to my xplor 600.

https://www.bhphotovid​eo.com …pedValue=&Top+N​av-Search= (external link)

4. I don't think you do.

Regarding #3, lot of reviews on B&H say it doesn't fit with XPLOR600. What is the deal. I have PCB Beautu Dish, Kacey Dish, Photoflex Softbox with AB inserts so which insert should i buy. I am ready to order the lights. Thanks in advance.

https://www.bhphotovid​eo.com …R_FOR.html#cust​omerReview (external link)


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,224 views & 0 likes for this thread
XPLOR600 Manual vs HSS and which mount
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is aperture20
732 guests, 393 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.