Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 21 Nov 2016 (Monday) 10:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Upgrading Yongnuo Triggers

 
chugger93
Goldmember
Avatar
1,200 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 48
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Washington MI
     
Nov 21, 2016 10:55 |  #1

So right now I have a pair of yongnuo 603's and they work great for manual mode, etc. I'd like to upgrade to something with ETTL and the ability to add in a 3rd speedlite and control each one's power individually, etc. The ability to work also with something like an AlienBee would be great in case I ever get a strobe.

I was looking at the Yongnuo YN-622's, but a little confused. It seems like these would be what I want to get the job done?
https://www.amazon.com …eywords=yongnuo​+622+canon (external link)

But then I could also get them plus this controller here:
https://www.amazon.com …psc=1&smid=A26A​TEC08S9EFM (external link)

I'm guessing the controller allows you to just control them from one location? I'm trying to figure that part out. Also, if ever I needed to put a speedlight in the hotshoe, and then use 1 off camera flash, wouldn't I need a controller with a hotshoe hookup?

Anyone assist?


Jon | JMBPhotography
-------------
5D MK II / 5D MK III --- 24L II | 50L | 135L | Canon 85 F/1.8 | 430 EX II/Yongnou 560 Speedlites | Manfrotto 055XPROB Pro Tripod

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,610 posts
Likes: 2561
Joined Oct 2015
     
Nov 21, 2016 11:12 |  #2

You don't ever NEED the controller, as far as I can tell, if you just want to manage from the camera. The 622c unit acts as a controller when mounted on the hotshoe, and as a slave when a flash is mounted on top (no camera). You can also mount the 622 on the hotshoe, and use a shoot-through flash mounted on top of that 622c unit.

I use the 622-TX and up to four flash unit w/622c controllers. Very versatile. I hope that answers your questions.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chugger93
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,200 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 48
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Washington MI
     
Nov 21, 2016 11:17 as a reply to  @ Bassat's post |  #3

Well maybe I mispoke. I dont normally manage from the camera persay. When I work with my 603's now and speedlites, I go around to all my speedlights and adjust the manual power setting, etc...then just shoot. However, if I can do all that from this controller, then maybe I do need it...

I just dont get how I can put a flash on top of it, since it doesnt have a hotshoe. Clearly I cant...


Jon | JMBPhotography
-------------
5D MK II / 5D MK III --- 24L II | 50L | 135L | Canon 85 F/1.8 | 430 EX II/Yongnou 560 Speedlites | Manfrotto 055XPROB Pro Tripod

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,394 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 4499
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Nov 21, 2016 11:37 as a reply to  @ chugger93's post |  #4

Correct, the TX will not mount a flash, as it's not a receiver like the 622c is.

For those times, you could substitute the normal 622.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,610 posts
Likes: 2561
Joined Oct 2015
     
Nov 21, 2016 12:20 |  #5

chugger93 wrote in post #18190673 (external link)
Well maybe I mispoke. I dont normally manage from the camera persay. When I work with my 603's now and speedlites, I go around to all my speedlights and adjust the manual power setting, etc...then just shoot. However, if I can do all that from this controller, then maybe I do need it...

I just dont get how I can put a flash on top of it, since it doesnt have a hotshoe. Clearly I cant...

You can't put a flash on top of the -TX. You can mount a flash on your camera-mounted 622C.

With the 622-TX on camera & 622C units under each remote flash, you can manage manual settings from the 622-TX, or the camera it is sitting on. No need to walk to each individual unit. I'm not sure, but I think you can do the same thing with just the 550EX/580EX/580EX II mounted on camera. Canon master is optical. YN is radio, and more reliable.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ronin ­ Silv
Goldmember
Avatar
4,877 posts
Gallery: 169 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 87
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Kent UK
     
Nov 28, 2016 13:49 |  #6

I've had 622c's since they were launched and used my camera's flash menu to adjust the speedlites individually and in groups attached to the receiving units without problem, not seen the point of getting a 622tx as as I can do it all from the camera.


Film gear Rollecord V, Yashica A, Halina 35X, Olympus Trip and Canon EOS 5, 500 and 300v
Stusio Visage Facebook (external link) flickr (external link) studiovisagefolkestone​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chugger93
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,200 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 48
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Washington MI
     
Nov 28, 2016 13:57 |  #7

Ronin Silv wrote in post #18197089 (external link)
I've had 622c's since they were launched and used my camera's flash menu to adjust the speedlites individually and in groups attached to the receiving units without problem, not seen the point of getting a 622tx as as I can do it all from the camera.

ya I'm still debating over them or even the godox triggers. Dont know enough about the godox though to sway me one way over the other


Jon | JMBPhotography
-------------
5D MK II / 5D MK III --- 24L II | 50L | 135L | Canon 85 F/1.8 | 430 EX II/Yongnou 560 Speedlites | Manfrotto 055XPROB Pro Tripod

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ronin ­ Silv
Goldmember
Avatar
4,877 posts
Gallery: 169 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 87
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Kent UK
     
Nov 28, 2016 14:21 as a reply to  @ chugger93's post |  #8

Mine have never missed a beat they've been used in all environments from outdoors in the wind and rain being blown over etc to used as triggers for my Bowens studio lights via a pic sync cable where one got a melted corner and the cable won't now come out when it rested on a reflector with a grid on that got to hot with the modelling lamp on, but it still works. I don't molly coddle my kit it gets used and abused I use both Yuonguo speedlites and triggers on the premise they don't cost a lot so I can afford to replace them when they get broken, but the take the abuse I have speedlites held together with gaffer tape that still work and couldn't recommend Yuonguo gear highly enough it might be a fraction of the cost of big name gear but performs just as well if not better.


Film gear Rollecord V, Yashica A, Halina 35X, Olympus Trip and Canon EOS 5, 500 and 300v
Stusio Visage Facebook (external link) flickr (external link) studiovisagefolkestone​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
Avatar
2,149 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 361
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Midwest
     
Nov 28, 2016 20:40 |  #9

chugger93 wrote in post #18197095 (external link)
ya I'm still debating over them or even the godox triggers. Dont know enough about the godox though to sway me one way over the other

Godox offers a lot more options should you decide to upgrade from speedlites to studio strobes in the future. The X system transmitters are compatible with all current Godox flash products either directly with those flash units with 2.4G receivers or with the appropriate receiver for the non X flash units. So you buy a transmitter and receivers now, to run your speedlites and should you upgrade in the future, to one of the many studo strobes Godox offers, then you already have the transmitter and the ability to mix your speedlites with the studio strobes.


Rand

Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,594 views & 0 likes for this thread
Upgrading Yongnuo Triggers
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is brotherbear86
796 guests, 299 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.