Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 06 Dec 2015 (Sunday) 09:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

GODOX AD600 Witstro

 
SereneSpeed
Senior Member
932 posts
Likes: 1232
Joined Jan 2013
     
Jan 03, 2017 09:15 as a reply to  @ post 18231451 |  #1561

Charlie, which compensation did you use? FEC, or EC? If FEC worked, I'm not sure what your issue was. But...

You opened up your aperture 5 stops, which is enough to tip you from non-HSS into HSS, which means you lost ~1.5 stops of power. When you went from f11 to f10 (or, 9.5) you asked the strobe to begin HSS. So when you went from f11 (at 1/200th?) to f2 at 1/6400, you balanced aperture with shutter speed, but you asked your strobe to fire at the equivalent of f19, which it may not have been able to do. And, that's f19 through a 43" brolly.

Or, at least, that's my take.


https://www.danbcreati​ve.com (external link) - Commercial Work
http://unabashedbeauty​.com (external link) - Boudoir/NSFW

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,343 posts
Likes: 1396
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Post edited over 2 years ago by bobbyz.
     
Jan 03, 2017 09:22 |  #1562

In that case, it should have worked fine. Were you using TTL? Here I am using just the HSS, manual power. 1/4000, f1.8. Six feet away and i think I was full power or close to it. I was using medium softbox. Are brollies where flash is facing backwards?

IMAGE: http://www.bobbyzphotography.com/img/s6/v135/p379797093-5.jpg

5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
deejjjaaaa
Member
Avatar
150 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2016
Location: Steel City, Rust Belt
     
Jan 03, 2017 09:30 |  #1563
bannedPermanent ban

Charlie wrote in post #18231451 (external link)
Deejjjaaa, I experienced the issue you refer to!

Was shooting new year's day, constantly under exposed, f2, 1/6400, iso 100. Was doing family group shots. F11 worked fine, but quickly going to large aperture, I had to use compensation and then fix in post.... Not the end of the world, but not working right!

yes, but it is clearly a great bug which must be fixed - if you are like me a FlashPoint branded equipment owner I suggest to write ASAP (referring to the posting above = https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=18228167 ) to "brands@adorama.com" AND "helen@adorama.com" and complain - the more owners the sooner we get this addressed !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
deejjjaaaa
Member
Avatar
150 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2016
Location: Steel City, Rust Belt
Post edited over 2 years ago by deejjjaaaa.
     
Jan 03, 2017 09:32 |  #1564
bannedPermanent ban

bobbyz wrote in post #18231639 (external link)
He is having at not HSS speeds. ISO 100, 1/6400 might not have enough power, causing under-exposed shot.

it is the same @ HSS (with Sony transmitter at least) - you can simply move to the next (lesser time-wise) exposure after 1/250 to switch from X-Sync TTL to HSS TTL with still enough pulses to make experiment w/o approaching the limits of strobe hardware.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
15,564 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 5614
Joined Sep 2007
Post edited over 2 years ago by Charlie.
     
Jan 03, 2017 09:36 |  #1565

SereneSpeed wrote in post #18231684 (external link)
Charlie, which compensation did you use? FEC, or EC? If FEC worked, I'm not sure what your issue was. But...

You opened up your aperture 5 stops, which is enough to tip you from non-HSS into HSS, which means you lost ~1.5 stops of power. When you went from f11 to f10 (or, 9.5) you asked the strobe to begin HSS. So when you went from f11 (at 1/200th?) to f2 at 1/6400, you balanced aperture with shutter speed, but you asked your strobe to fire at the equivalent of f19, which it may not have been able to do. And, that's f19 through a 43" brolly.

Or, at least, that's my take.

yes, I was going from non HSS (1/125) to HSS (1/6400), use FEC to fix the issue

when shooting non HSS, I was lighting up a group of like 20+ people! Lights were pretty far away, like 13+ feet.

bobbyz wrote in post #18231691 (external link)
In that case, it should have worked fine. Were you using TTL? Here I am using just the HSS, manual power. 1/4000, f1.8. Six feet away and i think I was full power or close to it. I was using medium softbox. Are brollies where flash is facing backwards?

QUOTED IMAGE

framing very similar, some shots were badly off, like 3 stops under but still fired.... yes, they face rear and reflect through softbox front. Using TTL for the whole day  :p


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - CV 21/3.5 - FE 35/2.8 - SY 35/1.4 AF - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rebelsimon
Goldmember
Avatar
1,136 posts
Likes: 1981
Joined Nov 2013
Location: Whitby, ON
     
Jan 03, 2017 10:09 as a reply to  @ post 18231451 |  #1566

You definitely just ran out of power at 1/6400th, was this to shoot in full sunlight? HSS is like a continuous light source, so you do lose a stop of power for every stop you go over sync speed (not to mention the stop or so of power loss by going from sync speed to HSS).

I love HSS for its ease of use, but if you're needing to kill mid-day sun ND filters and sync speed is the way to go. Or of course bare reflector.


Toronto area photographer http://www.SimonMellic​kPhotography.com (external link)
Cameras:5Diii (x2), 70D
Lenses:Rokinon 14mm f2.8, Voightlander 20mm f3.5, Canon 24-70 f2.8ii, Tamron 35mm f1.8 VC, Canon 50mm STM, Tamron 90mm 2.8 VC, Canon 135mm f2
Lights: AD600, AD200 (x2), V850 (x4)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,343 posts
Likes: 1396
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Post edited over 2 years ago by bobbyz.
     
Jan 03, 2017 10:23 |  #1567

That brolly will eat 1 stop, isn't it? At 6', under max sync speed I get f11, 1/200 using a softbox. Then as I go past max sync speed, to say 1/250, there is 1.5 stops or so power loss. This is all non scientific as I have't had the time to test using my light meter.

I am going to see if I can find someone with Sony camera to run some tests.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
15,564 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 5614
Joined Sep 2007
     
Jan 03, 2017 10:27 |  #1568

rebelsimon wrote in post #18231731 (external link)
You definitely just ran out of power at 1/6400th, was this to shoot in full sunlight? HSS is like a continuous light source, so you do lose a stop of power for every stop you go over sync speed (not to mention the stop or so of power loss by going from sync speed to HSS).

I love HSS for its ease of use, but if you're needing to kill mid-day sun ND filters and sync speed is the way to go. Or of course bare reflector.

I was dealing with kids, and moving around, so I wanted the ease of use. Fortunately, I have no issue recovering the shot


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - CV 21/3.5 - FE 35/2.8 - SY 35/1.4 AF - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rebelsimon
Goldmember
Avatar
1,136 posts
Likes: 1981
Joined Nov 2013
Location: Whitby, ON
     
Jan 03, 2017 17:28 |  #1569

Found this on youtube about a week after I butchered my own DIY attempt. This worked way better!


Toronto area photographer http://www.SimonMellic​kPhotography.com (external link)
Cameras:5Diii (x2), 70D
Lenses:Rokinon 14mm f2.8, Voightlander 20mm f3.5, Canon 24-70 f2.8ii, Tamron 35mm f1.8 VC, Canon 50mm STM, Tamron 90mm 2.8 VC, Canon 135mm f2
Lights: AD600, AD200 (x2), V850 (x4)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
Goldmember
Avatar
3,438 posts
Gallery: 27 photos
Likes: 688
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Jan 03, 2017 21:01 |  #1570

Just curious, what is the current firmware version for Canon of the R2 transmitter? I show 18 on mine. Also, can you just install the Godox firmware update on it? Will it clear all your settings?


gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HelenOster
That's me!
Avatar
4,484 posts
Likes: 509
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New York
     
Jan 04, 2017 15:33 |  #1571

deejjjaaaa wrote in post #18228167 (external link)
this was of course discussed many times, but still... how come that Adorama & Godox dare to sell us (__SONY__) this strobe and call it TTL ? here is a simple test - read below :


as I customer with 2 x XPLOR600TTL and transmitter for Sony I am waiting for Adorama rep to chime in ( request raw files - I email you the link to download )


I'm the only Adorama representative monitoring POTN and I am no expert of any kind in this field so cannot comment or assist. We do, however, have a complete team of Flashpoint / Godox experts, headed by my colleague, Shua Klein.

For technical queries you only need email the team: brands@adorama.com


Adorama Camera Customer Service Ambassador
Helen@adorama.com
http://twitter.com/Hel​enOster (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​people/22264746@N07/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
deejjjaaaa
Member
Avatar
150 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2016
Location: Steel City, Rust Belt
     
Jan 05, 2017 08:46 |  #1572
bannedPermanent ban

HelenOster wrote in post #18233253 (external link)
I'm the only Adorama representative monitoring POTN and I am no expert of any kind in this field so cannot comment or assist. We do, however, have a complete team of Flashpoint / Godox experts, headed by my colleague, Shua Klein.

For technical queries you only need email the team: brands@adorama.com

Hi Helen


yes, I am discussing with Shua Klein now... but here is the issue so far, Shua did some test, __BUT__ he did it with Sony A7 (assuming A7 mark 1) model and 28/2 (assuming Sony FE 28/2) lens = which is different from what I have... one 'd assume Adorama being a big store has access to repeat the same test with the same camera/lens, because the issue might also be related to a particular combination of camera (w/ firmware) and/or lens (w/ firmware) and FP/Godox transmitter for Sony mount....


also Shua for whatever reason wants to test OOC JPG files, which is again a strange thing (I supplied raw files and suggested him to download the trial version of rawdigger from www.rawdigger.com (external link) which can be used for free to measure raw data... unless the issue w/ that is that rawdigger also sells the software on B&H, which makes it... kind of using a product sold by competition... for the record I got a free license from authors for testing it, not purchased from B&H)


in any case I will redo and repost the test here in RAW+JPG mode on camera, so that Shua can see the JPG files (still this does not answer how raw shooters are supposed to be supported if the team at Adorama can't deal with raw files produced by cameras/lenses sold by Adorama ? beats me ! )


stay tuned !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
deejjjaaaa
Member
Avatar
150 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2016
Location: Steel City, Rust Belt
     
Jan 05, 2017 08:49 |  #1573
bannedPermanent ban

71sbeetle wrote in post #18232402 (external link)
Just curious, what is the current firmware version for Canon of the R2 transmitter? I show 18 on mine. Also, can you just install the Godox firmware update on it? Will it clear all your settings?

Godox has the current firmware files posted with version numbers on the website and it will clear the settings on transmitter (at least it did on my Sony mount transmitter, on both - I purchased FP branded from Adorama and to be on the safe side upgraded to the latest firmware both when I was doing the test of TTL posted above)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,343 posts
Likes: 1396
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Post edited over 2 years ago by bobbyz.
     
Jan 05, 2017 10:02 |  #1574

Personally whether one shoots RAW or JPEG doesn't matter much. Nor does one really needs to use this RAW Digger. You just want to check exposure at different F-stops. One can do it with a meter if one wanted or just look at the histogram or even the LCD. It won't be 100% accurate but at least it gives you results in < 5 mins rather than making it an hr long test experiment.

Just too busy at work otherwise would have picked up a Sony A7RII from co-workers to do some tests myself.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,343 posts
Likes: 1396
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jan 05, 2017 10:04 |  #1575

rebelsimon wrote in post #18232184 (external link)
Found this on youtube about a week after I butchered my own DIY attempt. This worked way better!

Thanks for posting it. I need to order some CTO & CTB gels sheets and then make these.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

492,131 views & 733 likes for this thread
GODOX AD600 Witstro
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is JerryMc
961 guests, 367 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.